SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 16, 2012, 11:17 AM
Registered Lurker
Nethole's Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
2,611 Posts
Discussion
which, DJT or DFT to use with turnigy 9x?

I'm having trouble figuring out which one can be used with the turnigy 9x
Nethole is offline Find More Posts by Nethole
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 16, 2012, 12:27 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,508 Posts
DJT.
DFT is Futaba standard, need an adapter to make it work in a 9X.
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2012, 04:11 PM
Registered User
ripmax's Avatar
uk. northampton
Joined May 2009
1,006 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nethole View Post
I'm having trouble figuring out which one can be used with the turnigy 9x
Hey, did you see the prop adaptor pictures I took time to post for you?
ripmax is offline Find More Posts by ripmax
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2012, 05:57 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
17,005 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nethole View Post
I'm having trouble figuring out which one can be used with the turnigy 9x
The 9x has JR form factor module slot so requires DJT.
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 01:53 PM
Registered User
Barcelona, Spain
Joined May 2010
149 Posts
Hi, I want to use a FrSky TX with both an Hitec Aurora 9 and a 9X.
If I buy one of those (either DFT or DJT), will it be possible to use it on the other radio?

Also, if a mod needs to be done, is it just a matter of pinout connections?

Thanks
flipy is offline Find More Posts by flipy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 04:47 PM
"Unnecessary Necessity"
coriolan's Avatar
Canada, QC, Quebec City
Joined Sep 2006
5,917 Posts
The 9X uses a JR type module socket so it can be used with the FrSky DJT directly or also uses the DFT with an adapter:
http://www.flytron.com/openlrs/123-f...e-adapter.html
The Hitec A9 has a Futaba/Hitec module opening but more pins than the normal Futaba/Hitec modules so the regular DFT module needs to be modified!
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ht=hitec+modul
coriolan is offline Find More Posts by coriolan
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 04:52 PM
Registered User
Barcelona, Spain
Joined May 2010
149 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by coriolan View Post
The 9X uses a JR type module socket so it can be used with the FrSky DJT directly or also uses the DFT with an adapter:
http://www.flytron.com/openlrs/123-f...e-adapter.html
The Hitec A9 has a Futaba/Hitec module opening but more pins than the normal Futaba/Hitec modules so the regular DFT module needs to be modified!
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ht=hitec+modul
It is possible to make a custom cable to plug the TX to the radio?

I'm planning on hooking it up with velcro to the back side of the radio and be able to switch if needed.
My only concern if anything else has to be done to the module/radio in order to get it working.
flipy is offline Find More Posts by flipy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2012, 07:20 PM
"Unnecessary Necessity"
coriolan's Avatar
Canada, QC, Quebec City
Joined Sep 2006
5,917 Posts
It is possible to do so with a cable between module and Tx socket but a bit risky as the pin order isn't the same for JR and Futaba/Hitec(regarding V+ and ground). Much safer to use the trainer port to feed the ppm to the module, but in the case of Aurora9 & 9X the trainer socket only provide ppm&ground so you would need a mean to power the module(kind of like the Anylink system).
coriolan is offline Find More Posts by coriolan
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2012, 09:59 AM
Registered User
Estonia
Joined Jul 2011
53 Posts
HK combo offer for JR module + Telemetry RX is good option.
Just TX module is more expensive.
FPVking is online now Find More Posts by FPVking
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2012, 05:31 AM
Registered User
Barcelona, Spain
Joined May 2010
149 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by coriolan View Post
It is possible to do so with a cable between module and Tx socket but a bit risky as the pin order isn't the same for JR and Futaba/Hitec(regarding V+ and ground). Much safer to use the trainer port to feed the ppm to the module, but in the case of Aurora9 & 9X the trainer socket only provide ppm&ground so you would need a mean to power the module(kind of like the Anylink system).
Is the PPM output the same on both modules?
Apart from the PINs, may be the signal inverted or something like that?
flipy is offline Find More Posts by flipy
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 06:12 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,508 Posts
Today modules are universal, autodetects PPM logic
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can the Turnigy 9x with FrSky DIY kit be used with simulator genrlst Radios 2 May 23, 2012 02:19 PM
Discussion Can you use the Turnigy 9x for simulator or buddy box? RPTheLefty Electric Plane Talk 3 Feb 09, 2012 07:44 AM
For Sale Turnigy 9x with Smartieparts board and LCD, Frsky DJT/DHT-U Spare Smartieparts board daign Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Nov 27, 2011 09:20 PM
Help! Help with my new Turnigy 9x/DJT/D8RSP/DHU setup for my quadcopter: daign Radios 0 Aug 05, 2011 03:33 PM