HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 17, 2012, 02:07 AM
Joined Jun 2012
14 Posts
Help!
Need some help getting my HoryzonHD -> ImmersionRC -> Fatshark FPV setup working

Hi,

I've read various FAQs and tutorials and as far as I can tell I'm doing everything right, but I can't seem to get my FPV setup working at all. This is my first time trying to set up a FPV rig.

The transmitter setup (on my VC-450 quad) is a HoryzonHD camera hooked to an ImmersionRC IRC5.8-600MW 5.8GHz 600mW Transmitter via the mini-USB to MOLEX cable. I thnk the camera is working because it records video fine and the tiny blue light comes on when the USB cable is plugged in. I think the transmitter is working, at least it gets warm quickly when I power it up. Yes, the supplied antenna is attached. The transmitter is set to channel 1 (all dips ON).

The receiver is a FatShark Dominator with a the FatShark 5.8 GHz receiver & powered by the endurance pack battery. And the supplied antenna is attached.

All of this stuff is brand new, so I assume the components work.

I power up my quad & turn on the camera. Since the USB is plugged in the LCD remains off but the tiny blue LED comes on instead. Then I power up the fatsharks and click thru the channels, but only get static.... Well, one channel I do get two black horizontal lines on the static. (??)

This is probably a n00b or RTFM problem, but I've gone over everything many times and as far as I can tell it should work. Some guesses on what might be wrong:

1. is this USB -> MOLEX cable that came with the HoryzonHD camera wired correctly?
2. is the transmitter actually set to the right channel?
3. is the FatShark 5.8 receiver compatible with the ImmersionRC 5.8 transmitter? (I read on a few forums that it was)

Bottom line, is there any way to component test the system? I need some way to at least start narrowing it down.

At this point, I'm beginning it's the transmitter.

Any help would be very greatly appreciated!!