HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:11 PM
Joined Apr 2011
15 Posts
Help!
Will this motor work with this plane?

My dad gave me this plane and motor. I think it was from a Chinese site as he bitched about it being reverse dihedral.

Any case its a free plane and motor!

Can anyone tell me if this this motor is big enough to:
1. Fly normal
2. 3D

Saito Fa-65
Displ. (cc) -10.6
Bore (mm) - 24.8
Stroke (mm) - 22.0
HP - 0.95
YellowSnow is offline Find More Posts by YellowSnow
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 26, 2012, 03:40 PM
Keller, TX
Joined Aug 2005
299 Posts
Nice that you gave the engine specs. It may be helpful to also give the plane specs.
RCFVR is offline Find More Posts by RCFVR
Old Jun 27, 2012, 12:48 AM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,489 Posts
Reverse Dihedral? While I know what that is I'm not sure what it has to do with it possibly being purchased from a chinese site. Generally reverse dihedral called anhedral is used on the horizontal stab. A few designs from the 70s, 80's used this and while it looked cool, I dont think it did much for flyability or you would still be seeing it today. I have not seen a plane with actual revers dihedral on the wing itself.

Based on the size of the elevator and other moveable surfaces I'd say the plane is designed for 3D. The weight of the plane / wing loading will detemine the type of flying the motor will allow.
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Jun 27, 2012, 01:31 AM
Village Idiot!
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Apr 2011
1,932 Posts
Yes the Saito 65 will fly it just fine. No it not supposed to have anhedral. Someone did something wrong and it will need to be fixed before you fly it.

Please take some close up pictures of the wing center and some of the wing flat on a table.

You will need instruction to help you learn to fly if you haven't flown an RC plane before.
ScooterInVegas is offline Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas