HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 04, 2012, 12:42 PM
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Croatia, Osijek-Baranja County, Valpovo
Joined Jul 2011
391 Posts
gopro on quad with KK2 1.5

Fall with X666 (4 min 44 sec)
srepfler is offline Find More Posts by srepfler
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:06 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrym View Post
I usually use the CART on Websites as an order cache.
I tried to keep a list in my CART on HK's site, but that don't work.
When I come back the next day my CART is empty.
I don't delete Cookies on my computer so HK must not be setting one.
I create a wish list of items that are in stock and out of stock with email notification. As soon as I have a good list, I click on that tiny buy button.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:06 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by srepfler View Post
gopro on quad with KK2 1.5
Nice vid! Post a pic of your setup please.
Did you have SL on? Very stable!
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:08 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by theothercliff View Post
My order of Nov 28 was just marked as shipped (that's about 6 days). The shipping company has not marked it as "Accepted" yet though, so HK still has it as far as I am concerned.

Of course in 3 days the shipping company could mark it has having been accepted today.
I placed a large order on cyber Monday and 3 days later got the checker bot email that it was packed and shipped. Of course, no update since then on the tracking #.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:10 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
I placed a large order on cyber Monday and 3 days later got the checker bot email that it was packed and shipped. Of course, no update since then on the tracking #.
Now I understand the old saying... "Slow boat from China!"

harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:15 PM
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Croatia, Osijek-Baranja County, Valpovo
Joined Jul 2011
391 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrym View Post
Nice vid! Post a pic of your setup please.
Did you have SL on? Very stable!
Thanks, Self level is always ON.

Setup is posted way back but hard to find.
Pi setup
P 70 ( longer I fly the lower I set it, was 90, then 80 and now 70)
I 60 ( maybe to high but add roll stability, will need to lower a bit)

Yaw P 150

Self level
40
40

Height dampenig
6

all else default
srepfler is offline Find More Posts by srepfler
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:26 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by srepfler View Post
Thanks, Self level is always ON......
RGR that! Thanks
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:44 PM
Registered User
zagi450t's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Dunstable
Joined Sep 2012
14 Posts
Hobby city in H/k does seem to have got slow these days, so much so that if it is in stock in the U/K warehouse I pay the extra, and get it in 2 or 3 days if I do 1 order from H/K and 1 from UK on the same day the UK one will arrive before the H/K one is even packed, maybe they are just getting too successful.
zagi450t is offline Find More Posts by zagi450t
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:47 PM
Thread Crapper
JohnVH's Avatar
Lynden, WA
Joined Nov 2000
2,866 Posts
I hate ordering from HK overseas, I figure about 3 weeks until I see it, with bad tracking info to boot.

But they do always show up, eventually. I try my best to find US places first even if I have to pay a couple bucks more to not have to wait a month.
JohnVH is offline Find More Posts by JohnVH
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 02:47 PM
Yep, Naza-controlled Tricopter
tonyestep's Avatar
St. Louis
Joined Apr 2002
1,454 Posts
Many others have done so, but I have to post yet another thank-you to KK for the firmware upgrade(s), and LazyZero for the slick tool that makes it happen. I have one of those little HobbyKing mini-quads, the $109 guy. It came with firmware 1.2, and was definitely not up to my expectations. It was hard as heck to fly in the house and generally not much fun. But after going to 1.4, everything fell into place. A little fiddling with the gains, and now I can fly it up the stairs, through the doorways, through dining room, living, room, den and kitchen, land on tables, and generally have a ball with it. Hooray for KapteinKuk.
tonyestep is offline Find More Posts by tonyestep
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 03:55 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
338 Posts
Just went to the park and flew one battery (10min) with my Quadnid.
This is my second time on the sticks and all went well.
Wind was up a lot more than my first flight.
Auto level on for whole flight. Wind definately blew the craft around.
Reaction to stick inputs was soft, but for a beginner that's ok.
No change to KK2 from first flight except set Throttle Scaling up from 80 to 90.
Throttle was a little more responsive than first flight.

Temp: 64F/18C
Humidity: 26%
Wind Speed: N9/G17 mph
Barometer: 30.23 in (1023.1 mb)
Dewpoint: 28F (-2C)
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 04:18 PM
Registered User
Del-Dredd's Avatar
Near Aberystwyth - Wales
Joined Aug 2004
2,119 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoRaLeSD View Post
Xmmm I must be blind or something cause I really read the FAQ section and couldn't find it, only the Reversing of the Servo I saw. My ESCs have all BECS, would be a problem if 2 of them give power? Sorry for asking something already written. BTW I have seen the New versions of the Kk like 1.4, how Can I know witch one I have and how do I upgrade it? This is said before too?
Must be in manual if not in FAQ, it is written somewhere.

On my Tricopter, I left the red wire from ESC 2 (the one that goes to the KK2) connected but disconnected the red wire from ESC 3.
This had the added benifit that ESC 2 and 3 now run cooler as the BEC's are not fighting.

I think you needed to Tune your Tri with the KK2, maybe it did not like the defaults.
With Flashed ESC's you would need to Raise the P Gains to 100 at least from default 50 or it is very vague in control of movement.
Stick Scaling default is low also and would make for limited movement like very large Expo.

As someone else said hot motors is too big a prop for the cell count, they are pulling to much current, it will end up damaging the magnets and ruining the motors.
The Flight controller would not make much of a difference in this repect so put smaller props on it or use 3 cell batteries.
Del-Dredd is offline Find More Posts by Del-Dredd
Last edited by Del-Dredd; Dec 04, 2012 at 04:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 04:36 PM
Registered User
Italy, Lombardy, Ranica
Joined Nov 2012
16 Posts
my video is ready

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
Looks nice. Can you post a video from the ground showing how it flies?
Hi, my video is ready, quality is so so but I hope you can understand how my quad flies
Many thanks for your attention

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f0k4llvf2f...ion%202012.m4v
Zuluhawk is offline Find More Posts by Zuluhawk
Last edited by Zuluhawk; Dec 04, 2012 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 04:47 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuluhawk View Post
Hi, my video is ready, quality is so so but I hope you can understand how my quad flies
Many thanks for your attention

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f0k4llvf2f...ion%202012.m4v
Link is broken!
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 05:10 PM
Registered User
Italy, Lombardy, Ranica
Joined Nov 2012
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrym View Post
Link is broken!
My I send it by e-mail? Perhaps the Dropbox link has some problem to be opened on a forum
Zuluhawk is offline Find More Posts by Zuluhawk
Reply With Quote