HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 13, 2012, 06:53 PM
Because gas is for BBQ's
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Feb 2011
729 Posts
Help!
How will i know when i'm getting close to my video systems range?

I'm a relative newb to FPV and really enjoying the buzz of pushing out a bit further each time i go out.

I am experiencing some static / snowing every now and again and i occasionally get full screen static that lasts for maybe a second at most (i think this is mainly due to antenna placement which i'm working on) but generally the picture is very clear.

My main concern is i have no idea on what to expect when i am getting close to my video systems range. I have no idea if it will just drop out or if i will have fair warning. Will the image get grainy and slowly deteriorate or will i just get more regular static which suddenly drops out completely?

Any footage clips or explanations of what is typical would be appreciated.

If it helps i'm running 5.8Ghz, 600mw immersionrc vtx, 5800duo, with a SPW on one rx and 'will' be running a 5 turn helical on the other rx when i start pushing out further.
nogas is offline Find More Posts by nogas
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 13, 2012, 07:36 PM
BEOWULF
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,070 Posts
When you circle around and gain alt.

Move your antenna for video rx

Fly into the wind so you can find video range but still feel comfortable if video lost as wind will bring you back into video range

Loss of complete video is video range, reason to fly higher and do circles
David22 is offline Find More Posts by David22
Old Jun 13, 2012, 07:49 PM
Because gas is for BBQ's
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Feb 2011
729 Posts
Thanks David, that sounds like good advise for when i want to test my range but i'm more looking for details on how my video will look when its getting close to range.

Obviously when i lose visual then i am 'out of range' but i'd rather know the warning signs before it gets to that.