SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:35 AM
Joined Jul 2007
3 Posts
Discussion
Second Glider Recommendations?

Apologies because I know this question comes up periodically but I have some differences in background and I'd appreciate your thoughts and recommendations.

I'm currently flying slopes with an X-It wing. Still lots to learn and I'm expecting some time before I jump for my second glider, but I do have a strong desire to switch to a full glider model, rather than just a wing - I think largely appearance and feel of 'true' glider flying. The wing was a friends recommendation for starting out due to toughness and is proving itself superb for that, but I want to start considering the next step.

Currently I am doing loops, rolls, some inverted flying and wingover turns as well as more gentle banked turns and steady flight (I enjoy both styles). I want to maintain ability to do this with a full glider, so I am thinking A/R/E rather than just R/E control. I'm likely to be mainly sticking with slope soaring, but good gliding performance in light winds and using thermals if I find them is also important (Yes I want everything! ). I am thinking foamie construction for toughness, repairability and reasonable initial price.

I'm also putting a lot of AFPD simulator time in to feel how different models react - There is a nice Easyglider model I use a lot and do like.

The other big factor is transport which is motorbike rather than car. Its a big bike, but no boot to chuck a model in. The wing is currently easily transported bungeed to a foam covered board on the back rack after removing the topbox. I've seen a variety of mods people have done to make elevator stab or rudder removable to allow packing back in a box, but obviously the less I need to mod a model the better. If it will pack into a flat box or bag I can strap onto the bike, then perfect.

So my thoughts are: