SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:18 PM
bobepine's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
7,660 Posts
Oh and, I would assume that flashing Open Aero, which is a non proprietary FW, would void the warranty, no?

Chris
bobepine is online now Find More Posts by bobepine
Site Sponsor
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:18 PM
johnargRC
USA, CA, Cambria
Joined Nov 2006
13 Posts
Thanks, that makes sense.
johnargrc is offline Find More Posts by johnargrc
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:30 PM
Enjoying the sunshine
HappySundays's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Feb 2011
2,944 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobepine View Post
Oh and, I would assume that flashing Open Aero, which is a non proprietary FW, would void the warranty, no?

Chris
Well, you can always flash it back to V2.1.
Come to think of it, if flashing OpenAero2 on it voids warranty, flashing KK V2.1 should void warranty too...
HappySundays is offline Find More Posts by HappySundays
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:36 PM
bobepine's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
7,660 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySundays View Post
Well, you can always flash it back to V2.1.
Come to think of it, if flashing OpenAero2 on it voids warranty, flashing KK V2.1 should void warranty too...
I'm not following you. One is proprietary, I would think, and the other one is a third party FW. Anyways, I'm not even sure it would void the warranty. It might just be like installing an OS on a computer. It doesn't void the warranty.

Chris
bobepine is online now Find More Posts by bobepine
Site Sponsor
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:36 PM
Heli and E-Plane
United States, FL, Ocala
Joined Nov 2010
939 Posts
I just tried to order two more KK2.0 boards from HK and a message pops up that says "only 1 per order".
I already ordered one which is on its way but wanted two more. When did this happen?

Has anyone else encountered this?
jer291113 is offline Find More Posts by jer291113
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:38 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2011
949 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySundays View Post
Well, you can always flash it back to V2.1.
Come to think of it, if flashing OpenAero2 on it voids warranty, flashing KK V2.1 should void warranty too...
It probably the same as updating your BIOS on a PC motherboard, which is a vendor specific grey area.

But if you put it back to KK2 1v1 firmware after testing OpenAero I can't see why there would be a problem, as that firmware is available under the files section of the HK page for the KK2.
Erknie is offline Find More Posts by Erknie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:39 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
If hobby king would put a serial number on the boards they would know what production run they were made
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2012, 11:58 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, Palm Beach
Joined Jan 2011
1,135 Posts
Been trying to flash this thing all night. Despite the fact that I'm giving avrdude the -V switch, it's still verifying. I'm using the avrdude .exe and .conf from the kkmulticopter flash tool 0.63.

Quote:
avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.07s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x000000
avrdude.exe: Yikes! Invalid device signature.
avrdude.exe: Expected signature for ATmega324PA is 1E 95 11
avrdude.exe: NOTE: FLASH memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be performed
To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude.exe: erasing chip
avrdude.exe: reading input file "c:\users\david\downloads\kk2_1v1\kk2_1v1\kk2. hex"
avrdude.exe: writing flash (30186 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 36.74s

avrdude.exe: 30186 bytes of flash written
avrdude.exe: verifying flash memory against c:\users\david\downloads\kk2_1v1\kk2_1v1\kk2.hex:
avrdude.exe: load data flash data from input file c:\users\david\downloads\kk2_1v1\kk2_1v1\kk2.hex:
avrdude.exe: input file c:\users\david\downloads\kk2_1v1\kk2_1v1\kk2.hex contains 30186 bytes
avrdude.exe: reading on-chip flash data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 24.12s

avrdude.exe: verifying ...
avrdude.exe: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000
0x00 != 0x0c
avrdude.exe: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude.exe: safemode: Fuses OK

avrdude.exe done. Thank you.
viper522 is online now Find More Posts by viper522
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 12:07 AM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2011
949 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper522 View Post
Been trying to flash this thing all night. Despite the fact that I'm giving avrdude the -V switch, it's still verifying. I'm using the avrdude .exe and .conf from the kkmulticopter flash tool 0.63.
Is your 6pin cable around the right way?
Erknie is offline Find More Posts by Erknie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 12:09 AM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
SDSURFnGLIDE's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,372 Posts
Finally!!!!

got this board flashed after hours of trying to get all the correct Java and drivers for my usbasp.....hope its worth it!!! at least the next time i wont have to go through all this....
SDSURFnGLIDE is online now Find More Posts by SDSURFnGLIDE
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 12:12 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Palm Beach
Joined Jan 2011
1,135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erknie View Post
Is your 6pin cable around the right way?
Well that's just it, I'm not using a standard AVR programmer. I'm using a Ardruino Uno, a breadboard, some jumpers, couple servo cables...

But I'm pretty sure it's right. The LCD on the FC works fine. I referenced the other pins off the VCC and GND locations.
viper522 is online now Find More Posts by viper522
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 12:21 AM
Registered Aircraft Offender
Truglodite's Avatar
Carmichael, CA
Joined Feb 2007
3,515 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
Just as an FYI, with this new firmware you may see a "No throttle input" error if you are using a spektrum transmitter and an OrangeRX receiver. The error goes away if you power on the transmitter first and then the KK2 board. It has to be the delay in the binding process of the spektrum transmitters.
I'm running an Orange, but I haven't flashed yet. Original firmware would be nice to have, just in case.

Kev
Truglodite is offline Find More Posts by Truglodite
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 12:22 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper522 View Post
Well that's just it, I'm not using a standard AVR programmer. I'm using a Ardruino Uno, a breadboard, some jumpers, couple servo cables...

But I'm pretty sure it's right. The LCD on the FC works fine. I referenced the other pins off the VCC and GND locations.
it just might be worth a try and download the .hex file again, it could have been corrupted somewhere along the way.
Rotorhead0207 is offline Find More Posts by Rotorhead0207
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 12:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2007
46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySundays View Post
Hmmm as I mentioned before, just trying to flash my software instead of the KK2 2.1 software would immediately solve the issue of whether it's a software "bug" or not. If the LCD stays blank after trying OpenAero2, then it's a hardware issue. Back to HobbyKing. Done.
I wish that suggestion had come in a few hours before I gave up and sent it back to HK ....
gkovachi is offline Find More Posts by gkovachi
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 12:26 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Palm Beach
Joined Jan 2011
1,135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotorhead0207 View Post
it just might be worth a try and download the .hex file again, it could have been corrupted somewhere along the way.
Tried that, as well as OpenAero2.hex - fails at the same point with the same error.
viper522 is online now Find More Posts by viper522
Reply With Quote