HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 05, 2012, 04:22 PM
FPV it is!
Canada, SK
Joined Aug 2012
1,264 Posts
I just put a set of 1200 kv 28-26 NTM's, running 3s on a HT-FPV frame with 9" props atm, haven't tested it out yet
Titus Gordon is offline Find More Posts by Titus Gordon
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2012, 04:30 PM
NDw
Registered User
Ireland, Limerick, Kilmallock
Joined Aug 2010
2,123 Posts
compuatic what do you mean by wondering around? Stabilise mode won't keep it in one spot. If it's drastically veering off have you tried automatic trim? Although i've found using a spirit level on the tip of my motor spinners and getting it as level as possible works best. And calibrating level in mission planner
NDw is offline Find More Posts by NDw
Last edited by NDw; Oct 05, 2012 at 04:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 04:56 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
San Francisco, CA
Joined Jun 2002
983 Posts
it doesnt veer into a specific direction. I've used the auto trim ch7 thing to clean that up as much as possible. If i let go of the sticks it will start to drift to the left, then to the right, then forth, then back, etc. Then again, my testing has been indoors in my living room which may be magnifying the issue.

How critical is setting the CG right below the board? My CG is probably about 1cm away from the center of the board.
compuatic is offline Find More Posts by compuatic
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 05:16 PM
FPV it is!
Canada, SK
Joined Aug 2012
1,264 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by compuatic View Post
can someone please post a snapshot or advice on where to find the default PIDs in megapirateNG? I have been playing around in mine and didn't write down the defaults...
if you still need these I can post the defaults when I get home from work in a couple hours, I reflashed mine last night
Titus Gordon is offline Find More Posts by Titus Gordon
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 05:24 PM
NDw
Registered User
Ireland, Limerick, Kilmallock
Joined Aug 2010
2,123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by compuatic View Post
it doesnt veer into a specific direction. I've used the auto trim ch7 thing to clean that up as much as possible. If i let go of the sticks it will start to drift to the left, then to the right, then forth, then back, etc. Then again, my testing has been indoors in my living room which may be magnifying the issue.

How critical is setting the CG right below the board? My CG is probably about 1cm away from the center of the board.
yeah your cg shouldn't be an issue. Tbh if it flies in the confineds of a living room I'd be fairly happy I don't think you'll ever get it to sit perfectly in one spot.
NDw is offline Find More Posts by NDw
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 05:28 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
San Francisco, CA
Joined Jun 2002
983 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Titus Gordon View Post
if you still need these I can post the defaults when I get home from work in a couple hours, I reflashed mine last night
Yes please

I'll take a video later and you guys can let me know what you think.
compuatic is offline Find More Posts by compuatic
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 06:05 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
35 Posts
here is my problem guys i can not figure it out.
20121005 174526 (0 min 38 sec)
bc2801 is offline Find More Posts by bc2801
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 06:10 PM
Principal Member
compuatic's Avatar
San Francisco, CA
Joined Jun 2002
983 Posts
BC2801 i would check the following:

1. motor directions on all 4 motors
2. if you're using the right props, C vs W
3. increase P on the yaw rate (actually looks like its pretty high already!)
compuatic is offline Find More Posts by compuatic
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 06:28 PM
Registered User
Soupbones's Avatar
Australia
Joined May 2011
560 Posts
Motors are going the correct way in the video, so your all good there. Check props are on the right way.
Actually decrease the yaw P setting. I just had issues and found this was it, the default yaw is to high.
Also double check your trim settings in your TX for the yaw as well.
Soupbones is offline Find More Posts by Soupbones
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 06:46 PM
Registered User
TheKnightFerrin's Avatar
Oregon
Joined Jan 2011
109 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc2801 View Post
here is my problem guys i can not figure it out.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKyVwqtfUuk
Is your gyro reversed/can you reverse it?
Meaning is the controller correcting yaw output in the wrong direction.
TheKnightFerrin is offline Find More Posts by TheKnightFerrin
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 07:11 PM
Pass me some zip-ties!
HansAuf's Avatar
United States, FL, Gainesville
Joined Nov 2006
2,584 Posts
bcs801, Check the #define GYRO_ORIENTATION in config.h section. Does it look like the following?

#define GYRO_ORIENTATION(X, Y, Z) {gyroADC[ROLL] = Y; gyroADC[PITCH] = -X; gyroADC[YAW] = -Z;}
HansAuf is offline Find More Posts by HansAuf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 07:15 PM
FPV it is!
Canada, SK
Joined Aug 2012
1,264 Posts
Default PID values for MPNG

@ compuatic, here are the default PID after a fresh flash of MPNG

Titus Gordon is offline Find More Posts by Titus Gordon
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 08:29 PM
Radd Graduate '06
Mochaboy's Avatar
United States, MA, Sudbury
Joined Aug 2006
1,820 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Titus Gordon View Post
@ compuatic, here are the default PID after a fresh flash of MPNG

Very helpful Titus - thanks again.

I'm a sad panda - all my packages are arriving tomorrow...which is all well and good except I won't be here, and with Columbus day on Monday that means - no play time till next Tuesday.

At least I had a chance to fix up the Bixler and swap out the motors though...these NTM 2826's are f'n nice!
Mochaboy is offline Find More Posts by Mochaboy
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 05, 2012, 09:50 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
42 Posts
Hey guys, which would be the best GPS for this board? the MTK3329 or a CN06?

Thanks!

P.
Phroz is offline Find More Posts by Phroz
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 09:57 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
25 Posts
jumpy07 have a question

my 3d radio connects over TX3-Rx3 fine, . but when i connect GPS on TX2-RX2 does not detec gps..on mission planner.. GPS works fine by it self. I tried 3D radio over FTDI but does not connect. Im using megapirates. AIOpro board
my GPS is CN06
jraulj is offline Find More Posts by jraulj
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Talk 30 May 14, 2014 09:52 AM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 08:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 08:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 12:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 08:51 PM