HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 01, 2013, 05:44 PM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexless View Post
Greetings.

Has anyone noticed if the bottom of their KK2's look like this? I just received this one from hobbyking a couple of weeks ago and the solder on the outer edge of the pins looks like it all runs together. I'm not sure if this is the way they share the voltage across the pins or if I have a poorly built KK2. My other one is mounted and I can't see the pins as there's tape over that section. I don't recall noticing this.
It's fine, it's the ground connection.
Steveis is online now Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 01, 2013, 05:46 PM
Addicted
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Dec 2011
1,172 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brontide View Post
No, while they use the same CPU, the ftdi serial adapters are meant to program chips with arduino bootloader code.

Funny enough you can use the usbasp to program most multiwii boards if the ISP pins are populated.
Thanks, Brontide. Thought I'd ask before I spend the $4 something plus shipping at HobbyKing

I'll get one ordered up. I want to get 1.5 installed.
Sixinarow is online now Find More Posts by Sixinarow
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 05:56 PM
Fly Fast, Fly Hard, Fly Fun
rexless's Avatar
Canada, BC
Joined Apr 2012
1,527 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveis View Post
It's fine, it's the ground connection.
Thanks!
rexless is offline Find More Posts by rexless
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 01, 2013, 06:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panzlflyer View Post
Is it possible that the gimbal is swinging and overcorrecting causing a shift in weight? try a flight with the gimbal servo unplugged.


so far the gimbal servos are not connected, I'm waiting for a ubec...

Also added weight usually means the gains will not be the same and need tweaking.
you mean like raising the gains? P and I?
alumina is offline Find More Posts by alumina
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 07:48 PM
Tricopters Rule
United States, NC, Goldsboro
Joined Mar 2012
534 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alumina View Post
you mean like raising the gains? P and I?
Added weight makes it harder for the controller to handle the quad so try raising them a little.
Panzlflyer is offline Find More Posts by Panzlflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 09:02 PM
Specializing in RC since 1972
Temple, GA, USA
Joined Jun 2009
3,135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixinarow View Post
Thanks, Brontide. Thought I'd ask before I spend the $4 something plus shipping at HobbyKing

I'll get one ordered up. I want to get 1.5 installed.
$7.76 shipped (buy it now) on eBay if that is any cheaper.

You can also order the USBASP and 10to6pin adapter separately. The USBASP's are all 10 pin and the KK2 is 6 pin.
theothercliff is online now Find More Posts by theothercliff
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 09:46 PM
WZ9V, AMA 409852
United States, VA, Alexandria
Joined Jan 2007
1,416 Posts
Got my props balanced out last night but unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate and it was more windy than I like for a maiden on a new vehicle. Maybe I'll have better luck tomorrow. Sounds much better now with props in balance, since it was way late yesterday I've punted on dynamically balancing the rotor bells for now. Need to clear of the table to do some grooming on my shaggy dogs.
dfruehwald is offline Find More Posts by dfruehwald
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2013, 11:54 PM
Registered User
--Oz--'s Avatar
United States
Joined Mar 2006
2,150 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Oz-- View Post
I seen the nice protection box that is specifically made for the KK2 but is almost the cost of a new KK2 after shipping to the USA.

I came across this box witch needs some slight modding. Cut height down 1/2 inch or so, open up the bottom to be able to view the LCD and buttons access. Another hole for the buzzer and a couple of holes for zip tie it down to the quad frame. You leave the KK2 in the black foam that is came in, then slide the box over the top of the KK2 and zip tie to frame. They are very sturdy boxes, I had a 300lb friend step on the box, no problems.

PN Stanley Vidmar BN-25-44 (black version is CBN-25-44)
Plastic Bin 3 Inch X 3 Inch X 2-1/8 Inch

Couple of places to find them is;
http://www.stanleyvidmar.com/quicksh...44-plastic-bin

http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/STA...099?Pid=search

I will probably install my FrSly D6FR 6ch Rx in the box also, photos coming when done.
I finished my KK2 protection box. Just need to add LED's to the arms and landing gear.

I used a Dremal tool with router bit and quickly carved out the stock Anti-static foam to accommodate the wires (Rx to FC, FC to ESC, buzzer and telemetry wires) and 6ch FrSky D6FR Rx. It is mounted with 4 zip ties and is semi clean looking (comparing to my old setup). This box is robust, easily hold 300 lbs weight straight down.

Now to final tune my scratch-build 400mm quad with the excellent KK2. Thanks for all the help guys!
--Oz-- is offline Find More Posts by --Oz--
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 07:02 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
240 Posts
is there a reason I cannot regiter with kkmulticopter.com?
DEBAY777 is online now Find More Posts by DEBAY777
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 08:26 AM
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Croatia, Osijek-Baranja County, Valpovo
Joined Jul 2011
391 Posts
After many hours of flight it is time to oil ball bearings

Scorpion Brushless Motor Bearing Oil (1 min 23 sec)


Scorpion Brushless Motor Bearing Oil
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...405&aff=448825
srepfler is offline Find More Posts by srepfler
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 08:26 AM
Registered User
United States, NM, Santa Fe
Joined Feb 2013
435 Posts
Very cool video, jcarte! The aerial shots of the aerobatic planes are great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarte View Post
Tricopters at FX3D both on KK2

http://vimeo.com/60394595
RobertSF is offline Find More Posts by RobertSF
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 08:32 AM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
7,259 Posts
no doubt that it's no different than 3in1 oil with some coloring, specially made in china
I'm a firm beleiver ,always buy oils or chemicals from a reputable usa or canadian company that follows strict guildlines, atleast you know what your getting
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 09:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
3,571 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Oz-- View Post
I finished my KK2 protection box. Just need to add LED's to the arms and landing gear.
Nice clean install. Good job.
kaptondave is offline Find More Posts by kaptondave
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 05:37 PM
efx
Rookie in training, heads up
efx's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Mar 2010
3,208 Posts
I ordered one of those, but just so you know, roller blades bearing oil also works great. I just haven't found any around me, okay I haven't bother to really look for it, but I bought some years ago and it's what I have been using. My bottle is almost out, hence the need for some more oil, but I need the needle too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by srepfler View Post
After many hours of flight it is time to oil ball bearings

http://youtu.be/PT49As5_vFI

Scorpion Brushless Motor Bearing Oil
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...405&aff=448825
efx is offline Find More Posts by efx
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Malware?
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2013, 06:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
364 Posts
I've been using that Scorpion bearing oil for years. Started using it after loosing a few tail blade grip bearings on my 450 heli's and also on my 500, motors, head bearings, belt drive bearings, then on all bearings even new ones before installing them, etc. It's really good stuff but as posted above not on oneway bearings. I use silicone grease on them. My buddy put it in a oneway on his 450 and within 2 flights it was slipping and then locked up.
Rotorhead0207 is offline Find More Posts by Rotorhead0207
Reply With Quote