HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 11, 2012, 04:49 AM
Arrarrar!
josh18's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Wagga Wagga
Joined Jan 2010
3,410 Posts
Question
Jr dsx9 and fr sky module.

Hey, my dad just bought a JR DSX9 second hand, which we were planning to fit a fr-sky module to. On further inspection we realised that even though ther is a spot for a module it is not a module based radio, eg there are no pins. Further research says that it is a "pure 2.4 ghz" radio. Does this mean there is no PPM signal, which the fr sky module needs to work? I ask this because he has fitted the fr sky system and it will bind but nothing else. I know on the 9x/9303 you can select between PPM and PCM- can you still do this on the DSX9 or is he stuck with spectrum/ orange recievers?
Thanks
Josh
josh18 is offline Find More Posts by josh18
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 11, 2012, 10:40 AM
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
USA, AK, Houston
Joined Aug 2005
789 Posts
Have it updated to dsmx and enjoy. Have it updated to DSMX and you have probably the best RF link available given the frequency hopping, high output power, low latency, and multiple receivers on high end RXs. If you want cheap RX's you can still use cheap Chinese RX's from hobby king, not to mention the radio still works with all of the great bind and fly stuff coming out of horizon.
akschu is online now Find More Posts by akschu
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 03:29 PM
Arrarrar!
josh18's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Wagga Wagga
Joined Jan 2010
3,410 Posts
Thanks mate, but Fr sky is both cheap AND good. We are just dissapointed that we bought the wrong radio
josh18 is offline Find More Posts by josh18
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 05:53 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,539 Posts
It can be converted to FrSky using the DIY module and tapping into PPM that is generated for the trainer port. You can even have the best of both worlds by keeping the DSM2 module and setting up to switch between the two. This would require two antennas.

To do this you'll have to do some homework and have decent soldering and related skills, but it shouldn't be too difficult. Not sure if you can find exactly the right conversion, but there should be enough info around

In searching for info on how to do it, don't limit yourself to FrSky, as FlyDream and Corona install in essentially the same way. Similarly, your transmitter is essentially the same as the X9303 (the earlier XP9303 is the one with plug-in module).
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 06:26 PM
Arrarrar!
josh18's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Wagga Wagga
Joined Jan 2010
3,410 Posts
Thanks a lot for that, thats the way we are heading. We will give it a go
Do you know if when tapping the ppm from the trainer port, do you ave to run the transmitter in trainer mode?
Thanks
josh18 is offline Find More Posts by josh18
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 08:46 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,539 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by josh18 View Post
Thanks a lot for that, thats the way we are heading. We will give it a go
Do you know if when tapping the ppm from the trainer port, do you have to run the transmitter in trainer mode?
Thanks
Probably. That means with the switch off and a plug in the trainer port.

One way to do a "non-destructive" conversion is to copy the AnyLink setup. That simply mounts a module on the back of the transmitter and plugs into the trainer jack for PPM and the charge jack for power. I have one and it works fine with my DX7. No reason it shouldn't with my X9303. Of course the transmitter switch must be OFF for this to work. And you have to remember to unplug the outboard module when not in use or you run the battery down. But it's eminently practical, fairly easy to do (take a look at the stuff on AnyLink and figure out how to fit an FrSky DHT into a small box with antenna suitably located) and its totally reversible.

Did you see this thread?

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1641084
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2012, 08:38 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,710 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by josh18 View Post
Thanks a lot for that, thats the way we are heading. We will give it a go
Do you know if when tapping the ppm from the trainer port, do you ave to run the transmitter in trainer mode?
Thanks
Hi. I'm part way through converting a DSX9 II to FrSky
I have some info which may help you.

First this radio only seems to activate full PPM in Trainer mode
Yes. you can see the PPM stream in Normal Mode, BUT it does not change with Stick inputs.

To enable Full PPM control Mode
Cut the print or remove R33

This Tricks the radio into Trainer Mode, and normal PPM output
Without having to plug a Trainer cable in.

Next I cut the Print to the "Power Switch" Top Left Contact, pcb side ( this removes Power from the DSM2 module)

I now have a normally operating On/Off Tx switch with Full PPM available.
No need to plug a Trainer plug in.

The remaining conversion should now be straightforward
similar to the other Tx's I have done.

