New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 03, 2013, 04:20 PM
gvdl1 is offline
Find More Posts by gvdl1
Guy
Canada, ON, Georgetown
Joined Aug 2012
78 Posts
I just got back from testing everything. Put the A9 in the glider and loaded up the sensors with voice. Posted in the radio section but thought it might be of interest here. Light wind, -6C, great flying. Up to 600 feet today, experimented with camber/reflex. How High Altimeter and thermal scout working great, A9 working great. Still had almost a 30 minute flight with 5 run ups. Happy customer with all products.

I do have both sensors plugged into the blue sensor station and really like the voice for altitude and battery pack. I set the battery pack to 3.4 volts/cell today due to the cold, when the alarm sounded and I landed the battery showed 34% remaining and 3.8 volts per cell. Difference in voltage due to being under load I'm assuming.
gvdl1 is offline Find More Posts by gvdl1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2013, 06:39 PM
G-LO is offline
Find More Posts by G-LO
Registered User
G-LO's Avatar
Va.Beach VA.
Joined Aug 2007
2,301 Posts
What is A9 and the sensor with the "voice"? Thanks *
G-LO is offline Find More Posts by G-LO
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 07:58 PM
cooper998 is offline
Find More Posts by cooper998
Nothing like a good WOODIE!
cooper998's Avatar
USA, DE, Newark
Joined Jun 2005
1,694 Posts
Anybody hear of a new "V2" Calypso in the works? just saw some V2 parts soon to be available at Tower.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...ypso&search=Go
cooper998 is offline Find More Posts by cooper998
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 08:42 PM
Sukhoikid is offline
Find More Posts by Sukhoikid
UAV R&D Pilot/MC/PO
Sukhoikid's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
1,018 Posts
Calypso Arizona (3 min 6 sec)


Finally settled in Arizona. My airplanes came in yesterday and got to fly the Calpyso some more!
Sukhoikid is offline Find More Posts by Sukhoikid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 09:21 PM
gvdl1 is offline
Find More Posts by gvdl1
Guy
Canada, ON, Georgetown
Joined Aug 2012
78 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-LO View Post
What is A9 and the sensor with the "voice"? Thanks *
Sorry G-LO my fault for not being specific. I just installed the Hitec Aurora 9 radio in my glider with their voice unit for telemetry. You can set it up to speak back at various rates different telemety information. Hitec has a telemetry sensor station that you can connect various sensors to. Currently I have connected the battery pack voltage (direct to receiver) and the Winged Shadow How High Altimeter and Thermal Scout (vario) to the sensor station. The voice module sits on the transmitter and I have it set to give me voice readouts of the battery pack voltage (with low voltage warning that is user defined) and altimeter readouts. I have the vario set in the transmitter to signal lift depending on the voltage output of the vario. You can adjust the sensitivity to your liking and I turn it on and off with a switch.
When at the field I do like others have suggested here and turn the vario on while scouting the sky using a search pattern after determining where I think there may be lift. When in lift I turn it off, also when in lift I practice flying right through it, turning the vario off and going back and finding the lift without the vario, just watching the glider. All these things are certainly helping me and thanks to all here that comment. Learning lots.
gvdl1 is offline Find More Posts by gvdl1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 10:15 PM
peterlngh is offline
Find More Posts by peterlngh
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
3,104 Posts
It's soaring 101 but bears repeating, gvdl1, and telemetry adds a whole new layer to the art of soaring.

1. Pull the nose up and slow down when in lift. This can be done in a straight line, in the core of a thermal, or using a thermal like a dynamic lift source as shown in my very crude diagram. The narrow end of the "egg" is a climbing turn while the fat end is level or even sinking a bit to get maximum lift to drag.

2. Almost all gliders will achieve their minimum sink rate at a lower speed than their maximum lift to drag ratio. Once again. Fly slow to go up and fly fast to cover ground. Pull up when your plane is rising and let it speed up when it's sinking.

