HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:09 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Glad to see someone else has done this I have been useing it for 3 days now no problems my quads fly great
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:14 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru4wd View Post
So i finally got my AVR programmer today and got to update to 1.2 from 1.0. Meh... no biggy. I didn't notice any difference in the flight of my tricopter. I played with the auto-level alittle, but still could not get it to work to my liking.

So after all this reading about the Acc MOD version, and then reading over Shane Coltons blog ( http://scolton.blogspot.com/2012/08/...54705593881085 ) I figured why not... and loaded it up on my KK2.

I just copied his P/I & Autolevel settings from his blog, and WOW ITS FREAKING AMAZING!!! Auto Level that actually AUTO-LEVELS!! Its unreal, almost like playing a video game now. I did experience the issue with my gyro getting stuck and my tricopter wanting to flip over. But this was after an "Emergency Landing" which resulted in some broken landing gear. A quick power cycle on the KK2 solved the issue right away, and i havent had it since.

I just want to thank Shane for bringing the KK2 board to life! Its a whole new machine now
He fixed that try this
http://scolton.blogspot.com/2012/09/...0-modding.html
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:17 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,358 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech69x View Post
Thanks, will do!
AcroFPV is online now Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:23 PM
Registered User
scolton's Avatar
United States, MA, Cambridge
Joined Aug 2012
30 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru4wd View Post
So i finally got my AVR programmer today and got to update to 1.2 from 1.0. Meh... no biggy. I didn't notice any difference in the flight of my tricopter. I played with the auto-level alittle, but still could not get it to work to my liking.

So after all this reading about the Acc MOD version, and then reading over Shane Coltons blog ( http://scolton.blogspot.com/2012/08/...54705593881085 ) I figured why not... and loaded it up on my KK2.

I just copied his P/I & Autolevel settings from his blog, and WOW ITS FREAKING AMAZING!!! Auto Level that actually AUTO-LEVELS!! Its unreal, almost like playing a video game now. I did experience the issue with my gyro getting stuck and my tricopter wanting to flip over. But this was after an "Emergency Landing" which resulted in some broken landing gear. A quick power cycle on the KK2 solved the issue right away, and i havent had it since.

I just want to thank Shane for bringing the KK2 board to life! Its a whole new machine now
Yep, I really like the way the fast auto-level flies. It's as good or better than some other much fancier flight controllers I've tried. Just wanted to reiterate that none of the theoretical work is my own - it's all in the v1.2 source code so KK deserves all the credit. I hope it makes its way into a stable release, maybe with a fix for the fast-yaw-while-tilted problem too...it will be awesome!
scolton is offline Find More Posts by scolton
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:36 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
K-Man Kopter

Here is my son's rebuilt quadcopter made from two DJI Flamewheel bottom plates and alum towel bar rods. Flies very well without the auto level.

K-Man Kopter - The rebuilt DJI frame quadcopter (4 min 51 sec)
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 03:10 AM
Registered User
CO2X2010's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Oct 2010
2,184 Posts
Props

Quote:
Originally Posted by spudandretti View Post
Always been a multiwii type, but I sure love this KK board. Easy to set up and very smooth. Bought three more of the boards when HK got them in and got them today. Very happy with these boards. Makes life simpler.
Amen to that ! What size props you have ? where did your order them ? Thanks!
CO2X2010 is offline Find More Posts by CO2X2010
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Co2x pvc quad 2
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 03:25 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, FR, Harlingen
Joined Apr 2012
9 Posts
I had a problem with my KK2.0 yesterday, after months of fun... It suddenly wanted to tip over to the front al the time, couldn't get it airborne again since.

I then tried the sensor calibration, but it would not complete.
Sensor test function gave me a "not ok" behind the Gyro X line, and if I pressed on one of the two invensense chips, the Gyro X gave a "ok". So I figured out that one of the solder points came loose.
I resoldered al the points, and after that it was again flying like a charm!

I am now waiting for V1.3 with the new autolevel code enabled

Greetings from Holland!
ThaLX is offline Find More Posts by ThaLX
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 05:18 AM
Registered User
Del-Dredd's Avatar
Near Aberystwyth - Wales
Joined Aug 2004
2,116 Posts
Hi Matt

"Matt your rudder servo will not move unless the motors are running, it also needs to be powered, which it should get from Motor 2 or 3 ESC, unless you disconnected the red wire. Don't know if this is another error, but my rudder servo is reacting to stick input even in SAFE mode.
"

That does not sound right at all otherwise the servo would move as you moved the rudder stick to arm it and mine definately does not do that.

