HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 04, 2012, 10:54 AM
Registered User
Germany, HH, Hamburg
Joined Jun 2012
47 Posts
Quote:
woow I can buy that FC
Lucky guy!
palm369 is offline Find More Posts by palm369
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 04, 2012, 02:00 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
497 Posts
So does anyone actually know if the new sensors offer a dramatic improvement over the old ones? Or is everyone just making guesses at this point?

Is MPU6050 6 axis gyro/accel with Motion Processing Unit better than ITG3205 3-axis MEMS and BMA180?
Is HMC5883L 3-axis digital magnetometer Better than HMC5883L 3-axis digital magnetometer?
Is MS5611-01BA01 highprecision altimeter Better than BMP085 digital pressure sensor?

Tried looking up comparisons, but couldn't find much.

Also does anyone know which would be less sensitive to vibration?

I've been perfectly happy so far with my original Crius SE board. I was just about to buy the new smaller 1.0 version for my next aircraft, but then saw this one, and trying to figure out if its worth the extra $20. I also hope to use both bluetooth and GPS at some point, not sure if this board makes it any easier compared to the 1.0 version (which has I2c headers).
carl1864 is offline Find More Posts by carl1864
Last edited by carl1864; Jul 04, 2012 at 02:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 04, 2012, 03:40 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
1,920 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl1864 View Post
So does anyone actually know if the new sensors offer a dramatic improvement over the old ones? Or is everyone just making guesses at this point?

Is MPU6050 6 axis gyro/accel with Motion Processing Unit better than ITG3205 3-axis MEMS and BMA180?
Is HMC5883L 3-axis digital magnetometer Better than HMC5883L 3-axis digital magnetometer?
Is MS5611-01BA01 highprecision altimeter Better than BMP085 digital pressure sensor?

Tried looking up comparisons, but couldn't find much.

Also does anyone know which would be less sensitive to vibration?

I've been perfectly happy so far with my original Crius SE board. I was just about to buy the new smaller 1.0 version for my next aircraft, but then saw this one, and trying to figure out if its worth the extra $20. I also hope to use both bluetooth and GPS at some point, not sure if this board makes it any easier compared to the 1.0 version (which has I2c headers).
the new baro is better with high precision (10cm)
for the rest i think it s almost the same thing(atmega of this version is better too)
titeuf007 is offline Find More Posts by titeuf007
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 03:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2003
190 Posts
the mpu6050 has a sensor fusion processor inside. it processes the readings from the acc and gyro axes and gives out data which can easily be used to determine the correction amount required.
i dont know if the multiwii code actually uses this feature or just reads raw gyro and acc data directly.. but its worth integrating this into the code in the future
hpcre is offline Find More Posts by hpcre
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 04:05 AM
Aleksey Kharlanov
Беларусь, Минская область, Минск
Joined Sep 2011
705 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpcre View Post
the mpu6050 has a sensor fusion processor inside.
Maybe I'm wrong, but none of FC uses DMP.
Sir Alex is offline Find More Posts by Sir Alex
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 04:43 AM
Registered User
Germany, HH, Hamburg
Joined Jun 2012
47 Posts
Hey guys!

I just got my AIO board and can tell u some things:

The altimeter is super accurate, as i plug it to the pc, i can see difference on the graph when i lift it up and down even only 5-10 cm!! this is AWESOM!

Mine also came with MWii 2.0 and worked immediately with the Config tool. (win7)
However i cannot open the 64bit version of the tool although i use 64bit :S only 32bit woked.

Till now i only tested it with the Config tool, but this schows that all sensors are working fine and inputs as well.

this is a MUST BUY for everyone who does multicopter!
palm369 is offline Find More Posts by palm369
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 05:12 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
I have a 64bit & could only open the 32bit config tool as well

I've had mine working on MultiWii 2.0 & yesterday installed MegaPirate (thanks to a little help from a friend) which is working great & I especially like the ArduPilot GUI
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 09:54 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2010
7 Posts
Would really like to find a diagram explaining "pinout". Could anyone please assist? Thanks.
Milamber is offline Find More Posts by Milamber
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 11:06 AM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,071 Posts
@mealie

can you upload a manual for wiring and ports?
also, what are the recommended BT/Sonar/GPS module?

I'm looking for a better board with several required function... i might get this one if it fits..

thanks
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 11:12 AM
Registered User
Germany, HH, Hamburg
Joined Jun 2012
47 Posts
Thats what i know so far:

starting on ext.power clockwise:

Externd Power = if you dont power it by the BEC from the ESC

cam pitch = input from RX
cam roll = same
also near AUX4 ther are some missing pins or soldering points (SPI) can we use them? it so, for what?
aux4= same (aux port 1-4 u can see in the MultiWii config tool on PC)
aux3= same (aux port 1-4 u can see in the MultiWii config tool on PC)
aux2= same (aux port 1-4 u can see in the MultiWii config tool on PC)
aux1= same (aux port 1-4 u can see in the MultiWii config tool on PC)
yaw = input from RX
pitch = input from RX
roll = input from RX
throttle = input from RX
5v = so the RX gets power
gnd= and ground also ^^

6x Motor out 2-8 (where do i put which motor????)
trigger 9 = to trigger the cam if needed
echo 10 = optional echo ultrasonic sensor (??)
2x Motor out 11, 12 (where do i put which motor????)
5v bridge, jumper (if you power it by the BEC from the ESC this must be closes)
pitch 44 = for the CAM Gimbal system
roll 45 = for the CAM Gimbal system
trigger 46 = another trigger WHY?

