HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 08, 2012, 04:08 PM
Needs more bacon!
Dolby's Avatar
United States, WI, Milwaukee
Joined Jan 2011
980 Posts
/agree, putting the ESC's under the motors works very well. I've been doing it for awhile now and have hundreds of flights this way on heavy lifters. You also see DJI doing it with their S800, and other RTF manufactures as well.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyboone View Post
Nah, I've been doing this a long time. The ESC's work great in this position and they getting cooling air from the props, although they don't need it in this setup. It's perfectly fine to extend the battery leads. At one point all the motor factories were saying not to extend the motor leads because of timing issues. Most multi engine airplanes recommend to extend the battery leads and leave the controllers close to the motors. It all seems to work just fine so long as the leads aren't 20ft long and the wire is big enough to handle the loads. I haven't seen any interference from the power leads running through the tubes either. I've built a lot of copters in my day and haven't had a single issue from this.

Jason Cole
Dolby is online now Find More Posts by Dolby
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2012, 04:19 PM
RCG Staff Member
Jason Cole's Avatar
United States, TN, Nashville
Joined Oct 2003
4,454 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pal72 View Post
Flyboone, What gimbal are you using?
Cinestar 3 axis.
Jason Cole is online now Find More Posts by Jason Cole
Administrator
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 05:46 PM
Registered User
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Aug 2000
7,350 Posts
Hi Jason,

Nice belt-drive gimbal! You and PJ look like twins with your Octos!

I look forward to seeing some cool promos from your new camera perspective!

Regards.
Greg Covey is offline Find More Posts by Greg Covey
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 09:20 PM
Mosquito 6
Joined Jun 2012
483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
BE CAREFULL

I had a few good flights with my MT 4008's and then it crashed again and again...

the simonk firmware does not play well with these large disk motors.

here is a test you can do to see if you will be effected.

take a prop off and hook the esc to a separate receiver, then jam your throtle up and down really quick... make fast crazy motions with the throttle stick... if it makes a strange noise, squeels, or stops completely then DO NOT FLY anymore!

There is a firmware that is wiiesc you can flash instead but it has issues too..

PM me and I'd love to discuss this with you over skype

Steve
There is a raft of vids showing these MT4008's cogging and stalling .. did you ever get that sorted out .. I don't "do" skype What ESC did you end up with, or did you givem' up .. you wouldn't be the first There was a guy dumping 8 in the classifieds a while back.
TayNinh68 is offline Find More Posts by TayNinh68
Last edited by TayNinh68; Nov 08, 2012 at 10:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 10:19 PM
Mosquito 6
Joined Jun 2012
483 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas4275 View Post

I do know the real one is very stiff and has very good vibration isolation.
Yeah .. that's what she said .. lol

Ahhh ..OK .. I see now. So if I replace the rubber suspension bushings with steel ones, and weld up the shocks on my Jag, I'll get better vibration isolation? Awesome man. But, how do I weld up my shocks?

Tongue in cheek guys .. surely I have enjoyed and been enlightened with this thread. But using a material second only to steel to transmit every possible vibration to a central structure that is hanging a camera beneath, and then working diligently to reduce those vibrations with heroic use of rubber or whatever .. the logic escapes me .. really.

Take a ball peen hammer and strike the end of a steel bar, and then a wooden dowel .. even aluminum is deader than steel. But back on topic, it's interesting all the discourse regarding price and quality between the "Real" and the clone. If it's made of CF .. it's still gonna telegraph everything to the core, and the thicker walled CF tubes probably do it better. One of my favorite pilots uses a Cinestar professionally .. his work is awesome .. he does a lot of video at 60fps.

http://www.multirotorforums.com/show...hat-you-filmed

Certainly I'm glad the clones are available and affordable .. gets more folks into the hobby, or vocation. Barring material costs, these kits are cheaper than beans to replicate, and if you loose or crash one .. a lot less painful with a clone. As for the Viagra-Octos .. I'll probably build with wood (no pun intended), but then I'll be hanging a 20X zoom (ptz) under mine, so vibrations really will matter

Wishing us all Success
TayNinh68 is offline Find More Posts by TayNinh68
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 02:59 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,025 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TayNinh68 View Post
<snip> If it's made of CF .. it's still gonna telegraph everything to the core, and the thicker walled CF tubes probably do it better. <snip>
It's not about isolating vibrations, but preventing them from occurring in the first place.
If your copter arms are flexible your motors have room to move and you get all sorts of self oscillation and resonance vibrations from the propellers during flight. By having a very rigid frame, the propellers have to move the mass of the entire copter to vibrate, effectively killing the vibration at the source.
jab is offline Find More Posts by jab
Last edited by jab; Nov 09, 2012 at 06:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 06:28 AM
Registered User
Reginak's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
404 Posts
Jab,

And do you think your octo frame is like that? Rigid without arm oscillation? Since you was the first one I know that put this frame on air, I want to know. But the question goes to Flyboone to since his octo is fully loaded.
Reginak is offline Find More Posts by Reginak
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 07:32 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,025 Posts
I get very little vibration from my "fake" yes. During hover my YS-X6 autopilot is saying 2-3 shake and short spikes of 4 during max power climb outs, which is pretty much nothing.
jab is offline Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 10:40 AM
Registered User
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Jan 2006
816 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyboone View Post
Cinestar 3 axis.
Nice work, Jason........I like it!!!! Ohhhhhhhhh.......Yeahhhhhhhhhhh!!!

It's OCTO-MANIA for sure!!!

