HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 19, 2012, 03:43 PM
Master Prop Buster!
zacker's Avatar
United States, CT, Oxford
Joined Oct 2012
89 Posts
From Subaru4wd

"read this:
http://oddcopter.com/2012/07/24/sett...-quadcopter-x/

M1 = motor 1.
M2 = motor 2.
M3 = motor 3.
M4 = motor 4.

"You can connect up to 8 motors to the KK2 board. Or 4 motors and 2 servo's for gimbal. Or 3 motors and 1 servo for a tricopter. All the data is stored in the KK2 board (as far as motor layout and prop direction).

You only need to read the first post of this thread... not all 7000 replies to it"

Awesome, this is what i was looking for....
zacker is offline Find More Posts by zacker
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:01 PM
I'm back!
RC911's Avatar
Norway, Troms, Tromsų
Joined Aug 2012
630 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stigern View Post
Powering the RX from M5 is that the right way to do it?

On a X quad.

Oh, and when setting Gain a Limit, why are some setting P Gain higher than P limit? Isn't that making P Gain never go over Limit?
Your receiver will get power from the Throttle/Aileron/Elevator/Rudder/AUX connectors. Do NOT connect it to any of the motor outputs!
RC911 is offline Find More Posts by RC911
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2 firmware by RC911
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:08 PM
Registered Addict
Stigern's Avatar
Bodų, Norway
Joined Mar 2007
890 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC911 View Post
Your receiver will get power from the Throttle/Aileron/Elevator/Rudder/AUX connectors. Do NOT connect it to any of the motor outputs!
Oh, I did do that. Guess it's no danger since it's only using 4 motors.
Will remove that cable ASAP.
Stigern is online now Find More Posts by Stigern
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:25 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stigern View Post
Oh, I did do that. Guess it's no danger since it's only using 4 motors.
Will remove that cable ASAP.
It does not matter that you are only using 4 motors. Those M1 - M8 outputs are live once a battery is connected to the board and it's powered up.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:33 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010 View Post
...just wanna share a short video of my minidual....

http://youtu.be/WP8j0OwsnXA
Nice job building yasuo840's dualmotor . But now you are going to have to build his 4 tilt motor quad.

Quad+(Motor 4 and Servo 4) & HK KK2.0 V1.4 flight experiments Vol.44 (7 min 1 sec)
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:51 PM
Registered User
CO2X2010's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Oct 2010
2,463 Posts
4 tilt quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
Nice job building yasuo840's dualmotor . But now you are going to have to build his 4 tilt motor quad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rxGMPcxf3w
I want to build it BUT, I don't think I can.....my yaw system sucks ! I need to come up with something better.
CO2X2010 is offline Find More Posts by CO2X2010
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:56 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
31 Posts
can someone make like tutorial in how to setup the pi gains height dapning, auto level something like that because i want to buy a new frame the talon v2 and i want to put it programing just perfect

P.S. anyone now i many time he need to wait so hobbyking come back online?
dvdt is offline Find More Posts by dvdt
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:11 PM
Registered User
Nexus21214's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Feb 2008
457 Posts
Quick question about kk2.1.2 board

Hi Guys,

Can anyone tell me if the board is in quadcopter configuration but only three of the four esc are connected will the board ARM or do all the esc have to be connected assuming a 4 motor configuration ?

Its just that I am waiting for a new esc to arrive, so only have three at the moment and I cant get the board to ARM.

I guess I could try it in tricopter config to test everything is OK

Any thoughts or info are appreciated

Best Regards
Nex
Nexus21214 is offline Find More Posts by Nexus21214
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:12 PM
Wingbreaker
Italy, Lazio, Albano Laziale
Joined Oct 2008
163 Posts
After checking the PCB I'm convinced that for some reason the YAW input is shorted internally to 5v.

Before throwing the board in the bin, is it there any chance to change the code and use one of the motor output as YAW input?
Can somebody help me to modify the code?

Thanks

Al
asimmetrico is offline Find More Posts by asimmetrico
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:12 PM
Registered User
jonesy40001's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Meadowbrook
Joined Sep 2012
180 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabu32 View Post
my PID settings are a lot higher then yours. im in the 100's. i dont have them on hand but will post them later.
These settings work on my x525 with hobbywing 20 esc's and no name motors that came with it. The quad is "nervous" in the ground effect layer and very stable in normal flight conditions. Even in a strong wind the quad will go where I point it. It holds its attitude very well. I am still learning to fly and am not game to try any areobatic manouvers but I am sure the quad is more than capable. I am not using self level unless the gopro is onboard and I just want to fly slowly whilst filming. It is obvious from all the posts on different setups that there are many variables that affect outcomes other than board settings.
The best advise I can offer with regards setup is "learn how it works" then start tuning, not the other way round.
jonesy40001 is offline Find More Posts by jonesy40001
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:20 PM
MHefny
MHefny's Avatar
Egypt, Al Qahirah, Qism El-Nozha
Joined Sep 2011
345 Posts
My KK2 board gives BAD READINGS for GyroX & GyroY... I tried to measure voltage from pin 3V-GYRO_XY and it was 2.99v however Gyro_Y reads max [1023] and Gyro_X reads min[2]...
should I consider the board dead
MHefny is offline Find More Posts by MHefny
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:21 PM
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Croatia, Osijek-Baranja County, Valpovo
Joined Jul 2011
392 Posts
FPV around 400 years old tree

FPV around Big Platana tree (400 years old) in "Valpovacki Park" (3 min 39 sec)
srepfler is online now Find More Posts by srepfler
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:22 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
338 Posts
Seems there are a lot of newbies so I like to share this.

If you haven't balanced your motors yet here is a how to.
I don't have a smart phone so I did it using my fingers just touching the motor arm.
and moving the tape around. It made a huge difference in the amount of vibration in the airframe. One step further is to install the props and dynamically balance the motor/prop combination.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=_yLRGF5_4XU
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:23 PM
Registered User
jonesy40001's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Meadowbrook
Joined Sep 2012
180 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by helizrnew2me View Post
my kk2.0 flies good on 1.2 FW should i still upgrade to 1.4?
If it aint broke.....dont fix it.
jonesy40001 is offline Find More Posts by jonesy40001
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:32 PM
Unregistered User
cmanley_nl's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
528 Posts
Configurable failsafe behaviour wish

Dear KK,

A few weeks ago I was thinking about how cool it would be to have a configurable failsafe behaviour feature in the KK2 firmware so that users can decide if they want to:
- set a hold period of x seconds
- or set a throttle only hold (or slight increase) period combined with autolevel
- or do nothing (default)

Failsafe can be detected using a free channel or higher or lower than normal throttle range for example.
Failsafe detection can be indicated by a continuous beep.

Having that feature can save your multicopter when flying low (especially over water) or around obstacles (tree trunks, poles, etc).

Unfortunately, a few days ago, it was just this wish that could have saved my tricopter. I was flying over rocks 100m away when I descended just slightly out of LOS. I had a short failsafe of around half a second (motors shut down), after which I regained control but that was long enough to cause my tricopter to fall completely out of LOS and crash on the rocks below.

I hope this is the right place to post KK2 feature wishes.
Thanks
cmanley_nl is offline Find More Posts by cmanley_nl
Reply With Quote