(slc, sda, 5v, gnd) = this is the I2C port for expandings like gps

(gnd, gnd, 5v, rx0, tx0, dtr) S0/FTDI = dont know! Pls help

(tx1, rx1, tx2, rx2 tx3, rx3, vcc, gnd) = also dont know! Pls help

(a0-a5) "6 Analog output for extend device" -> means what? what could that device be?


in the description of the board stands: "4 serial ports for debug/Bluetooth Module/OSD/GPS/telemetry" where they?

BE SO FREE AND EDIT THIS SO WE CAN WORK TOGETHER TILL ITS COMPLETE
palm369 is offline Find More Posts by palm369
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 11:41 AM
youtube.com/#/user/flyrobots
Indonesia
Joined Apr 2011
239 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by palm369 View Post
(slc, sda, 5v, gnd) = this is the I2C port for expandings like gps

(gnd, gnd, 5v, rx0, tx0, dtr) S0/FTDI = dont know! Pls help

(tx1, rx1, tx2, rx2 tx3, rx3, vcc, gnd) = also dont know! Pls help

(a0-a5) "6 Analog output for extend device" -> means what? what could that device be?


in the description of the board stands: "4 serial ports for debug/Bluetooth Module/OSD/GPS/telemetry" where they?

BE SO FREE AND EDIT THIS SO WE CAN WORK TOGETHER TILL ITS COMPLETE
- This is mega board, you dont need I2c for GPS.
- you can connect BT to this port.
- Tx1Rx1 is for ppm sum, Tx2Rx2 is for serial GPS, Tx3Rx3 is for serial LCD
- Future expansion
ftdi is built in you dont need it.

Correct me if im wrong.

John
Flyrobot is offline Find More Posts by Flyrobot
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 01:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by palm369 View Post

6x Motor out 2-8 (where do i put which motor????)
trigger 9 = to trigger the cam if needed
echo 10 = optional echo ultrasonic sensor (??)
2x Motor out 11, 12 (where do i put which motor????)
5v bridge, jumper (if you power it by the BEC from the ESC this must be closes)
pitch 44 = for the CAM Gimbal system
roll 45 = for the CAM Gimbal system
trigger 46 = another trigger WHY?
Please read this for connect motor if you use MultiWii firmware:
http://www.multiwii.com/connecting-elements
Motor port for MultiWii: D2/D3/D5/D6/D7/D8/D9/D10
for MegaPirateNG: D2/D3/D5/D6/D7/D8/D11/D12
D9/D10 is sonar sensor port when you use MegaPirateNG firmware

46 is a servo output port which is used for cam shutter


Quote:
Originally Posted by palm369 View Post
(gnd, gnd, 5v, rx0, tx0, dtr) S0/FTDI = dont know! Pls help

(tx1, rx1, tx2, rx2 tx3, rx3, vcc, gnd) = also dont know! Pls help

(a0-a5) "6 Analog output for extend device" -> means what? what could that device be?
S0/FTDI can be connected a bluetooth module or standalone FTDI cable(if the USB on board is broken)

A0~A5 is reserve port,no "output", sorry, that is my mistake.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyrobot View Post
- This is mega board, you dont need I2c for GPS.
- you can connect BT to this port.
- Tx1Rx1 is for ppm sum, Tx2Rx2 is for serial GPS, Tx3Rx3 is for serial LCD
- Future expansion
ftdi is built in you dont need it.

Correct me if im wrong.

John
That's correct!
TX1/RX1 used for PPM SUM receiver or Remzibi's OSD board
TX2/RX2 used for GPS, you can connect any standard NMEA GPS receiver
TX3/RX3 used for telemetry module,like Xbee,3DRadio etc...
mealie is offline Find More Posts by mealie
Last edited by mealie; Jul 06, 2012 at 01:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 01:37 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
92 Posts
Hey Nebstress

I just ordered one of these too.. How is it compare to the bunny

Thx

Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
I have a 64bit & could only open the 32bit config tool as well

I've had mine working on MultiWii 2.0 & yesterday installed MegaPirate (thanks to a little help from a friend) which is working great & I especially like the ArduPilot GUI
seile is offline Find More Posts by seile
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 01:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
18 Posts
Hi jy0933
I will upload a manual as quickly as i can, waiting please.

we provide Bluetooth module and U-blox GPS receiver, you can found them in
www.rctimer.com
or
ebay store




mealie is offline Find More Posts by mealie
Last edited by mealie; Jul 06, 2012 at 01:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2012, 02:04 PM
Registered User
Germany, HH, Hamburg
Joined Jun 2012
47 Posts
So can i connect the so called "Multiwii MWC FC CN-06 GPS Receiver" directly with its 4 cables to (rx3, tx3 vcc, gnd) on the AIO board?

What difference does it make if i connect it via I2C?
palm369 is offline Find More Posts by palm369
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Talk 30 May 14, 2014 10:52 AM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 09:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 09:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 01:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 09:51 PM