Even armed mine does not move unless motors are spinning, I just confirmed that to make sure i remembered right.

Have you flashed the board yet as some have had weird issues with a dodgy flash and a reflash cured it.

I am using the V1.2 firmware by the way although the original V1.0 worked great for me (Flashed ESC's so defaults on that were fine), I upped the V1.2 default settings (for Un-Flashed ESC's) to match those i had used on V1 and it flies just as well.
Del-Dredd is offline Find More Posts by Del-Dredd
Last edited by Del-Dredd; Sep 25, 2012 at 05:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 05:22 AM
Honey,just one more thing
spudandretti's Avatar
Rensselaer,IN
Joined Jan 2003
3,098 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010 View Post
Amen to that ! What size props you have ? where did your order them ? Thanks!
GWS- 9050, bought them from RcDude a long time ago and just bought some more in the for sale thread. Can get them at a lot of places. I like running three blade props on my quads, seems to run smoother for me but that's probably just me.
spudandretti is offline Find More Posts by spudandretti
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 05:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
Here is my son's rebuilt quadcopter made from two DJI Flamewheel bottom plates and alum towel bar rods. Flies very well without the auto level.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mq3XK...ature=youtu.be
Would love to see some pictures of your setup, I've been burning through arms on my HK F450 after going through 5 kits, I've got plenty of plates which are super strong haven't damaged one yet. Would be great to see how you got the alum towel bars mounted and what size they are.

Thanks
Andrew
dopplet is offline Find More Posts by dopplet
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 05:46 AM
Wannabe B-26 pilot!
Matt Halton's Avatar
Southwold, Suffolk, UK.
Joined Nov 2002
4,909 Posts
Hi Del, I will try a reflash today, as clearly something isn't right with the firmware. How can you tell which version is already preloaded? Mine was from the most recent batch of boards as they were on backorder from HK.

Thanks again for your input, I will go ahead and try the FW upgrade.

Matt
Matt Halton is offline Find More Posts by Matt Halton
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 05:53 AM
Registered User
Del-Dredd's Avatar
Near Aberystwyth - Wales
Joined Aug 2004
2,116 Posts
I think that they only come with V1.0 as standard, although you could tell if you scroll down the menu options you have a Motor Calibration entry, that is only on V1.0

It was just a text explanation of process, it was removed for 1.1 and 1.2 to make space in memory.

Hope it fixes your problem.

Are you using Simon K flashed ESC's ? as they will require the raising of the V1.2 default settings which were changed to suit non flashed ESC's.
Get it flying first though then raise them as in Tuning guide in the first post.
Del-Dredd is offline Find More Posts by Del-Dredd
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 06:13 AM
Registered User
onlyifamppowered's Avatar
brisbane
Joined Jul 2005
600 Posts
Has anyone else tried the new 1.2 Shane Colton edition yet ????
After reading his blog ( and I admit not really understanding it all) I am keen to try it but has the flip over problem been sorted?
The videos look amazing. I plan to try in on a big tricopter that I have flying well but just no so great on the autolevel.
Rob
onlyifamppowered is offline Find More Posts by onlyifamppowered
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 06:38 AM
Wannabe B-26 pilot!
Matt Halton's Avatar
Southwold, Suffolk, UK.
Joined Nov 2002
4,909 Posts
I want to make my own cable, but need a decent diagram or pictures in order to set up the wires to their respective positions, does anyone have a link or tutorial for me to do that please?

TIA

Matt
Matt Halton is offline Find More Posts by Matt Halton
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 06:42 AM
Wannabe B-26 pilot!
Matt Halton's Avatar
Southwold, Suffolk, UK.
Joined Nov 2002
4,909 Posts
Quote:
I think that they only come with V1.0 as standard, although you could tell if you scroll down the menu options you have a Motor Calibration entry, that is only on V1.0

It was just a text explanation of process, it was removed for 1.1 and 1.2 to make space in memory.

Hope it fixes your problem.

Are you using Simon K flashed ESC's ? as they will require the raising of the V1.2 default settings which were changed to suit non flashed ESC's.
Get it flying first though then raise them as in Tuning guide in the first post.
Relatively a noob at this Del, so not any of that yet..Just finding a diagram with the correct orientation on the flash cable is what I'm aiming for now, any ideas where I can get this info from?
Matt Halton is offline Find More Posts by Matt Halton
Reply With Quote