We (the AMP'D Man & me) started testing with 12 x 4.5 CF props and 2 x 5S 5000mAh packs
and got @ a 7min. flight and used only 2650mAh from the 10,000 total. That's real good with
a monster 48" dia. 12lb. (no camera) Octo.

That Cinestar is a great gimbal, but with the WKM on 8 motors, what FC are you using to for
the 3-axis control and what camera are you going to be using? Also, did you use copper tape
to shield against EMI, are you using the upgraded WKM compass head and did you correct for
the magnetic declination in your area?
Papajeff is offline Find More Posts by Papajeff
Last edited by Papajeff; Aug 06, 2013 at 09:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 12:02 PM
RCG Staff Member
Jason Cole's Avatar
United States, TN, Nashville
Joined Oct 2003
4,454 Posts
Hey Jeff,
Glad yours is coming along as well. I'm using the Hoverfly Gimbal Controller and have it setup with it's own transmitter for two man operations. No need for copper tape and I have one of the new GPS/Compass units now from DJI. I've got a gig next Sunday so I'm working hard to pull it all together. I'll be shooting with 5D's and 7D's mostly.
Jason Cole is online now Find More Posts by Jason Cole
Administrator
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 06:43 PM
Registered User
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Jan 2006
816 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyboone View Post
Hey Jeff,
Glad yours is coming along as well. I'm using the Hoverfly Gimbal Controller and have it setup with it's own transmitter for two man operations. No need for copper tape and I have one of the new GPS/Compass units now from DJI. I've got a gig next Sunday so I'm working hard to pull it all together. I'll be shooting with 5D's and 7D's mostly.

All right, Brother! Be sure that someone is there to take some candid photos of you and your Octo as you
shoot your project. I would love to see some of those shots! Ohhhhhhhhh............Yeahhhhhhhhhh!

I'm pleased to hear that you got your WKM compass head upgraded so you don't have that headache to worry
about. Some copper foil tape can't hurt under your center plate where you have your IMU, PMU, MC & compass head.

Nice that you are using the 5 & 7, but I hear that some AP Pros are lovin the GH2 and the NEX5 mirrorless. Just a few
more questions; what version of WKM firmware are you using, what downlink are you using, what's you flying weight
and are you using goggles or a base station?

Inquiring minds want to know!
Papajeff is offline Find More Posts by Papajeff
Last edited by Papajeff; Nov 09, 2012 at 06:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 10:43 PM
RCG Staff Member
Jason Cole's Avatar
United States, TN, Nashville
Joined Oct 2003
4,454 Posts
I have a NEX5N and it's pretty awesome. Most pro level clients want better even if better is only in their mind. I'm considering the new Sony A99 as the video quality will be better, and you can shoot 60fps and it's lighter than the 5D/7D cameras.

I'm running 5.14 wkm firmware. Using a Yellow Jacket 5.8Ghz and receiver to a 13" monitor. Goggles are terrible for filming with. They only work great if you are solely flying forward. Most goggle fpv is just for fun. Filming requires flying side to side forward and backward and you can't do that with a pair of goggles on. I use the screen so the camera guy can line up the shot and give me a frame of reference while I fly. Haven't weighed it yet, but it's considerably lighter than the 30+lb Skyjib 8 we tuned today. It's running Axi 4120's and 6S 22000mAH. It's a beast and a half! That weight doesn't even include the FS100 and Epic Red cameras they are going to use. Fun stuff...

Jason
Jason Cole is online now Find More Posts by Jason Cole
Administrator
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
124 Posts
Could someone tell me if the standard Turnigy Plush 30A will work with the Hi Model 490KV or do they need to be flashed?
ThomB is offline Find More Posts by ThomB
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 06:22 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,904 Posts
they will be fine with most non flashed esc's, mine were simonk flashed.

apparently simon has solved this issue now but I can't comment as I sold those motors.

Steve

Quote:
Originally Posted by TayNinh68 View Post
There is a raft of vids showing these MT4008's cogging and stalling .. did you ever get that sorted out .. I don't "do" skype What ESC did you end up with, or did you givem' up .. you wouldn't be the first There was a guy dumping 8 in the classifieds a while back.
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:02 AM
ToucanWings.fr
LucioleMC30's Avatar
France, IdF, Paris
Joined Jan 2008
139 Posts
A bit off-topic but some of you asked me about my gimbal, I got this one from Flying-copter.com ,very pleased with it, all made of 1st grade carbon, foldable, can carry a 5D easily, very fast correction on both axis, it's hand made & assembled in France and costs half the price of a lower quality AV-200.. To be seen here: http://www.flying-copter.com/en/came.../3-monroe.html
They also sell a smaller one to fit Panasonic GH2 and Nex cameras: http://www.flying-copter.com/en/came...ck-2-axes.html
LucioleMC30 is offline Find More Posts by LucioleMC30
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Newbie dreaming...600mm spider quad frame at GoodLuckBuy Jonathan Ott Multirotor Talk 109 Jan 16, 2013 09:17 AM
New Product New inertia camera frame from Goodluckbuy kaz1104 Multirotor Talk 18 Aug 18, 2012 03:35 PM
Discussion Goodluckbuy ST450 Frame flitelab Multirotor Talk 12 Mar 17, 2012 07:09 PM
Discussion Another site like Goodluckbuy, Eforchina DJI450 frame half price bakchos Multirotor Talk 38 Mar 10, 2012 08:21 AM
Discussion Opinions on the <$50 quad frames from GoodLuckBuy? Dax Multirotor Talk 23 Jan 26, 2012 02:43 PM