SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 06, 2012, 04:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
18 Posts
Yes. You can connect any standard NMEA GPS receiver to AIO PRO board.
You don't need the I2C-GPS NAV board.
I2C-GPS NAV board used for FC witth 328P MCU, because it has only one UART port for debug.
mealie is offline Find More Posts by mealie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2012, 04:38 PM
Registered User
Germany, HH, Hamburg
Joined Jun 2012
46 Posts
cool, then i ordered something useless yesterday -.-
palm369 is offline Find More Posts by palm369
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 05:11 PM
Registered User
Quadframes's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
745 Posts
Hi here is something I put together hope it helps if anything needs changing let me know?
Quadframes is offline Find More Posts by Quadframes
Last edited by Quadframes; Oct 04, 2012 at 06:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 05:47 PM
Old Flying Bastard
Kipkool's Avatar
France, IdF, Paris
Joined Jun 2011
394 Posts
Waiting for this board tooo, it's in a plane between Taiwan & Paris now.

Thanks for your doc Quadframes.

Just wondering, but are you sure about the Tx1/Rx1 dedicated to ppm sum ? This seems to me a waste of serial port as receiver pins can do the job ( keep ppm sum on pin 1 ).
I think it's more for Spektrum/Sbus rx.
I never used APM, only Multiwii, so I refer about mwc here.


Writing "i2c for gps" on the i2c connector is quiet confusing for new users. This mega2560 has enough power/memory/serial output to handle the serial gps, using i2c gps on it is non sense & waste.
Perhaps you should write instead "external i2c sensors" , or something like that.

Can't wait to receive it, I really want to give a look on megapirate code..
Kipkool is offline Find More Posts by Kipkool
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 05:53 PM
Registered User
Quadframes's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
745 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipkool View Post
Waiting for this board tooo, it's in a plane between Taiwan & Paris now.

Thanks for your doc Quadframes.

Just wondering, but are you sure about the Tx1/Rx1 dedicated to ppm sum ? This seems to me a waste of serial port as receiver pins can do the job ( keep ppm sum on pin 1 ).
I think it's more for Spektrum/Sbus rx.
I never used APM, only Multiwii, so I refer about mwc here.


Writing "i2c for gps" on the i2c connector is quiet confusing for new users. This mega2560 has enough power/memory/serial output to handle the serial gps, using i2c gps on it is non sense & waste.
Perhaps you should write instead "external i2c sensors" , or something like that.

Can't wait to receive it, I really want to give a look on megapirate code..
Hi no problem, it is just bits and pieces that I have put together that I have found out also info from here.... as I have said any changes i can make but we need to get the correct info, if it helps to get a manual started then great .
Quadframes is offline Find More Posts by Quadframes
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 07:14 PM
Registered User
Quadframes's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
745 Posts
Hi just added a few more things to the manual hope that this help
Quadframes is offline Find More Posts by Quadframes
Last edited by Quadframes; Oct 04, 2012 at 06:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 08:14 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
1,899 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadframes View Post
Hi just added a few more things to the manual hope that this help
thanks quadframe it s very nice
titeuf007 is offline Find More Posts by titeuf007
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 05:40 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2010
7 Posts
Thanks very much for the Manual Quadframes. I will be able to start playing now.
Milamber is offline Find More Posts by Milamber
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 05:51 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Thank you Quadframes, Great manual
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 05:58 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by seile View Post
Hey Nebstress

I just ordered one of these too.. How is it compare to the bunny

Thx
Hi Seile, I have only been playing with the firmwares & GUI's (MultiWii+MegaPirate) so far, will be adding it to a Quad in a few days hopefully & will be getting a GPS unit next week to add to it.
Still not 100% sure which to go with MultiWii or MegaPirate, I will probably start with MegaPirate & see how it performs/flys but I am keen to see how MultiWii will compare to the Bunny.
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 11:12 AM
VTOL UAV designer
bluelightning's Avatar
France
Joined Aug 2005
118 Posts
AIO Pro works fine with the GPS MT3329

Hello,
The AIO Pro v1.0 works fine for me, the GPS MT3329 it is fully locked with the MegaPirateNG_2.6_R5...
GPS is connected to RX2, TX2 and to +5V, GND from the I2C port
I have also tested the GPS EM406 and it works also well too...
The working setup is:
#define PIRATES_SENSOR_BOARD PIRATES_FREEIMU_4 // For All In One Pro 1.0
#define CONFIG_BARO AP_BARO_MS5611_I2C // For All In One Pro 1.0
#define GPS_PROTOCOL GPS_PROTOCOL_AUTO // for GPS MT3329 or EM406
See the photo attached.
bluelightning is offline Find More Posts by bluelightning
Last edited by bluelightning; Jul 08, 2012 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 01:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
40 Posts
Crius AIO Pro Setup

Nub questions

1. Does the board need to have the receiver and ecs's hooked up to communicate with Ardunio/GUI?

2. Can I power it with just a receiver battery pack and not a ECS for programing firmware?

3. I read that the USB can provide power?

I just got my feet wet flying a KK board, this board is so new it seems theres not much info out there regarding it? Should I just keep reading about the AIO SE board??

Thanks much, JD
Trauma50 is offline Find More Posts by Trauma50
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 02:10 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trauma50 View Post
Nub questions

1. Does the board need to have the receiver and ecs's hooked up to communicate with Ardunio/GUI?

2. Can I power it with just a receiver battery pack and not a ECS for programing firmware?

3. I read that the USB can provide power?

I just got my feet wet flying a KK board, this board is so new it seems theres not much info out there regarding it? Should I just keep reading about the AIO SE board??

Thanks much, JD
1. NO

2. & 3. USB provides power for uploading Firmware.

Only if you are going to get the SE board, otherwise start reading up about one or both MultiWii & MegaPirate.
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 04:23 PM
Registered User
Quadframes's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
745 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluelightning View Post
Hello,
The AIO Pro v1.0 works fine for me, the GPS MT3329 it is fully locked with the MegaPirateNG_2.6_R5...
GPS is connected to RX2, TX2 and to +5V, GND from the I2C port
I have also tested the GPS EM406 and it works also well too...
The working setup is:
#define PIRATES_SENSOR_BOARD PIRATES_FREEIMU_4 // For All In One Pro 1.0
#define CONFIG_BARO AP_BARO_MS5611_I2C // For All In One Pro 1.0
#define GPS_PROTOCOL GPS_PROTOCOL_AUTO // for GPS MT3329 or EM406
See the photo attached.
Hi if you power the board from external power source via the extended power in marked on the back of the board then you will be able to take the 5v from the S1-S3 plug and then you dont have to have wires running from the I2c plug

Remember to remove the yellow jumper if you are powering the board this way
Quadframes is offline Find More Posts by Quadframes
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 09, 2012, 01:32 AM
VTOL UAV designer
bluelightning's Avatar
France
Joined Aug 2005
118 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadframes View Post
Hi if you power the board from external power source via the extended power in marked on the back of the board then you will be able to take the 5v from the S1-S3 plug and then you dont have to have wires running from the I2c plug

Remember to remove the yellow jumper if you are powering the board this way
Thanks for your advice. I have used the 5V from the I2C plug because, If I power the AIOP with the USB (during the dev phase) there is no voltage ouput from the S1-S3 plug, so the GPS is not powered by this way.

Attached the successful test with the GPS EM406
bluelightning is offline Find More Posts by bluelightning
Last edited by bluelightning; Jul 09, 2012 at 01:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Talk 30 May 14, 2014 10:52 AM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 09:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 09:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 01:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 09:51 PM