SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 22, 2012, 01:02 PM
Ungifted Prodigy
Multor's Avatar
Australia, QLD
Joined Jul 2012
288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
I get 5.2v on FTDI.
oh i see, i will see again what i get tomorrow, its probably just a mistaken connection
Multor is offline Find More Posts by Multor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 22, 2012, 03:49 PM
making crashing a lifestyle!
dutchcommando's Avatar
The Netherlands, UT, Soest
Joined Feb 2012
1,039 Posts
quick question: what's the latest MP firmware suitable for the AIOP?
dutchcommando is offline Find More Posts by dutchcommando
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 03:57 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dutchcommando View Post
quick question: what's the latest MP firmware suitable for the AIOP?
MegaPirateNG_2.7_R4, look HERE for frimware
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 05:04 PM
DVE
Registered User
Russian Federation, Sankt-Petersburg, SPB
Joined Jul 2011
578 Posts
Just from the flights today All In One and Megapirate functions demo: carefree (simple mode), mission flight + modem telemetry, RTL.

ACM2 - MPNG Copter RTH and Navigation flight test (2 min 57 sec)

Comments in Russian, sorry, but all must be clear.
DVE is offline Find More Posts by DVE
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 05:13 PM
KD4KW
Kd4Kw's Avatar
United States, FL, Tallahassee
Joined Jul 2009
69 Posts
The latest mission planner that works with MPNG is the latest one out there. I just updated today.

just checked and it's 1.2.12 mav 1.0
Kd4Kw is offline Find More Posts by Kd4Kw
Last edited by Kd4Kw; Sep 22, 2012 at 05:15 PM. Reason: mo info
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 07:11 PM
KD4KW
Kd4Kw's Avatar
United States, FL, Tallahassee
Joined Jul 2009
69 Posts
Well I just got back from the field. I did some fun testing. Alt hold works super. The bird would pump up and down maybe a foot and that was it. very nice. Position hold was another matter.
It would shake once and take off for other places. I let it go for a ways but it was not slowing down so I had to take control. I had a good 3D fix and like I said alt hold was good. Any suggestions would be great. MPNG running the FC. Crius gps and BT from RcTimer.
Thanks.
Kd4Kw is offline Find More Posts by Kd4Kw
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 10:00 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Ridge Spring
Joined May 2012
113 Posts
I had a similar problem. Alt hold worked pretty well, but loiter started heading up and out and I had to bring it back from way up there. What's up with that?
Boykintom is offline Find More Posts by Boykintom
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 11:38 PM
making crashing a lifestyle!
dutchcommando's Avatar
The Netherlands, UT, Soest
Joined Feb 2012
1,039 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
MegaPirateNG_2.7_R4, look HERE for frimware
thanks!

did a quick try.. not correctly compiling..
some camera is not named

nah, it's 0537 here in the morning and i have been working all night.. guess i shoudl take some shut eye and try fresh when i wake up.
dutchcommando is offline Find More Posts by dutchcommando
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 12:34 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
40 Posts
Thanks for the link, and tips for "semi micro" soldering. I have 2 AIOP, the first one I ripped the USB off. Well it just fell off really. The second one, I Gorilla glued first thing out of the anti static bag. As for the BT you can't change or define any of the code with Ardunio. And no one has been able to use the FTDI port from what I've read, and what I have tried myself. So unless I can wire up the USB it will be stuck in plus configuration with out any future updates from Multiwii. The board still works, just kills me not to be able to change it if I wanted.

I now have about 30 flights under my belt. Getting better each time. I was getting alittle aggressive today had the battery pack slip out. Just hanging there about 100 ft off the ground, throwing the CG off each time it swung around. It was a puckering moment for sure, as the thought hit me. "if the battery become disconnected, would the battery hit the ground before the copter?"

Dean connectors can be a pain to use and solder, But they don't come apart easily, Thats what saved the day.
Trauma50 is offline Find More Posts by Trauma50
Last edited by Trauma50; Sep 23, 2012 at 12:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 02:22 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
56 Posts
Well, I think it's time for me to ask for help

I was in the middle of trying to upload the MPNG sketch from my computer to the AIO for the first time when the micro-USB socket fell off my board. Unfortunately the thing was latched really securely onto my cable, and when I used pliars to get it off I deformed it past repair. I have a replacement USB connector on the way, but in the mean time I'm trying to use my APC220's to load MPNG onto the board. Is this even possible? I've configured both the APC220 boards, I have the right COM port / baud rates selected, but arduino repeatedly times out and fails to upload to the board. I'm new to arduino stuff in general, but I've done everything I can think of.

