HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 13, 2012, 11:01 AM
Central B.C.
Joined May 2008
72 Posts
Discussion
HELP for a newbie

For several years now I have had a desire to build a model tugboat. I wanted something fairly large, 30 to 40 inches, simple to build with common materials.
I am interested in stand off scale. A more detailed scale subject may follow. I have some modelling experience, having dabbled with model aircraft the last 30 years.
I have aquired several plans, but each seems to either lack in one area or another(in my opinion), or is too complex.
I know nothing about the propulsion system, batteries etc that I may need or the actual building of the boat for that matter, although I am not "electrically challenged".
I suppose the question I have is can someone recommend a fairly simple project in terms of construction and drive requiremnets that would address the needs of a rank beginer? Possibly a kit?
Thanks in advance.
bear57 is offline Find More Posts by bear57
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 13, 2012, 11:20 AM
Woodfumbler......
Copenhagen. Denmark
Joined Apr 2010
1,195 Posts
It is simple look at MACK he got your kit and advice, and you can call him. http://www.mackproductsrc.com/ scale boats page 1 The question is then if you want to build the hull of wood or get one of those ABS hull and structure boats, it's up to you. If you want another Dumas http://www.dumasproducts.com/index.php?cPath=136 (not on his homepage) he can get it for you. i got this on the shelf from MACK (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1558895)

Anyway its your choice, and fun to come...

Best of luck and be certain you can get ALL the advice you going to need here...
Sharky1dk is online now Find More Posts by Sharky1dk
Old Jun 13, 2012, 11:48 AM
Veni, Vidi, Feci
Motor City
Joined Dec 2004
12,261 Posts
I always recommend for beginners: Build a kit first to get an idea of what's going on... then try scratch builds...