HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 25, 2012, 04:33 PM
Frogman
Stoughton, WI
Joined Jun 2009
1,725 Posts
Discussion
Thanks for the thermal threads

I've been lurking here for a few weeks and thought I would jump in. About a month ago a flying buddy and I did some bartering with stuff I had laying around and stuff he had. I ended up scoring a Sig Riser 100 from him. We hi-started a few times but were never able to at times of day where thermals were really cookin'. He mentioned we needed to get an electric motor in it. Another friend around here had some old brushed motor setups laying around and gave me a box of stuff including ESCs and folding props. Well it is now electrified and I am starting to really dig thermal/glider flying. I've been spending most of my time with multirotor with cams since I am a video producer but thought the glider would be a nice change of pace.

I took it out a few times when the winds were lighter and it was later in the day and only once did I find any kind of thermal but I was clueless how to look for them. I started reading some of the thermal threads around here on how to find them and what to look for. I must say I did enjoy the silly banter back and forth over whether electric was the way to learn. It would take me forever to learn this if I didn't have a motor in the front.

Yesterday I went out when it was light winds about 5-8mph and early afternoon. I went to my usual flying place near my home and just stood there and looked at the field. There were a few swallows flying up in the sky which was a good sign and I saw a vulture way off in the distance soaring around so I knew something was happening up there. My first flight I had no luck. Flew about 8-9 minutes total and landed. I would fly up high and coast looking for thermal in places I thought they may be based on what I read. There is a big pond in the field and that was my first thought but nothing there.