I made a video of what the AIO board's LEDs are doing during power-on and after the reset button is pushed. Once it gets to the point where LED A is flashing about once per second it just stays that way until I remove power or press reset. There's some extra servo wires in the shot but the only wires connected are for the APC220 & UBEC. Sorry for the harsh lighting, the board's LEDs overpowered my phone's camera so I had to illuminate the board with a flashlight.
CRIUS AIO PRO board power on & reset LED's (0 min 48 sec)

So, any suggestions? Is it even possible to load the sketch from arduino via the APC220s? Am I doing something wrong? Is the board just toast? Or should I just wait until the replacement USB socket arrives to see if it'll load via USB cable?

Thanks in advance for any help!
astro_wanabe is offline Find More Posts by astro_wanabe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 03:51 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boykintom View Post
I had a similar problem. Alt hold worked pretty well, but loiter started heading up and out and I had to bring it back from way up there. What's up with that?
did you trim your quad by using the trim buttons ?
If you did the correct way to perfectly level your quad is by using auto-trim:
http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_Flying

Or you can use ch7 for auto-trim as well:
http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_AutoTrim

Good luck
Lior
liorz055 is offline Find More Posts by liorz055
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 05:29 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
United Kingdom, England
Joined Nov 2011
1,605 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by astro_wanabe View Post
So, any suggestions? Is it even possible to load the sketch from arduino via the APC220s? Am I doing something wrong? Is the board just toast? Or should I just wait until the replacement USB socket arrives to see if it'll load via USB cable?

Thanks in advance for any help!
No you can not load new firmware (Sketches) via Bluetooth or telemetry (APC###,3DR,etc).
nebstress is offline Find More Posts by nebstress
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 06:36 AM
NDw
Registered User
Ireland, Limerick, Kilmallock
Joined Aug 2010
2,123 Posts
You could do it via an ftdi cable or cp2102 though yeah?

I think this is the pinout
NDw is offline Find More Posts by NDw
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 07:49 AM
Registered User
United States, SC, Ridge Spring
Joined May 2012
113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorz055 View Post
did you trim your quad by using the trim buttons ?
If you did the correct way to perfectly level your quad is by using auto-trim:
http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_Flying

Or you can use ch7 for auto-trim as well:
http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_AutoTrim

Good luck
Lior
Thanks for the tip on auto-trim--I didn't know about that! It worked well. Now if I can just get loiter to work well, I'll be in business. I'm using this GPS, and Mission Planner shows 9 satellites when I hook up to the laptop out in the front yard, but when I switch on loiter, the quad seems to try to hold, but it wanders over at least a 10 meter area. I was expecting better than that from what I've read and what I've seen on video.

I don't think this affects my flight performance, but I haven't been able to hook up my rx inputs in the order shown on the board. Is there a way to change that? Mine are actually in the order starting from the bottom: aileron, throttle elevator and rudder.

One more question, how much foam tape is needed to cover the barometer? Is there a perfect balance between light protection and air flow restriction?
Boykintom is offline Find More Posts by Boykintom
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:50 AM
making crashing a lifestyle!
dutchcommando's Avatar
The Netherlands, UT, Soest
Joined Feb 2012
1,039 Posts
allright.. i am doing something wrong and i don't know what..

i got the latest code (thanks nebstress) put it in my arduino folder, and loaded the attitude.pde.
changed APM_Config.H. (PIRATES_CRIUS_AIO_PRO_V1 , set GPS to auto and set baro to AP_BARO_MS5611_I2C)

i connect the AIOP to usb (com 12) and selected upload.
then i get a buckload of errors..

now.. what am i doing wrong? this is my first attempt with arduino so i think it's just a stupid thing on my side.
dutchcommando is offline Find More Posts by dutchcommando
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Arduino and HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 or KKmulticontroller v5.5 pprioverde Multirotor Talk 30 May 14, 2014 10:52 AM
Discussion New updated Crius Multiwii SE flight controller SGsoar Multirotor Electronics 72 May 15, 2013 09:36 PM
Discussion Jim, any plans for more multi rotor flight controller? chris24g Xtreme Power Systems 12 Jun 25, 2012 09:11 PM
Sold One New, one used ArduPilot 2560 APM1.0 Flight Controlls/autopilots wingspinner FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2012 01:55 AM
Question Quad Build Using HobbyKing Multi-Rotor Control Board V3.0 (Atmega328 PA) SJackson Multirotor Talk 27 Apr 30, 2012 09:51 PM