HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 17, 2012, 12:50 PM
Joined Dec 2010
36 Posts
Help!
Extreme thrust angle on pusher

Just finished my first scratchbuild and proved to myself I'm still a noob.After reading many conflicting opinions decided to mount my motor with prop pointing up.This plane was originally intended to be an edf pusher so prop clearance wasn't an issue before.When assembling I realized I had to mount my motor at an extreme angle(16 degrees or so), in order to get prop clearance.When doing static pitch tests it pushed the nose down pretty hard at half throttle so I added the T-tail section with negative incidence hoping to give me a little downforce on the tail.This is my first scratchbuild so I was just wondering if anyone has any similar builds or experiences.Most commercial pushers have the prop pointing up a bit it's just that I had no choice but to mount the motor at this angle because of the tail boom.I could lessen the angle but that would mean raising the motor pod,and everything is glued already and not adjustable I followed the formulas on adamone rc and used CG calculators so Im pretty sure she"ll fly.I just don't want to nose in on maiden.Will she fly?Any thoughts,suggestions,or opinions are greatly appreciated
nomadic80 is offline Find More Posts by nomadic80
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 17, 2012, 02:42 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,805 Posts
Fit a smaller prop ?

You shouldn't try to compensate for the thrust angle with aerodynamic changes, what happens when the motor stops ?

Please video the first attempt to fly it.
eflightray is offline Find More Posts by eflightray
Old Jun 17, 2012, 03:30 PM
Rookie Hopeful
Massillon, Ohio
Joined Sep 2007
116 Posts
Thrust Angle

I have the Mutiplex Easy Star that has a similar rear mounted pusher stye motor mount. Measured the Easy Star and The down thrust angle is approximately 20 degrees and I spin the APCe 6 x 5.5 prop with a 3s 2300 mah lipo.