HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 15, 2013, 05:32 PM
Registered User
Prague, Czech_Republic
Joined Aug 2010
90 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eatnbugs View Post
Hi Roman

I was hoping you could help me again as I have not yet been successful with the head tracker.

First I verified that my ppm out and ppm in are the same as yours by bridging pins 2 and 3.


Before asking you for more help I did some research and tried to figure it out myself but have failed so here I am. As I am not an electronics specialist or a programmer I was not sure that I understood your schematic so I made some assumptions. Could you look at the attached image and tell me if my assumptions are correct or incorrect? The notes with a "?" are things that I was not sure of. the other are the values I used. And I did not understand what you meant by "Pull up".


Thank you
Bary
Yes Barry,
your assumptions are OK and you took right component values - try it.
Pull up is just explanation what is function of the resistor 5.6K - it pulls output up to +Vcc when FET is closed (during logical 1).
Be sure you verified, that on pin 2 is your radio outputting more than 5V DC. If it was less, your radio would use 5V logic levels and you wouldn't need any extra component - just direct connection TX 2 --- D8 (or D2) and D9 --- TX 3.
If it's more (usually multimeter shows just a little less than Vcc), build it as drawing shows.
Let me know the result.
Roman
RBirdie001 is offline Find More Posts by RBirdie001
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 16, 2013, 02:17 PM
I don't really eat bugs
United States, UT, North Ogden
Joined Dec 2012
28 Posts
Roman

I was hoping you would find something I had done wrong with the schematic because I had built it as the drawing shows before writing you. The only result I get is a couple of the LEDs on the arduino illuminate. I get no response at all from the HT. I have measured the voltage on pin 2 and it is in the 10 v range.
Well I'm not sure what to do now. I think I will try taking it apart and putting it back together again just to make sure that I didn't miss something but it is a pretty simple circuit so.....
If you have any ideas or suggestions I would be happy to hear them.

Thanks
Bary
Eatnbugs is offline Find More Posts by Eatnbugs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 03:49 PM
Registered User
Prague, Czech_Republic
Joined Aug 2010
90 Posts
Hi!
I think that in the beginning you wrote that when you connected arduino output (D9) to transmitter trainer pin 3 and pulled trainer switch, servos some way responded to HT. At least this you should get again. You should separate the problem between sending PPM and reading PPM.
At least output D9 should control two extra channels when input (D2 or D8) is disconnected. If doesn't, problem is probably in the FET. You can try connect it directly as in the beginning (without pullup!). It's not technically clean but can some way work at least for testing. If you then get control at least by HT, you can reconnect PPM in and see if you then get all the channels.
If even repeated build doesn't help, you should try to find some friend-electronics with the scope. If you don't live far in the Alaska wild, there should be some around to you...
You can try also to make some soundcard scope, but there is some knowledge needed so it would be hard if you are e.g. doctor or painter...
When you get at least partial reaction on servos, we can try to continue...
Good luck!
Roman


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eatnbugs View Post
Roman

I was hoping you would find something I had done wrong with the schematic because I had built it as the drawing shows before writing you. The only result I get is a couple of the LEDs on the arduino illuminate. I get no response at all from the HT. I have measured the voltage on pin 2 and it is in the 10 v range.
Well I'm not sure what to do now. I think I will try taking it apart and putting it back together again just to make sure that I didn't miss something but it is a pretty simple circuit so.....
If you have any ideas or suggestions I would be happy to hear them.

Thanks
Bary
RBirdie001 is offline Find More Posts by RBirdie001
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:41 PM
I don't really eat bugs
United States, UT, North Ogden
Joined Dec 2012
28 Posts
Roman

You made me laugh. I do not live in Alaska nor am I a Doctor or Painter. I am actually an engineer. I hadn't heard of the sound card scope so I looked it up and that looks like a great idea. Thank you for suggesting it. Should be an interesting and useful little project and it might be just what I need to track down the issues with the HT.
Thanks again and I will let you know if I make any progress.

Bary
Eatnbugs is offline Find More Posts by Eatnbugs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:58 AM
Just clumsy. Oh, forgetful too
MikeTheCrash's Avatar
undefined
Joined Jun 2008
3,367 Posts
Head tracker in action
Thanks Dennis!
Chertsey Meads Waterlogged (4 min 9 sec)
MikeTheCrash is online now Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 10:30 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2005
413 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by isvedic View Post
It works now!

