HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 23, 2012, 10:07 PM
Registered User
Dobson, North Carolina
Joined Jul 2005
140 Posts
Discussion
Will my "park flyer" spektrum receiver work?

I have been using these a r6000 park flyer receivers. Well, I've purchased a 120 size plane and will be flying higher and farther away. Will this receiver be ok?I've read mixed reviews. I walked about a quarter mile or more from mine on a range check and it was good. I just don't see why they would call them park flyers, I mean they seem full range to me.

Discuss
C_Heath is offline Find More Posts by C_Heath
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 23, 2012, 11:01 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
I would not even try a park flyer rx on a large model. Why would you risk a large aircraft ($$) just to save a few bucks? Not to mention the possible danger to others around you. Spektrum makes it very clear that rx is for park flyers.

Harry
Harry H is online now Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2012, 02:22 AM
Registered User
63 nova's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Apr 2009
152 Posts
It is just money how far do you want to go It is all just a matter of opinion spektrum is just afraid to say you can fly there receivers 5 miles away it is a matter of national security!!!
63 nova is offline Find More Posts by 63 nova
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2012, 06:41 AM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,474 Posts
It is not range it is shadowing. You need to avoid both of your antenna's signals being blocked by the large battery, motor, ESC in your model.

Shadowing, not range. The post above is right - why risk your high dollar plane for a few bucks?

You need a satellite RX. What TX do you use?

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2012, 11:28 AM
Registered User
Dobson, North Carolina
Joined Jul 2005
140 Posts
I will be using a spektrum DS7

what would be a good rx with satellite?

thanks everyone
C_Heath is offline Find More Posts by C_Heath
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2012, 11:41 AM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
What kind of aircraft are you talking about and how many servos and or channels do you require?

Harry
Harry H is online now Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2012, 02:32 PM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,474 Posts
DX7 - you can use several. The AR6200 or AR7000 would be fine for the Sig 120 Four Star.

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2012, 02:54 PM
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2010
1,519 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Heath View Post
I will be using a spektrum DS7

what would be a good rx with satellite?

thanks everyone
I don't know if you meant DX7 or DX7s. If the DX7, the recommendation for the AR7000 is very good. I just sold my DX7 and still am using AR7000 in several A/C with my DX8. That is an extremely good combo for me in larger A/C.

Harry
Harry H is online now Find More Posts by Harry H
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 05:51 AM
Hey Guys, Watch This.......
mike2663's Avatar
USA, TX, El Paso
Joined Dec 2003
6,040 Posts
AR6210 6-Channel DSMX Receiver is also a good choice for your plane.

Mike
mike2663 is online now Find More Posts by mike2663
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 06:25 AM
Registered User
Dobson, North Carolina
Joined Jul 2005
140 Posts
thanks everyone. Man, how things have changed in just 3 years.
C_Heath is offline Find More Posts by C_Heath
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 09:55 PM
turbonut's Avatar
upland CA
Joined Dec 2004
7,203 Posts
Keep in mind that the old r6000 receiver is DSM not dsm2 and wont work witha dx7...so one more reason not to try it...good for park stuff only
turbonut is online now Find More Posts by turbonut
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 07:33 AM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,474 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbonut View Post
Keep in mind that the old r6000 receiver is DSM not dsm2 and wont work witha dx7...so one more reason not to try it...good for park stuff only
That is not correct, I have several of them the DX7 is backward compatible with AR6000's and DSM. The DX6i is as well. Later models are not however.

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2012, 06:10 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,571 Posts
Spektrum keeps on introducing updated rx designs and some are very inexpensive - the new 4 channe, 400, is an example - it uses a novel switching antenna (as do many others) but his one has a lna feature which switches if fades are detected

anyway - buy the latest design rx stuff - take advantage of latest improvements and locate the antenna away from anything which can block reception- true for any brand 2.4.
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Like New Spektrum AR 6110e Microlite Park Flyer Receiver hman2853 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Apr 07, 2012 12:03 PM
Discussion Need a Parkjet that will work with a Eflite Park 250 choppa2 Parkflyers 2 Feb 24, 2012 06:36 AM
Sold Spektrum AR6000 Park Flyer Receiver KEmblin Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Apr 07, 2010 09:20 PM
Discussion Will the Spektrum DX5e work with AR6000 receivers from my DX6? richg99 Radios 1 Sep 28, 2008 08:53 AM
Discussion Will a Futaba Skysport 6 work as park flyer remote? QinMD Parkflyers 4 Jul 03, 2008 08:56 PM