HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 22, 2012, 12:03 PM
* fly fast - live slow *
Seebodener's Avatar
Seeboden in Austria
Joined Dec 2008
83 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kydave View Post
although I am from Austria I bought them from my favorite US seller a few weeks ago: http://www.cnchelicopter.com/servlet...Quattro/Detail
and for about 3 weeks they work without any issues in my 450-size Quad

Ferdinand uses them as well in his X16 cam lifter (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1763685)
Seebodener is offline Find More Posts by Seebodener
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 22, 2012, 01:00 PM
Specializing in RC since 1972
Temple, GA, USA
Joined Jun 2009
3,135 Posts
My KK2 arrived today. Here is a breakdown of how long it took
(Caution: items supposedly reserved when paid, but not actually reserved in some cases until it is shipped.)

Paid on Nov 28
Did not show up as paid (PayPal). Went online with support to get them to manually mark it as paid. This has happened with the last several orders.

Paid to Print Queue, estimated 3 days (includes some "3day just in time" items?)
Print Queue to Printed, estimated 2 days
Printed to Shipped, estimated 3 days
Shipped to actually left Hong Kong, 7 days.
Hong Kong to my door, 9 days
----------------------------------------------
Total, about 24 days

Tracking updates were delayed (on the 13th it finally listed the item as Accepted on the 6th) and incomplete (there are no entries for the USA cities it passed through, just a final entry where it appeared at the local post office). I guess would rather have incomplete paperwork than delayed packages though.

Not too bad for this time of the year. The biggest delays above normal were Hong Kong Post (5+ days extra) and HobbyKing (maybe 2 days extra).

I have toys!
theothercliff is offline Find More Posts by theothercliff
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 01:15 PM
Registered User
Bigmic's Avatar
Norway, Sogn og Fjordane, Askvoll
Joined Aug 2012
81 Posts
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmic
KK2 with 4S possible?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveis View Post
Yep
Thank you! I thought it will burn the board
Bigmic is offline Find More Posts by Bigmic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 01:30 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,398 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmic View Post
Thank you! I thought it will burn the board
The 4S (or any full voltage) is never applied to the board!

The ESC has a BEC (Battery Eliminator Circuit) on board which drops the full battery voltage down to 5v for the receiver and KK board.

It's up to the ESC to handle the voltage that you put on it. If they can't, and the ESC BEC burns out, then you could burn the KK board.

Just thought I'd clear the point up!
Norman Adlam is offline Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:00 PM
Bayou Boy
Diazapamjam's Avatar
United States, LA, Houma
Joined Nov 2012
458 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oyibox View Post
its easy to figure out when you have 12 fingers in your hands but most people have only 10
Haha yea no doubt!
Diazapamjam is offline Find More Posts by Diazapamjam
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:40 PM
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Croatia, Osijek-Baranja County, Valpovo
Joined Jul 2011
389 Posts
High P values with SimonK

With SimonK firmware P can be really high.
Same for I.

KK2 P tuning with SimonK flashed ESC (4 min 56 sec)
srepfler is offline Find More Posts by srepfler
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 04:10 PM
C'mon Man!
georgez's Avatar
United States, TX, Denton
Joined Jul 2012
181 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by theothercliff View Post
My KK2 arrived today. Here is a breakdown of how long it took
(Caution: items supposedly reserved when paid, but not actually reserved in some cases until it is shipped.)

Paid on Nov 28
Did not show up as paid (PayPal). Went online with support to get them to manually mark it as paid. This has happened with the last several orders.

Paid to Print Queue, estimated 3 days (includes some "3day just in time" items?)
Print Queue to Printed, estimated 2 days
Printed to Shipped, estimated 3 days
Shipped to actually left Hong Kong, 7 days.
Hong Kong to my door, 9 days
----------------------------------------------

Total, about 24 days

Tracking updates were delayed (on the 13th it finally listed the item as Accepted on the 6th) and incomplete (there are no entries for the USA cities it passed through, just a final entry where it appeared at the local post office). I guess would rather have incomplete paperwork than delayed packages though.

