SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 27, 2012, 01:49 AM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2011
949 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru4wd View Post
So today I had a fatal failure, while testing my tricopter at its highest altitude yet. Long story short, I came crashing down and my KK2 board broke free from the body mount. It was mounted using nylon nuts & bolts & the force was enough to break all 4 nylon nuts clean.

Of course the KK2 board no longer works. I get "NOT OK" on all the ACC. I know I'm not the first to have killed one of these boards. Is it hopelessly dead or has anybody been able to revive one of these things?
Get a magnifier and look for broken tracks or loose solder joins near the ACC chip. Using a foam FC mounting pad can help in crashes.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...0pcs_bag_.html
Erknie is offline Find More Posts by Erknie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 27, 2012, 01:51 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan View Post
You could always just fly gyros only
It's tech69x and yea that's the one
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:18 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Mar 2011
341 Posts
I just flashed my ESCs with Simon K firmware and now have the problem that the quad climbs a lot in hover. My P gain is at 45.

Before the flash it was hovering at midstick, now I have to give slightly more throttle. When the board tries to adjust balance, it climbs immediately half a meter or more.

Is the P gain to high in this case? Thought with Simon K I can push it way up.
HolgiB is offline Find More Posts by HolgiB
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:19 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Yes you will have to change your setting
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:23 AM
Ikaruswannab
Joined Sep 2009
984 Posts
Looking for a budget self-leveling fc.
Any advice?

PS
I have a KK2 but can't wait any longer on the self-level issue.
Thank you.
teopbako is offline Find More Posts by teopbako
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:26 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teopbako View Post
Looking for a budget self-leveling fc.
Any advice?

PS
I have a KK2 but can't wait any longer on the self-level issue.
Thank you.
Flash it with this and see what you think
http://web.mit.edu/scolton/www/kk2_1V2_modS2.zip
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:30 AM
Ikaruswannab
Joined Sep 2009
984 Posts
I've seen it but still have questions about it.
It will be confused if rudder is applied while banked right?
Will the same happen if rudder is applied while tilting forward or backward?
I mean can it be used to keep the quad leveled while moving back and forth or it is only for stationary leveling?
Hope i make sense...
teopbako is offline Find More Posts by teopbako
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:33 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teopbako View Post
I've seen it but still have questions about it.
It will be confused if rudder is applied while banked right?
Will the same happen if rudder is applied while tilting forward or backward?
I mean can it be used to keep the quad leveled while moving back and forth or it is only for stationary leveling?
Hope i make sense...
He fix that watch the video that hall studio made a few post back I have been useing it for 4 days now no problems at all
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:44 AM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
Moldova
Joined Jun 2010
1,298 Posts
yesterday I've flashed scolton second mod and it seems to work much better. however made only few tests, not a full flight yet.
schumixmd is online now Find More Posts by schumixmd
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 27, 2012, 02:51 AM
Ikaruswannab
Joined Sep 2009
984 Posts
Just saw the video on his blog and read his article.
Seems to be working better but the article closes like this:
"KK2_1V2_modS2.hex. As usual, try it at your own risk! It's not officially-supported firmware and it still has the yaw coupling problem."
teopbako is offline Find More Posts by teopbako
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 03:14 AM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teopbako View Post
Just saw the video on his blog and read his article.
Seems to be working better but the article closes like this:
"KK2_1V2_modS2.hex. As usual, try it at your own risk! It's not officially-supported firmware and it still has the yaw coupling problem."
Everything is at your own risk
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 03:27 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Mar 2011
341 Posts
I am still on 1.0. Tried to flash last weekend but I was not able to get a connection to the KK2. Would love to flash the scolton mod.

Thought the cable I am using might be defective, but tried to flash an old KK1 with it. That worked immediately and the ISP connector has the identical pinout. I am clueless how to flash it.

Maybe my KK2 has an hardware issue? Or is there any known difficulty with the KK2 which makes it harder to flash?
HolgiB is offline Find More Posts by HolgiB
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 03:35 AM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2011
949 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolgiB View Post
I am still on 1.0. Tried to flash last weekend but I was not able to get a connection to the KK2. Would love to flash the scolton mod.

Thought the cable I am using might be defective, but tried to flash an old KK1 with it. That worked immediately and the ISP connector has the identical pinout. I am clueless how to flash it.

Maybe my KK2 has an hardware issue? Or is there any known difficulty with the KK2 which makes it harder to flash?
Did the LCD light up when you connected the ISCP cable? If it didn't it was probably backwards.
Erknie is offline Find More Posts by Erknie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 03:47 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Mar 2011
341 Posts
Quote:
Did the LCD light up when you connected the ISCP cable? If it didn't it was probably backwards.
Yes, it did light up. I also removed the ESCs and the wires to the RX. But no luck, avrdude (called from Lazy Zero's tool) always complained about a connection issue. The red light from the KK2 flashed briefly every time I attempted a flash, but thats it.

Same configuration (Lazy Zeros Tools, flashing cable and USB ASP) worked immediately after that with a KK1.
HolgiB is offline Find More Posts by HolgiB
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 03:49 AM
Ikaruswannab
Joined Sep 2009
984 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech69x View Post
Everything is at your own risk
I know that.
That is not the reason why i quoted him.
The bold underlined part is that i am concerned about. (still has the yaw coupling problem)
I guess i have to try it and see-report back.
Thank you
Theo
teopbako is offline Find More Posts by teopbako
Reply With Quote