HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Phospherus, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jun 06, 2012, 07:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
133 Posts
Trader Rating: 1
Sold
APM 1280 with mag - GPS - and 900mhz XBEE

SOLD to wingspinner.


Selling a complete APM setup 1280. Ill throw int he mounting system its mounted in the pictures.

Asking 150.00 shipped. U.S. shipping preferred but will ship International at buyers expense.

Things I am looking for. Xaircraft 650V or Bumble Bee Quad frame.

Adjusted price.
Phospherus is online now Find More Posts by Phospherus
Last edited by Phospherus; Jun 07, 2012 at 03:45 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 06, 2012, 09:31 PM
Registered User
KiTCyclic's Avatar
Joined Jan 2004
257 Posts
Trader Rating: 26
What is the difference between this and the APM2.0 with GPS on riser? Is it the xbee?
KiTCyclic is offline Find More Posts by KiTCyclic
Old Jun 06, 2012, 09:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
133 Posts
Trader Rating: 1
APM 2.0 as far as I know has 2560 instead of 1280 diffrent sensors and is all integrated instead of separate shields. The Xbee is not included with APM it is an addon for all of the APMs.
Phospherus is online now Find More Posts by Phospherus
Old Jun 06, 2012, 09:55 PM
Registered User
KiTCyclic's Avatar
Joined Jan 2004
257 Posts
Trader Rating: 26
Cool, thank you for the info. I was considering an APM but still researching.
KiTCyclic is offline Find More Posts by KiTCyclic
Old Jun 07, 2012, 01:23 AM
Registered User
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Jun 2009
488 Posts
Trader Rating: 1
A couple of questions...
1) Is the Xbee included a set - i.e. airbourne module at in photos and also the ground module?
2) would you consider seperating the parts? In which case I could also be interested in the GPS.
Willing to list prices on these parts?
cheers,
Matt
pheonix3 is offline Find More Posts by pheonix3
Old Jun 07, 2012, 01:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
133 Posts
Trader Rating: 1
Yes the usb adapter board xbee is included sorry no picture of it. Its just a sparkfun usb adapter board with another identical xbee as pictured. I do not want to split this up sorry.
Phospherus is online now Find More Posts by Phospherus
Old Jun 07, 2012, 02:15 AM
Registered User
United States
Joined Dec 2010
221 Posts
Trader Rating: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiTCyclic View Post
What is the difference between this and the APM2.0 with GPS on riser? Is it the xbee?
APM2.0 is a cost, feature, and size reduction of the APM1.0. It uses all digital sensors whereas the APM1.0 uses analog gyros (that many claim are better than the digital ones). APM1.0 is a bit larger than APM2.0 but it actually has more capability. Both are still current and still for sale. It's really a matter of what you plan to do. For instance, the APM2.0 has the GPS and the magnetometer built in but in may applications you need to mount these remotely which you can't do with APM2.0. There are also a lot more I/O's on APM1.0. However, APM2.0 costs a bit less and can be all you need for a basic multicopter.

There are two versions of APM1.0. The latest and still in production use the ATMega2560 CPU which has 256kb of Flash whereas older (and no longer in production versions have the ATMega1280 which only has 128kb of Flash. Unfortunately, the Ardupilot software has required more than 128kb for about the last year and cannot be run on a 1280 version of APM1.0. On the otherhand, APM1.0 1280 will run mutliWii and AeroQuad (and others) just fine. Just won't run modern versions of ArduPilot.

Hope this helps. $150 is a good price because the shield along goes for that price!

Cheers,

Wingspinner
wingspinner is offline Find More Posts by wingspinner
Old Jun 07, 2012, 02:17 AM
Registered User
United States
Joined Dec 2010
221 Posts
Trader Rating: 10
I'll take it! PM sent.
wingspinner is offline Find More Posts by wingspinner
Old Jun 07, 2012, 07:05 AM
Registered User
KiTCyclic's Avatar
Joined Jan 2004
257 Posts
Trader Rating: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingspinner View Post
I'll take it! PM sent.
Thanks for the thorough intro, but then you bought it! Guess I will pre-order me a 2.0. 2 to 4 weeks out, is there anywhere else to get those because diydrones?

But this is the 1280 which is discontinued?
KiTCyclic is offline Find More Posts by KiTCyclic
Old Jun 07, 2012, 07:09 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,763 Posts
Trader Rating: 24
Pretty sure wingspinner should be capable of swapping the processor for 2560 if he wanted to.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Old Jun 07, 2012, 07:18 AM
Registered User
KiTCyclic's Avatar
Joined Jan 2004
257 Posts
Trader Rating: 26
Didn't realize the two chips were swappable in those boards.
KiTCyclic is offline Find More Posts by KiTCyclic
Old Jun 07, 2012, 07:30 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,763 Posts
Trader Rating: 24
Just like mega644 and mega1284 were pin compatible, I think so is 1280->2560. I dunno if there any other changes though, I don't follow 8bit land much
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale APM 1 1280 + 2.4ghz xbee telementry up for sale! manvsuav Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 6 Jun 18, 2012 12:52 AM
Sold Ardupilot MEGA with IMU, GPS, MAG and more evo585 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 6 May 29, 2012 10:18 PM
Sold Arduino Mega 1280 with MediaTek GPS spbalaj Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 4 Apr 29, 2012 11:18 PM
Question Quadricopter with UDB4+GPS+Xbee Entropia666 UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 1 Feb 22, 2012 05:14 PM
Sold DIYDrones Ardupilot Mega 1280 with OilPan, Magnetometer, MediaTek 10Hz GPS kevinv033 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Jan 23, 2012 12:46 PM