Old Jun 26, 2012, 10:18 AM
Pzl
K2PZL
United States, NY, Albany
Joined May 2012
30 Posts
Discussion
Bulk buys: newbie preparing for the long haul

So after having flown a sim for weeks, then buying a trainer, building a profile foamie, then building a UM-mustang replica out of pink XPS foam, crashing them all, repairing them, and happily putting them right back in the air the next day, I think I'm not one of those fly-crash-quit guys that frequent the hobby.

But the thing is, being a noob, I have no tools or stocked up materials or scraps.
I have maybe a dozen sheets of dollar store foamboard and probably enough 2" pink XPS foam (two 9' boards of 2" was like $15 total, why not cut off as needed? Seemed like a deal).

I'm the kind of person who happily buys in massive quantities, and does the labor to put things in usable size for himself.

So the question is, if I'm ready to dive in to all this, where are the bulk/discount areas that I can explore?
I imagine buying balsa sheet-by-sheet as-needed is expensive (especially compared to foam ). I've read about the different grain cuts of balsa, and the different weights, where to put them in the plane, but I'm also probably not there yet in my building career. I can deal with not doing that correctly yet. Where should I look for bulk/cheap balsa that I can cut myself? (and probably a decent tool to get good cuts)

Metal/wire for pushrods, landing gear, reinforced areas or firewall

CF for spars, pushrods (that seems like an expensive use)

And having no power tools at all -- I think I have a square saw, soldering iron, high temp hot glue (headdesk, I know) -- what should I be looking for starting out?

My budget isn't in the thousands per tool/material. Maybe I could drop a few hundred getting started on all this..