HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:10 PM
FPV Racer - N4FPV
Eddie James's Avatar
United States, GA, Kennesaw
Joined Sep 2009
858 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustymit View Post
You're lucky it did RTH and not land on someone Sunbathing in their rear yard!!!
Nothing like sunbathing on a thick foggy day!!!!
Eddie James is offline Find More Posts by Eddie James
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: CavCam, Inc.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:29 PM
7AC
Registered User
7AC's Avatar
Central Indiana
Joined Oct 2006
393 Posts
Wobble Gone!

TJ, Kallend...you guys are fantastic!! I tried going up to 140/140etc first and things were essentially the same as in the vid. So I acted on Kallend's statement about his 450...I went to 70/70/70/70 and 50/50. No more wobble! A little more skittish in manual and a little left drift in atti, but rock solid in gps. I would like a bit more response to stick inputs in atti, so I increase the atti gain, correct? I have RC Timer 28/30 750kv motors and GemFan 10/4.5 props. Thanks again for both of your advice.
7AC is offline Find More Posts by 7AC
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:37 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,885 Posts
Gains

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7AC View Post
TJ, Kallend...you guys are fantastic!! I tried going up to 140/140etc first and things were essentially the same as in the vid. So I acted on Kallend's statement about his 450...I went to 70/70/70/70 and 50/50. No more wobble! A little more skittish in manual and a little left drift in atti, but rock solid in gps. I would like a bit more response to stick inputs in atti, so I increase the atti gain, correct? I have RC Timer 28/30 750kv motors and GemFan 10/4.5 props. Thanks again for both of your advice.
Glad we helped.
And Kallend was right about non-stock equipment.
My intent was to get you to a benchmark and start making gains adjustments from there.
Looks like going waaaaaay down was the answer...
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Dec 31, 2012 at 03:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:19 PM
Flying R/C since 1964
kallend's Avatar
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Sep 2004
3,506 Posts
OK, here's an observation:

It's pretty bloody cold here in Illinois in December, so I did my compass calibration on the deck close to my house. This was also before I added the LED lights. Everything was fine, although I did notice a very slight tendency to yaw on some headings.

It occurred to me today that a fairly large cast iron drainpipe runs under the deck, so I took the quad way out into the back yard away from underground pipes and cables, turned on the lights and recalibrated. Also took all my keys etc, out of my pockets as the manual suggests (always RTFM). Result - no hint of yawing or any other aberration now.

I expect I'll have to do it again when I fit the GoPro.
kallend is offline Find More Posts by kallend
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Using a DX9 to "strobe" LED...
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:46 PM
7AC
Registered User
7AC's Avatar
Central Indiana
Joined Oct 2006
393 Posts
Refining my settings

kallend, what are your autopilot settings? I am getting a vvveeerrrryyy slow yawing to the right. in atti mode. Do I add some rudder trim on the tx or do I need to set something in "Assistant" I also did my calibration on the deck, but I don't know of any large ferrous sources nearby. I think the septic has tile running to it.
7AC is offline Find More Posts by 7AC
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 06:51 PM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
9,776 Posts
Whenever possible go to a large field without powerlines nearby. Yes remove your keys, cell phone etc. Whenever you go someplace new palce to fly or change your equipment, the location of existing equipment or your software, do a new calibration. Some guys calibrate before they do their first flight of the day every time they fly.
Tahoe Ed is online now Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:28 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,885 Posts
Naked Calibration

Quote:
Originally Posted by kallend View Post
OK, here's an observation:

It's pretty bloody cold here in Illinois in December, so I did my compass calibration on the deck close to my house. This was also before I added the LED lights. Everything was fine, although I did notice a very slight tendency to yaw on some headings.

It occurred to me today that a fairly large cast iron drainpipe runs under the deck, so I took the quad way out into the back yard away from underground pipes and cables, turned on the lights and recalibrated. Also took all my keys etc, out of my pockets as the manual suggests (always RTFM). Result - no hint of yawing or any other aberration now.

I expect I'll have to do it again when I fit the GoPro.
Way back we got to joking about removing everything from your pockets, taking off your belt, wrist watch, and glasses, cellphone, & moving away from cars, etc. when doing a compass calibration.
I've always done as much as I can to remove all influences.
I think Goldsworthy commented that we should just strip down competely to be sure...
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Dec 31, 2012 at 10:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:38 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,885 Posts
No Trims

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7AC View Post
kallend, what are your autopilot settings? I am getting a vvveeerrrryyy slow yawing to the right. in atti mode. Do I add some rudder trim on the tx or do I need to set something in "Assistant" I also did my calibration on the deck, but I don't know of any large ferrous sources nearby. I think the septic has tile running to it.
Excuse me, kallend, if I step on your requested response.
7AC, Naza does not like you to use trims.
There's a good bit posted about why, so I won't reiterate.
Try increasing your yaw gain a little.
See if that helps.

BTW, what happens in GPS mode?
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:39 PM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
9,776 Posts
If I take off my belt, my pants fall down.

I don't do that. I don't want to blind anyone.
Tahoe Ed is online now Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:11 PM
Flying R/C since 1964
kallend's Avatar
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Sep 2004
3,506 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
If I take off my belt, my pants fall down.

I don't do that. I don't want to blind anyone.
How do you manage with TSA at the airport?
kallend is offline Find More Posts by kallend
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Using a DX9 to "strobe" LED...
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:25 PM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
9,776 Posts
I am not holding a quad or a hexa at the time. My son was playing charades once and while imitating a tornado had a wardrobe malfunction. Very embarrassing. He was not a child, but an adult.
Tahoe Ed is online now Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 11:07 AM
Registered User
san antonio, texas
Joined Mar 2002
1,942 Posts
Aurora 9

I just purchased an Aurora 9 xmitter. Anyone know how many channel rx will be needed to operate the gains remotely in addition to the gps function? Thanks in advance.
skypup is online now Find More Posts by skypup
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 12:46 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,885 Posts
7 Channels

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypup View Post
I just purchased an Aurora 9 xmitter. Anyone know how many channel rx will be needed to operate the gains remotely in addition to the gps function? Thanks in advance.
Seven channels fills Naza up...
If you use IOC, gains adjustment and remote camera pitch adjustment will have to share X1....
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 01, 2013, 12:50 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,885 Posts
Happy New Year!

I look forward to sharing Naza adventures in 2013!
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 01, 2013, 01:45 PM
Registered User
EndOfDays's Avatar
Austria, Niederösterr., Eggenburg
Joined Jan 2010
1,420 Posts
Hello,

short video of my new Naza quad maiden today:

Naza Quad Maiden (4 min 2 sec)


Motors: Tiger 650KV
Props: foxtech 14x7
ESCs: hobbywing quattro 20A
AUW: 1300gr
Battery: 4S5800 (for this flight, 4400mAh recharged)
Flighttime to be determined, this flight was 30min.

best regards

Ferdinand
EndOfDays is offline Find More Posts by EndOfDays
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 04:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 04:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 08:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Hoverfly Technologies 13 Jan 01, 2012 01:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Hoverfly Technologies 0 Oct 04, 2011 05:01 PM