I made 2 mistakes:
1. GND connected wrong
2. 3.5mm jack loosing connection
What do you mean by 'GND connected wrong'? Should it not be connected to the radio plug as in the picture in you previous post?
TigerPilot is offline Find More Posts by TigerPilot
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 11:13 AM
My planes have left thrust :s
vanepico's Avatar
United Kingdom, St Albans
Joined Sep 2005
1,850 Posts
Is there any specific kind of ppm this recognises?
I don't know what kind of PPM a futaba challenger has but the FrSky module reads it
vanepico is offline Find More Posts by vanepico
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:15 PM
Living in the south of France
paulinfrance's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
458 Posts
Hi,
Having 2 thumbs and i can't even put a servo plug up the right way around in my receiver so NO way will i be able to build this head tracker, isn't their one out there that i can get off of the shelf that doesn't drift ?, or are the 'professionals' only out there to rip us off ?.
paulinfrance is offline Find More Posts by paulinfrance
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:33 PM
My planes have left thrust :s
vanepico's Avatar
United Kingdom, St Albans
Joined Sep 2005
1,850 Posts
Excuse my naivity, I didn't notice the 'ppm in not supported' bit :/
vanepico is offline Find More Posts by vanepico
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:19 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
915 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanepico View Post
Is there any specific kind of ppm this recognises?
I don't know what kind of PPM a futaba challenger has but the FrSky module reads it
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanepico View Post
Excuse my naivity, I didn't notice the 'ppm in not supported' bit :/
PPM in is supported - at least it have been written and released. It was released as a test-feature, but I actually don't know if anyone use it.

It was developed with Futaba F9 and can be used to read PPM-input and generate another PPM-output with 12 channel PPM etc.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:46 PM
My planes have left thrust :s
vanepico's Avatar
United Kingdom, St Albans
Joined Sep 2005
1,850 Posts
Ok thanks, I'll give it a bit more experimentation tomorrow (it's 2 in the morning here!), just messing around with soundcard scope, I think there may be something wrong with my PPM out.

Once again thanks for making this!
Pete
vanepico is offline Find More Posts by vanepico
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:48 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
915 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanepico View Post
Ok thanks, I'll give it a bit more experimentation tomorrow (it's 2 in the morning here!), just messing around with soundcard scope, I think there may be something wrong with my PPM out.

Once again thanks for making this!
Pete
no worries, it's around 3 PM here
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:11 AM
Just clumsy. Oh, forgetful too
MikeTheCrash's Avatar
undefined
Joined Jun 2008
3,367 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulinfrance View Post
Hi,
Having 2 thumbs and i can't even put a servo plug up the right way around in my receiver so NO way will i be able to build this head tracker, isn't their one out there that i can get off of the shelf that doesn't drift ?, or are the 'professionals' only out there to rip us off ?.
I could make you one but you will still have to wire it up to your radio, set up the interface on your PC, power the arduino from your radio, program your radio, set all the gains and limits with the interface and so on....

best to dive in yourself, the parts are cheap, and give it a go!
MikeTheCrash is online now Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:37 AM
My planes have left thrust :s
vanepico's Avatar
United Kingdom, St Albans
Joined Sep 2005
1,850 Posts
Once I get mine working I could probably wire up and program some in the uk or surrounding areas, parts costs, P&P and money for a pint of beer!
vanepico is offline Find More Posts by vanepico
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:48 AM
Living in the south of France
paulinfrance's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
458 Posts
Thanks for all of your help and offers, i DON'T like electronics,,,,, i am a plug and plane man myself, i will be testing my stick control pan and tilt this next week end,
Left stick, No rudder just the 'pan' and throttle then switch SA up (FX-30) replaces the throttle with the 'tilt' and the throttle goes to 'T6' a proportional button (Robbe calls it a precision trim) .

Mode 2 the ONLY way to fly,,,,
paulinfrance is offline Find More Posts by paulinfrance
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Diy osd (Arduino and opensource) Dennis Frie FPV Equipment 2413 Aug 08, 2014 01:30 AM
Discussion PPM to PWM circuit for headtracker 38cjc38 DIY Electronics 18 Mar 04, 2011 06:43 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker/module setup. SebastianJ FPV Talk 0 Aug 19, 2009 07:38 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker. SebastianJ DIY Electronics 0 Aug 18, 2009 03:37 PM