HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:01 PM
Radd Graduate '06
Mochaboy's Avatar
United States, MA, Sudbury
Joined Aug 2006
1,820 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
The Crius AIO doesent have individual 3 pin servo type connections to the RX anyway.. there are individual signal pins from your RX, one VCC and one Ground connection on left of board..

As you can see on left hand side of board next to A8.. if you use PPM Sum / CPPM then you only need three wires to RX.. Signal, VCC and Ground if you really want to cut down wires.

I had to read that a couple of times...I've been out of the scene for a few years - so do you mean to say - I can drive all my channels off a single connection from the receiver to the AIO so long as I'm using a PPM/CPPM transmitter/receiver?

For reference, I'll be running a turnigy 9x running a DJT module to a D8R-II receiver.
Mochaboy is offline Find More Posts by Mochaboy
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:13 PM
Registered User
janekx's Avatar
Czech Republic, South Moravian Region, Brno
Joined Aug 2012
134 Posts
First of all in this case i upgrade D8RII+ with XP firmware and then i got CPPM with 27ms save frame.
Then setup AIOP to CPPM.
janekx is online now Find More Posts by janekx
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:16 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
390 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mochaboy View Post
I had to read that a couple of times...I've been out of the scene for a few years - so do you mean to say - I can drive all my channels off a single connection from the receiver to the AIO so long as I'm using a PPM/CPPM transmitter/receiver?

For reference, I'll be running a turnigy 9x running a DJT module to a D8R-II receiver.
Yes, thats the same setup I have more or less.. one servo style cable from RX to Crius.. have a look at the Crius MegaGuide for more info
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:18 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
390 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
is there a tutorial for putting a buzzer on this board?... i feel like to put one on.. but...does APM beep?
Read my post a few back.. something I am about to try, its been done.. will update the Crius MegaGuide once I have tested etc..
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:22 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Mar 2012
199 Posts
Jumpy is the first version still the most current one of your guide? Just making sure I didn't miss one.
Guru06 is offline Find More Posts by Guru06
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:24 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, FR, Wymbritseradiel
Joined Oct 2005
58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
Does this look right.. ? its slightly different from APM LED Status as colors are different for A & C, and B & C meanings are transposed..

There is also a "red - blink yellow/orange - solid green" state.
In flight config/ ch6 ch7
ariekraakjr is offline Find More Posts by ariekraakjr
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:31 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
390 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guru06 View Post
Jumpy is the first version still the most current one of your guide? Just making sure I didn't miss one.
Yep, V1.0 is latest....will be updating it in the next week or so.. have a few updates and additions ..

Next version will probably be my final.. as just ordered an APM2.5 and will probably move from Crius to that...

Will post the word version so that the community can edit going forward.
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:32 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
390 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariekraakjr View Post
There is also a "red - blink yellow/orange - solid green" state.
In flight config/ ch6 ch7
Cheers.. didnt change any flight modes.. so will check it out and update
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:52 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
127 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano View Post
so tired putting the usb into my board today... it doesnt go in all the way? is that normal? it kinda hangs on the edge and pops back out with a slight touch :/
im finding it hard to keep the usb in do that it can connect
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano View Post
do i need to install drivers first? theres no popup so i dont know how :/
do i need to set up a comport first or just plug it into the usb??

Dion
Jumpy07 or Sir Alex? pleasee anyone have anything like this or know what i need to do?
dgonano is offline Find More Posts by dgonano
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:55 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Mar 2012
199 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpy07 View Post
Yep, V1.0 is latest....will be updating it in the next week or so.. have a few updates and additions ..

Next version will probably be my final.. as just ordered an APM2.5 and will probably move from Crius to that...

Will post the word version so that the community can edit going forward.
Why are you making the switch?
Guru06 is offline Find More Posts by Guru06
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 02:59 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Mar 2012
199 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano View Post
Jumpy07 or Sir Alex? pleasee anyone have anything like this or know what i need to do?
Are you putting it in the right way? Look inside and make sure there isn't anything in the back of the port. It should "snap" into place and when pulling it out I put my thumb over the port to make sure it doesn't break off.

You should install the Andrino software but that's all you need. For my mac and PC I didn't need to install anything extra once I plugged the USB cord in.
Guru06 is offline Find More Posts by Guru06
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 03:00 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
390 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guru06 View Post
Why are you making the switch?
APM2.5 clone is now not much more than a Crius.. $89

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...8&productname=

I just fancy one.. and having cut my teeth on the Crius with MegaPirateNG its an easy switch..
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 03:05 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Mar 2012
199 Posts
I was eying the clone too for a plane I want to build next. Jumpy, thanks for all your help with the guide. I appreciate it.
Guru06 is offline Find More Posts by Guru06
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 03:05 PM
Always learning..
Jumpy07's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Aug 2012
390 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgonano View Post
Jumpy07 or Sir Alex? pleasee anyone have anything like this or know what i need to do?
I dont have a MAC so not sure..

In windows the device driver installs when you plug the USB into the Crius.. havent a clue how you do this on a MAC..

If Arduino can see the board it normally auto sets the baud rate and port.

On the USB plug coming out.. sounds like one of the tension fingers are bent.... you should be able to pull it back up with a needle or something pointed and thin..

Sorry cant be more help..
Jumpy07 is offline Find More Posts by Jumpy07
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 08:53 PM
FPV it is!
Canada, SK
Joined Aug 2012
1,115 Posts
I mentioned earlier that I had gotten my GPS working here's a quick video of one of my tests.

It was moderately windy out, I flew these tests FPV. Hands free until 1:05

"loiter" GPS hold test, moderate wind (1 min 23 sec)
Titus Gordon is offline Find More Posts by Titus Gordon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 08:36 PM
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Talk 29 Nov 21, 2012 09:58 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 08:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 12:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 08:51 PM