I'll post results later, when it's finished

For Ref. only to show R33 location
ignore the other wires (thanks to the other thread for the photo).
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Last edited by Reflex1; Aug 22, 2012 at 01:05 AM. Reason: info added
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2012, 10:15 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,710 Posts
All done and tested, working fine
Got to say, it's been the hardest conversion so far !
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 09:53 PM
Registered User
Guanaba QLD Australia
Joined Jun 2009
107 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex1 View Post
Hi. I'm part way through converting a DSX9 II to FrSky
I have some info which may help you.

First this radio only seems to activate full PPM in Trainer mode
Yes. you can see the PPM stream in Normal Mode, BUT it does not change with Stick inputs.

To enable Full PPM control Mode
Cut the print or remove R33

This Tricks the radio into Trainer Mode, and normal PPM output
Without having to plug a Trainer cable in.

Next I cut the Print to the "Power Switch" Top Left Contact, pcb side ( this removes Power from the DSM2 module)

I now have a normally operating On/Off Tx switch with Full PPM available.
No need to plug a Trainer plug in.

The remaining conversion should now be straightforward
similar to the other Tx's I have done.

I'll post results later, when it's finished

For Ref.
R33 location
Thanks for your post on this (#7), seems that your about the only person who has done one of these conversions on the DSX9. I have a DSX9v2 which I'm looking to do the same conversion and just wanted to clarify the wiring shown in this post, as it seems you have some other cables also connected.
I take it that the larger Red is pos + to Frsky module, brown is neg - and the orange is ppm to module? I notice in post #8 you are showing pos + to frsky module from the back of the switch??
Would apprieciate if you could clarify.
Thanks
David.
davidwp56 is offline Find More Posts by davidwp56
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 01:01 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,710 Posts
Hi. David sorry for the confusion
I was having problems with my camera and used a pic. from the other thread
for showing the location of R33, ignore the other wires shown in that pic.

Frsky +ve connects to the Switch
Frsky PPM connects to the wire on Pin 4 Cn8

Note. You MUST remove R33 or cut the track between R33 and the Trainer socket to enable a modulated PPM signal.

I have returned this Tx to it's owner, so unable to get better photo's now
I added more info to this pic.
hope it's a help

Paul
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 03:03 AM
born again slope junkie
dingb's Avatar
warrnambool vic australia
Joined Sep 2009
757 Posts
haveing also just purchased a DSX9 , to upgrade to DSMX , do i need to send to importer or can this be done remotely

dave
dingb is offline Find More Posts by dingb
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 03:10 AM
Registered User
Guanaba QLD Australia
Joined Jun 2009
107 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex1 View Post
Hi. David sorry for the confusion
I was having problems with my camera and used a pic. from the other thread
for showing the location of R33, ignore the other wires shown in that pic.

Frsky +ve connects to the Switch
Frsky PPM connects to the wire on Pin 4 Cn8

Note. You MUST remove R33 or cut the track between R33 and the Trainer socket to enable a modulated PPM signal.

I have returned this Tx to it's owner, so unable to get better photo's now
I added more info to this pic.
hope it's a help

Paul
Thanks Paul,
Just a couple of further questions! do you leave the white cable connected to pin 4 and just strip back the cable and connect/solder the ppm from Frsky module to it?
Thanks again
David.
davidwp56 is offline Find More Posts by davidwp56
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 04:29 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,710 Posts
David. I left the wire connected
I traced it to the Tx rear PCB and removed it there
to go direct to the rear mounted Frsky unit.

but either way will work

p.s. did you notice, I used the original JR 2.4 antenna ?
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 04:58 AM
Registered User
Guanaba QLD Australia
Joined Jun 2009
107 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex1 View Post
David. I left the wire connected
I traced it to the Tx rear PCB and removed it there
to go direct to the rear mounted Frsky unit.

but either way will work

p.s. did you notice, I used the original JR 2.4 antenna ?
OK, so you actually disconnect it from the rear pcb where ever and run straight to the Frsky module ppm.
No did not notice the antenna, operated all ok ??

David.
davidwp56 is offline Find More Posts by davidwp56
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2012, 05:06 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,710 Posts
Yes. it's working fine

btw. it's easy tracing the wire

Paul
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Multiplex FR module Rain Maker Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 31, 2012 09:42 PM
Discussion Jr dsx9 v2 fgollie Radios 5 Feb 11, 2012 06:59 AM
Discussion JR dsx9 v2 - pitch curve jjjjdup Radios 0 Feb 09, 2012 03:46 AM
Sold JR DSX9 MK2 with RD921 3d astronaut Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Dec 04, 2011 02:09 PM
Discussion FR Sky receivers cfergie Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 2 Nov 09, 2011 01:22 PM