HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:10 AM
Registered User
Poland, Śląskie, Bielsko-Biala
Joined Jan 2012
634 Posts
Yeah, very stable descend on self-level V1.4-1.5

It's crazy how high i can go, i'm almost loosing sight of the quad.

Then just close the throttle slowly and watch it drop stable like rock
shafter is offline Find More Posts by shafter
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:27 AM
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Croatia, Osijek-Baranja County, Valpovo
Joined Jul 2011
372 Posts
First step in modding KK2 firmware.
srepfler is online now Find More Posts by srepfler
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:34 AM
Thread Crapper
JohnVH's Avatar
Lynden, WA
Joined Nov 2000
2,611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by seibernator View Post
Well I finally plucked up the courage and took my tricopter out into the wild. Instead of hovering around the back garden I took it to a field and let it rip.

The KK2 with v1.4 is fantastic to fly and the auto-level feature is a dream to fly with FPV. The tri is based on the RCExplorer design and is used mainly for FPV with a GoPro.

The one thing I noticed when flying which caused a bit of concern, whenever the tri descended quicker than usual it would start to wobble rapidly and the only way to stop it would be to apply more throttle. I have a feeling my I gain is too high which is around 30 at the moment.

Has anyone else had this problem?
The wobble has alot to do with settings, start lowering them to try to help, when I first put my KK2 in it wobbled alot more than my KK2.1, but kept lowering P&I's until it settled down.
JohnVH is online now Find More Posts by JohnVH
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:34 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvbcom View Post
I desolder the capacitor C40 and measured it for you. It is 1 uF.
thank you sir for your information, i owe you for this one sir, your information is so helpful for me GBU sir

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC911 View Post
WOW! I'm really impressed by your helpfulness. Maybe there is hope for mankind after all...

I guess gasuga owe you BIG TIME now. LOL.
I also wanna say thank you mr. RC911, your reply for my question help me so much.

thanks to both of you sir

Regards

Gasuga
gasuga is offline Find More Posts by gasuga
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:59 AM
Stop me before I build again!
United States, NY, Albany
Joined Sep 2012
1,318 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by srepfler View Post
First step in modding KK2 firmware.
In studio 6 you need to comment out the first .include to make it build. I would start with 1.4 since there is a tiny amount code space available as opposed to 1.5 which is virtually maxed out.
brontide is offline Find More Posts by brontide
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:03 AM
Registered User
Upup's Avatar
Ilford,Essex, UK
Joined May 2006
1,850 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Halton View Post
That's a good idea!

Well, I have been flying my IFLY-4 quad a lot recently, and it flies so well, I've been spoilt..
So I thought after a little break I'd get back to my RC Explorer Tricopter and start the process of trying to fly it again.
After flashing the 1.5 FW, and generally messing about with the settings, I thought one step at at time will be best.
I altered only the roll and pitch p gain settings, I knocked it down from 50, in stages, and settled at 25, and I can actually hover it now
My DX7 is set at +50 expo, but am still finding it kinda drifty around the centres when in a hover, so I'm still having to use inputs to hold it, I get it still, but if it starts to drift forward, I have to pull a lot of rear stick to get it level, too much and it scoots off in the other direction, it does this an both ail/elev axis'

My only comparison is the IFLY-4 quad, which is very steady in the hover, just needs minimal stick input to keep level, it's so easy...

Can I get my tri to fly like this? Any other settings you learned fellows can provide me with will be very well appreciated.

I'm feeling pretty excited that it's almost there now, so am motivated to keep tuning.

Thanks,

Matt
Blind leading the blind but if it is is drifting alot try increasing your " I " gain

Jeff
Upup is offline Find More Posts by Upup
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:04 AM
Registered User
srepfler's Avatar
Croatia, Osijek-Baranja County, Valpovo
Joined Jul 2011
372 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brontide View Post
In studio 6 you need to comment out the first .include to make it build. I would start with 1.4 since there is a tiny amount code space available as opposed to 1.5 which is virtually maxed out.
Thanks, never used studio.

