SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Jun 20, 2012, 11:28 PM
Registered User
Catfish62's Avatar
United States, OH, Toledo
Joined Jun 2012
14 Posts
Discussion
Futaba 8U non-super

I just have to ask....

Is there any way to reprogram my 8U to an 8US.

to me its just a matter of reprogramming or am I way off?
Catfish62 is offline Find More Posts by Catfish62
Last edited by Catfish62; Jun 21, 2012 at 11:40 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 21, 2012, 04:32 PM
Registered User
crazy8s's Avatar
Pennsylvania, USA
Joined Sep 2008
359 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish62 View Post
I just have to ask....

Is there any way to reprogram my 8U to an 8US.

to me its just a matter of reprogramming or am I way off?
In case you haven't seen this link yet it lists the differences between the 8U and 8U Super. It sounds like it may be more than just a software change but I'm not sure. However I don't believe there was ever any way to "upgrade" the 8U to 8U Super status like you can do with today's modern 8FG.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/faq/faq-8u-q308.html
crazy8s is offline Find More Posts by crazy8s
Old Jun 21, 2012, 11:39 PM
Registered User
Catfish62's Avatar
United States, OH, Toledo
Joined Jun 2012
14 Posts
Yeah, i seen that before but it just says things about software, i didn't read anything about hardware being changed. but I could be wrong also..I sure am interested in finding out, because i had a super and it was identical to the non super i have now.

Catfish62 is offline Find More Posts by Catfish62
Old Jun 22, 2012, 12:45 PM
Registered User
Camas, WA
Joined Nov 2002
118 Posts
The short answer is NO. I have one of each. Look at the link recommended or get a copy the aftermarket programing book by Don Edberg which will list the differences. It depends on what you need to do. Basically the 8US gives some options that can also be done on the 8U by p-mixes.
Paint Man is offline Find More Posts by Paint Man
Old Jun 22, 2012, 05:33 PM
Registered User
Catfish62's Avatar
United States, OH, Toledo
Joined Jun 2012
14 Posts
yes, I just talked to a futaba tech, only way to turn an 8u into a super is to change the main programming board. they are unflashable, plus he said they no longer service them...to old he said...lol, made me feel a bit vintage myself
Catfish62 is offline Find More Posts by Catfish62
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Futaba 8U Super 8UAFS + extras $90 shipped pach Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 May 05, 2012 09:02 PM
Discussion Can I use my Futaba 8U (non-super) for my Blade CP ?? FenceMagnet Micro Helis 7 Jan 17, 2009 04:52 PM
Discussion Futaba 8U or 8U Super Which do I need? aardon24689 Radios 5 Sep 15, 2007 05:04 PM
Question voyager e VS futaba 8u non super HELP thriller Electric Heli Talk 3 Dec 22, 2003 07:58 PM
V'ger and Futaba 8U (non super) programming wjjones Electric Heli Talk 6 Sep 13, 2001 09:24 PM