HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 18, 2012, 01:54 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
Question
Down and Right Thrust on non-angled firewall

With a firewall set square to the fuselage for both side and top views, how does one use washers to set in down and right thrust.

Two washers at top of motor mount would provide down
Remove those and putting
Two washers on the left side would provide right thrust

How do you install right "and" down thrust using washers.
Having a different # of washers in all corners (say 3 in top left, 2 in top right and bottom left and 1 opposite the top left) would direct the nose of the motor down and to the right, but not really provide the same thrust angle as a purpose built firewall. Is that correct or do they both accomplish the same thing.ll
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 18, 2012, 04:17 PM
United States, MD, Elkton
Joined Oct 2011
8,401 Posts
Answer # 2 is the Winnah ! " lemme tell you how I do it."!.......
I stand the fuse vertically,on it's tail,supported of course.....then I take 4 'loose' bolts,and install from the rear of the mount,but on TOP of the firewall,not through it.With a nut on each bolt,it's easy to "adjust" the down and right thrust.

Measure from the firewall to each corner of the mount,and fill the spaces with the proper amount of washers to be added when the engine is bolted in place permanently.One corner will always need only one washer.....

If a band saw is available,cutting a hardwood wedge is my preference over washers......doesn't matter though.....washers is good.
epoxyearl is offline Find More Posts by epoxyearl
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Water Sports
Old Jun 18, 2012, 04:23 PM
The Prez....... again
United States, IA, Rockwell
Joined Jul 2011
3,892 Posts
Right and or down thrust, is right or down thrust. It doesn't matter how you get there.

Ken