I think it took me about 20 of my 40 years of flying RC gliders to really understand those axioms. It is a bit counter intuitive but provides a great "ah-ha!" moment when it makes sense.
peterlngh is offline Find More Posts by peterlngh
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2013, 07:54 PM
mstuck is offline
Find More Posts by mstuck
Registered User
Valencia, Ca.
Joined Jun 2006
69 Posts
Has everyone just stuck the go pro mount directly to the wing?
Has it held good enough?
I'm worried about how well it will adhere to foam. Any ideas?
mstuck is offline Find More Posts by mstuck
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2013, 08:42 PM
mkrochmaln is offline
Find More Posts by mkrochmaln
Registered User
United States, OH, Sylvania
Joined Apr 2012
46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstuck View Post
Has everyone just stuck the go pro mount directly to the wing?
Has it held good enough?
I'm worried about how well it will adhere to foam. Any ideas?
I mount my Gopro on many of my foam airplanes. The mount sticks to foam just fine, as long as it is bare foam. If the foam is painted, you have to remove the paint,or else the mount won't stick well. Also best to use the flat based sticky Gopro mount. First time I ever flew the go pro camera, I used the slightly curved mount. Mistake. Only the outer edges of the mount stuck. My plane landed and my Gopro camera goes rolling down the runway. No damage at all though. That plastic case the Gopro rides in is tough
Matt
mkrochmaln is offline Find More Posts by mkrochmaln
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2013, 08:49 PM
mkrochmaln is offline
Find More Posts by mkrochmaln
Registered User
United States, OH, Sylvania
Joined Apr 2012
46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstuck View Post
Has everyone just stuck the go pro mount directly to the wing?
Has it held good enough?
I'm worried about how well it will adhere to foam. Any ideas?
I also have used this 3m Velcro to mount my go pro:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Scotch-All...Clear/17693167
mkrochmaln is offline Find More Posts by mkrochmaln
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:48 PM
mstuck is offline
Find More Posts by mstuck
Registered User
Valencia, Ca.
Joined Jun 2006
69 Posts
well it worked pretty good. I put the cam on top on the wing
so it would be more out of danger. Also i didnt want to use
the housing to save weight.

Go Pro - Santa Clarita (1 min 43 sec)
mstuck is offline Find More Posts by mstuck
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 12:57 AM
nadg63 is offline
Find More Posts by nadg63
Registered User
nadg63's Avatar
Adelaide, South Australia
Joined Oct 2004
31 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstuck View Post
well it worked pretty good. I put the cam on top on the wing
so it would be more out of danger. Also i didnt want to use
the housing to save weight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_o0h9ARp0Vs
Hard to believe you're allowed to fly so close to houses over there!

Good footage though, (have a Calypso here but not put it together as yet - soon!)

Got a pic of the camera mounting?
nadg63 is offline Find More Posts by nadg63
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 01:57 AM
Guardian7 is offline
Find More Posts by Guardian7
Registered User
Guardian7's Avatar
United States, CA, Lancaster
Joined Sep 2012
159 Posts
Yes Cooper998 Yes, The Version 2 Parts are starting to show up on several sites! Thank you Hobbico Thank you. Maybe all the email is working? We also spoke to the Hobbico Reps at the AMA show last month concerning the Calypso issues we've experienced.
Guardian7 is offline Find More Posts by Guardian7
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 04:23 AM
G-LO is offline
Find More Posts by G-LO
Registered User
G-LO's Avatar
Va.Beach VA.
Joined Aug 2007
2,301 Posts
Does the V2 parts looked the same? In what way are they really different/revised? Couldn't find any pictures or information.
G-LO is offline Find More Posts by G-LO
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 05:16 AM
ory69 is offline
Find More Posts by ory69
....left up, right down !!!
ory69's Avatar
United States, OR, Depoe Bay
Joined Nov 2010
102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guardian7 View Post
Yes Cooper998 Yes, The Version 2 Parts are starting to show up on several sites! Thank you Hobbico Thank you. Maybe all the email is working? We also spoke to the Hobbico Reps at the AMA show last month concerning the Calypso issues we've experienced.
Guardian, you're teasing us. So...... what did the reps say? Did they tell you much about the issues and / or this "version 2"? Inquiring minds want to know.
ory69 is offline Find More Posts by ory69
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 06:12 AM
StarHopper44 is offline
Find More Posts by StarHopper44
Earthbound Skyhound
StarHopper44's Avatar
United States, NC, Richlands
Joined Jun 2011
6,857 Posts
Woah! Yeah.......what's this Ver2?????????
Must see LINKs!!!
StarHopper44 is offline Find More Posts by StarHopper44
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Flyzone Calypso george@dream-flight Electric Sailplanes 71 Jan 31, 2015 09:05 PM
For Sale Flyzone cessna 182 ep rtf 2.4 radio mike robson Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Apr 07, 2012 08:23 PM
Discussion How to set up and trim an EP glider JJ460 Electric Sailplanes 2 Mar 24, 2012 08:27 PM
Wanted Wanted, Electric flightnose cone for Calypso contest F3B glider graham johnson Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Dec 06, 2008 04:35 PM