Not too bad for this time of the year. The biggest delays above normal were Hong Kong Post (5+ days extra) and HobbyKing (maybe 2 days extra).

I have toys!
I just experience the same thing with my order. It took 22 days to arrive. My previous orders was 10 days average. Its the time of year I guess.
georgez is offline Find More Posts by georgez
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 22, 2012, 04:50 PM
Registered User
Cheyenne, WY
Joined Oct 2010
114 Posts
Reversed yaw gyro?

Is it possible for the yaw gyro to get reversed somehow. Thats how my quad is behaving, just like a KK 5.5 with a reversed yaw gyro. doing an overhead test everything is fine until i give it a twist then it goes crazy. any ideas?
augerN is online now Find More Posts by augerN
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 05:22 PM
Registered User
Del-Dredd's Avatar
Near Aberystwyth - Wales
Joined Aug 2004
2,119 Posts
Unless you have gone into the editor and fiddled with it, the Yaw on a Quad will not just reverse.

You have to ensure you have the correct Quad configuration selected X or + and that the motors are connected correctly as per the motor layout for that config and thet they are rotating the correct way again as per diagram for the config.

Thats it, if set up as per instructions on KK2 display no reversing of gyros required.

Only config that may require a Yaw gyro rate reverse is Tricopter and that is because of Servo and linkage variations in rotation.
Del-Dredd is offline Find More Posts by Del-Dredd
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 05:43 PM
airplanes r made from aluminum
wilem's Avatar
United States, SC, Darlington
Joined Jul 2009
652 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Del-Dredd View Post
Unless you have gone into the editor and fiddled with it, the Yaw on a Quad will not just reverse.

You have to ensure you have the correct Quad configuration selected X or + and that the motors are connected correctly as per the motor layout for that config and thet they are rotating the correct way again as per diagram for the config.

Thats it, if set up as per instructions on KK2 display no reversing of gyros required.

Only config that may require a Yaw gyro rate reverse is Tricopter and that is because of Servo and linkage variations in rotation.
maybe + instead of x
flashed mine today v 1.5 (X-config.) but didn't reconfigure it...flew in an increasing oscillation till if dropped..Luckily i was only a foot off the ground when it happened. Set it to x. with the default values and wow. this thing it 100x better than it was before on v 1.2. self level is really solid now.
wilem is offline Find More Posts by wilem
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 07:07 PM
Specializing in RC since 1972
Temple, GA, USA
Joined Jun 2009
3,135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norman Adlam View Post
The 4S (or any full voltage) is never applied to the board!
He meant to add "...except to the low voltage detection circuit which does not even come with a connector attached. You have to solder your own."
theothercliff is offline Find More Posts by theothercliff
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 07:17 PM
Specializing in RC since 1972
Temple, GA, USA
Joined Jun 2009
3,135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by srepfler View Post
With SimonK firmware P can be really high.
Same for I.

http://youtu.be/EDQAIbsp_ng
Was it oscillating at 70+ with the stock ESC firmware?

What was the final value you used for P on the flashed ESC's?
theothercliff is offline Find More Posts by theothercliff
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:57 PM
M Griffith
Ecuador, Tungurahua
Joined Jun 2012
57 Posts
Arduino on the KK2

Hey all.

A few of you will find this interesting.

I have been working on some code to make it possible to use the Arduino IDE with the KK2.

It includes a working LCD library and examples.

Article here.

and thread if you want to discuss it.

Marc.
pprioverde is offline Find More Posts by pprioverde
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:24 PM
Build Fly Crash Repeat
crezzee's Avatar
Worcester UK
Joined Nov 2004
791 Posts
Finally got my poor mans gimbal working the SSG powered by KK2

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...9#post23597916
crezzee is offline Find More Posts by crezzee
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 10:26 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crezzee View Post
Finally got my poor mans gimbal working the SSG powered by KK2
NIce job!
I like it!

I'm a believer in the KISS method!
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote