SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:06 AM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,661 Posts
hfest,

Did you try loading the simple LED flasher demo into the Adduino to check it that way.

I bought both boards from Goodluckbuy because there were problems between DX and Paypal, no problems with the ones from GLB apart from the 3 week delivery time.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 28, 2012, 07:03 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2010
101 Posts
Isn't it time to remove the links to DX.com from the first page? The hardware from DX is cheap, but it seems only 50% of the units work as they should.

I spent several days trying to get my DX Arduino and GY85 to work, but never succeeded. The hardware from Goodluckbuy worked right away. Of course I might have been lucky...but I think the price difference really gets you better hardware.
XDreamer is online now Find More Posts by XDreamer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:12 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Magyarország, Baranya, Pécs
Joined Feb 2008
425 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by XDreamer View Post
Isn't it time to remove the links to DX.com from the first page? The hardware from DX is cheap, but it seems only 50% of the units work as they should.

I spent several days trying to get my DX Arduino and GY85 to work, but never succeeded. The hardware from Goodluckbuy worked right away. Of course I might have been lucky...but I think the price difference really gets you better hardware.
Hi,

I bought it from DX also, but my did work well, and still does.

Keep in mind that this board comes without boot loader for sure:
Link

I had to borrow a Usbasp to burn bootloader.

And i bought this sensor: Link

Gábor
Gabek is offline Find More Posts by Gabek
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:17 AM
KISS
hefest's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
1,220 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne View Post
hfest,

Did you try loading the simple LED flasher demo into the Adduino to check it that way.

I bought both boards from Goodluckbuy because there were problems between DX and Paypal, no problems with the ones from GLB apart from the 3 week delivery time.

A.
Well, no bootloader==no possibility to upload anything.
Flashing new bootloader via ICSP also failed.
hefest is offline Find More Posts by hefest
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:19 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Magyarország, Baranya, Pécs
Joined Feb 2008
425 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest View Post
Well, no bootloader==no possibility to upload anything.
Flashing new bootloader via ICSP also failed.
Did you use arduino, to upload boot loader, and selected right board?
Gabek is offline Find More Posts by Gabek
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:20 AM
KISS
hefest's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
1,220 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabek View Post
Did you use arduino, to upload boot loader, and selected right board?
Tried using arduino, but the thing is OS is reporting broken USB device, both Linux and Windows.
hefest is offline Find More Posts by hefest
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:25 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Magyarország, Baranya, Pécs
Joined Feb 2008
425 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest View Post
Tried using arduino, but the thing is OS is reporting broken USB device, both Linux and Windows.
Ok.

Just to make sure. Did you try to upload bootloader trough the boards own port?

I am asking, because that is not possible.
By FTDI you simply can't.

You need an external 6 pin (or a 10 pin if you know how to connect it) AVR programmer.

I think the cheapest way is this: Link

Gábor
Gabek is offline Find More Posts by Gabek
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:27 AM
KISS
hefest's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
1,220 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabek View Post
Ok.

Just to make sure. Did you try to upload bootloader trough the boards own port?

I am asking, because that is not possible.
By FTDI you simply can't.

You need an external 6 pin (or a 10 pin if you know how to connect it) AVR programmer.

I think the cheapest way is this: Link

Gábor
Yes, i have exactly that AVR programer and tried flashing bootloader with it with no luck, OS is reporting broken USB device.
Poweron led turns on, the rx led flashed red few times and that's it.
I didnt check pin-by-pin 6pin cable and connections on Arduino Nano DX clone if those are aligned correctly.
hefest is offline Find More Posts by hefest
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:36 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Magyarország, Baranya, Pécs
Joined Feb 2008
425 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest View Post
Yes, i have exactly that AVR programer and tried flashing bootloader with it with no luck, OS is reporting broken USB device.
Poweron led turns on, the rx led flashed red few times and that's it.
I didnt check pin-by-pin 6pin cable and connections on Arduino Nano DX clone if those are aligned correctly.
Well if you power it trough AVR programer than usb connection does not matters as it is not even connected.

Than if boot loader burning goes well than you can try. If still the same error, try this:

connect the USB cable to the board, than hang it on the wire, so the board will not touch a thing. Than connect it to the computer.

Also try more than one cable if you have.

This board is very sensitive.
Gabek is offline Find More Posts by Gabek
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:38 AM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,897 Posts
Hello,
just seeing if anyone has one for sale or will make me one for a Futaba 9c.
you can send me a PM.
Thanks G
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:38 AM
KISS
hefest's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
1,220 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabek View Post
Well if you power it trough AVR programer than usb connection does not matters as it is not even connected.

Than if boot loader burning goes well than you can try. If still the same error, try this:

connect the USB cable to the board, than hang it on the wire, so the board will not touch a thing. Than connect it to the computer.

Also try more than one cable if you have.

This board is very sensitive.
I did try several different USB cables and holding it away from everything to avoid shorting out and similar with same results.
hefest is offline Find More Posts by hefest
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:46 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Magyarország, Baranya, Pécs
Joined Feb 2008
425 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefest View Post
I did try several different USB cables and holding it away from everything to avoid shorting out and similar with same results.
But did boot loader take?

Also my is interfering with 72 Mhz. when my transmitter was on i had the same error.
I had to use shielded cables.
Now it works as it should.

Just ordered an LRS modul Will see what happens
Gabek is offline Find More Posts by Gabek
Last edited by Gabek; Nov 28, 2012 at 09:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:20 AM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,661 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit View Post
Hello,
just seeing if anyone has one for sale or will make me one for a Futaba 9c.
you can send me a PM.
Thanks G
Even if you bought the NDHT ready-made you would still have to calibrate it in place on your video-goggles because of their magnetic field.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:08 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,897 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne View Post
Even if you bought the NDHT ready-made you would still have to calibrate it in place on your video-goggles because of their magnetic field.

A.
Yes i understand that,
but thanks for the info.
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 10:49 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Sep 2005
394 Posts
FYI:

I was just able to build a third, perfectly functioning headtracker. The key is to keep the gy-85 separate from the arduino with a length of wire and to calibrate the magnetometer by holding the sensorboard with the components up in the first step instead of down as they are shown in the GUI.

I tried using the exact same components in another headtracker earlier without success. I was having a constant twitching of the servos along with pan returning to zero. I decided to try again using the techniques that I described above and it worked beautifully.

I used components that were purchased from three different vendors to build each of the three headtrackers, though none were from DX.

capn
capn is offline Find More Posts by capn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Diy osd (Arduino and opensource) Dennis Frie FPV Equipment 2416 Dec 11, 2014 03:00 PM
Discussion PPM to PWM circuit for headtracker 38cjc38 DIY Electronics 18 Mar 04, 2011 07:43 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker/module setup. SebastianJ FPV Talk 0 Aug 19, 2009 08:38 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker. SebastianJ DIY Electronics 0 Aug 18, 2009 04:37 PM