Tried avra but could not compile.

Just playing with it.
srepfler is online now Find More Posts by srepfler
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:13 AM
Sweden
tvbcom's Avatar
Sweden, Stockholm County, Djurö
Joined Apr 2012
139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by srepfler View Post
Thanks, never used studio.

Tried avra but could not compile.

Just playing with it.
If problem with studio 6, try studio 4 which I tried and it works OK with KK´s assembly code.
tvbcom is online now Find More Posts by tvbcom
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:25 AM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
333 Posts
Anyone having trouble getting on HK's website today?
Haven't been able to get on it for an hour. Can't get to
support to check my X525 "missing parts" claim either.
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:31 AM
Stop me before I build again!
United States, NY, Albany
Joined Sep 2012
1,318 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrym View Post
Anyone having trouble getting on HK's website today?
Haven't been able to get on it for an hour. Can't get to
support to check my X525 "missing parts" claim either.
Was on it last night and this morning. Got the shipping notice and went to check and all I've gotten is the "something broke" message or incomplete pages. Give it an hour or two.
brontide is offline Find More Posts by brontide
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:35 AM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brontide View Post
Was on it last night and this morning. Got the shipping notice and went to check and all I've gotten is the "something broke" message or incomplete pages. Give it an hour or two.
Ok Thanks!
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:44 AM
Wannabe B-26 pilot!
Matt Halton's Avatar
Southwold, Suffolk, UK.
Joined Nov 2002
4,830 Posts
[QUOTE=Upup;23307927]Blind leading the blind but if it is is drifting alot try increasing your " I " gain

Jeff[/QUOTE

Thanks Jeff

I'll look into increasing them tomorrow to try outside again.
I have activated SL, and now, I can hover the thing in my small living room, in fact I just used a whole 2200 pack in doing so
I can't believe that in all the time I've had this tri, it's actually flying, I've had so many problems with setting up (me not the board) It's great to get to a point where things are moving along

I guess now, it's all down to fine tuning, but what I'd really like someone to tell me, is it possible to have this set up with SL off, and have it hover with minimal stick inputs?

I'd really like to know that please?

Cheers
Matt Halton is offline Find More Posts by Matt Halton
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 01:14 PM
HeliHarry
harrym's Avatar
United States, OK, Tulsa
Joined Dec 2006
333 Posts
Ran into this surfing the forums.
Found 2 KK2 flyers around here.

Where in the world are the KK2's?
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1684893&pp=100
harrym is offline Find More Posts by harrym
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 01:20 PM
Registered Addict
Stigern's Avatar
Bodř, Norway
Joined Mar 2007
810 Posts
my quad isn't oscillating fast, or getting smooth oscillations. It flies for 1-2 seconds, then get a twitch :S Like if there are someone pushing down on one of it's motors...

Increasing P gain and limit, or I gain and limit doesn't do much change

My Setup:

Quote:
Board setup for X525
pitch, roll linked yes
p=65
limit=90
i=35
limit=40
yaw
p=65
limit=50
i=40
limit=35
stick scaling
roll=25
pitch=25
yaw=35
throttle=90
misc
min throttle=10
HD=0
limit=30
self level
p=55
limit=45
all mix edit settings are factory.
Stigern is online now Find More Posts by Stigern
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 01:24 PM
Stop me before I build again!
United States, NY, Albany
Joined Sep 2012
1,318 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stigern View Post
my quad isn't oscillating fast, or getting smooth oscillations. It flies for 1-2 seconds, then get a twitch :S Like if there are someone pushing down on one of it's motors...

Increasing P gain and limit, or I gain and limit doesn't do much change

My Setup:
If it's twitchy it could be vibrations or other problems. Increasing gains and limits is the wrong thing to do, leave them alone or turn them down. Investigate the ESC and motor that is affected, switch the ESC and see if the problem follows the ESC or motor.
brontide is offline Find More Posts by brontide
Reply With Quote