SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 20, 2012, 10:12 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,709 Posts
You Have To Calibrate

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredouille View Post
1.You have indicated that you have adjusted the GPS module and calibrated the compass.
-> calibrated with I was at 0.. I can't enter anymore the calibration mode.. looks like a lot of people have the samer issue
2.You said you were okay in Atti mode.
-> yep
3. I have asked you to mount Naza more firmly.
-> I can't to anything, the plates can't be more firmly fixed in my configuration
4.You said that GPS starts out okay and then you get a slow circle. This is where you need to be more specific. If this is not slow, and drifting in a circle fast, you still have TBE, and need to try a little more than 7 degrees on your GPS Module declination.
-> it is starting very slow to drift on the left, then backward, right, forwared then it begins to turn faster
I can try more than 7 yes, still I'm not sure about the exact 7 setup, it is hard at 1 precision to adjust
5. A small amount of drift can be corrected with a gain increase. That's what I thought we were trying.
-> ok, then I will try
6. Leave your gains for now at:
130/130/130/130
120/120
7. Is GPS Module on the stalk mount? You may need more compass declination due to magnetic interference.
-> yes..
8. Don't forget to calibrate the compass after each change.
-> this is a problem.. still I know 1 guy which install a lot of naza and never calibrate !!
When testing GPS, be ready to switch back to Atti the minute you see you are losing control, and be about 3m high over grass...
-> of course I do like this..
I will try tomorrow I think with more gain first
You did not tell me that you have not calibrated the compass for your 7 degrees offset, only at 0 degrees.
This is probably why you are getting TBE.
How did you calibrate at 0 degrees?
Why can't you calibrate now?
Do you have a mode switch set up that gives you Manual and GPS modes?
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Aug 20, 2012 at 10:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 20, 2012, 10:22 AM
Registered User
Estonie, Tallinn
Joined Nov 2010
72 Posts
I think I know why I can't, initially on my fmode switch I didn't not touched anything and it worked. now I change the travadj because in the software the gps and manual positions arrives in failsafe area... I should try again

I calibrated first time as it should be done, entering calibration mode

I will try again to put old setting on the radio to look about calibration mode

to answer last question of course I have a switch I use the helico fmode swtich 3 positions. manual, atti, gps...it works in flight
fredouille is offline Find More Posts by fredouille
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 10:29 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,709 Posts
Flight Modes

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredouille View Post
I think I know why I can't, initially on my fmode switch I didn't not touched anything and it worked. now I change the travadj because in the software the gps and manual positions arrives in failsafe area... I should try again

I calibrated first time as it should be done, entering calibration mode

I will try again to put old setting on the radio to look about calibration mode

to answer last question of course I have a switch I use the helico fmode swtich 3 positions. manual, atti, gps...it works in flight
I know you have a FM switch (you said you are flying in GPS and Atti).
The FM switch question was about Manual and GPS being available on a switch so that you could calibrate.
If your switch only gives you GPS and Atti, you won't be able to calibrate.
Without calibration, the 7 degree offset is not recorded, and TBE is the result.
Get this straightened out before you do anything else.
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: If You Don't See It Here...
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 10:38 AM
Registered User
Estonie, Tallinn
Joined Nov 2010
72 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
I know you have a FM switch (you said you are flying in GPS and Atti).
The FM switch question was about Manual and GPS being available on a switch so that you could calibrate.
If your switch only gives you GPS and Atti, you won't be able to calibrate.
Without calibration, the 7 degree offset is not recorded, and TBE is the result.
Get this straightened out before you do anything else.
yes I know that I need manual and gps.. I have

I changed tradvadj... I got 2 times this mode to calibrate, was hard to enter.
I noticed I need all sattelites in green to be able to enter, after it is a question of travadj, at what speed to switch 10 times to enter calibration mode ?

by the way how to you explain that return to home works fine ?
fredouille is offline Find More Posts by fredouille
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 11:02 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,709 Posts
Rtl

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredouille View Post
yes I know that I need manual and gps.. I have

I changed tradvadj... I got 2 times this mode to calibrate, was hard to enter.
I noticed I need all sattelites in green to be able to enter, after it is a question of travadj, at what speed to switch 10 times to enter calibration mode ?

by the way how to you explain that return to home works fine ?
I can't.
And you were lucky trying it with an uncalibrated compass.
Moving around with a multirotor is actually easier than hovering.
You just have to have the reflexes and eye/hand coordination to maintian control.
Perhaps it's that way with Naza too.
Staying in one place requires more precise inputs.
Movement masks those inputs somewhat.
As far as how to switch on calibration...
10 times at more than 1/sec ending in Manual seems to do it.
Also, you might want to read the Gouge (link at first of this thread).
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Aug 20, 2012 at 11:33 AM. Reason: Added comment & switching speed
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 12:38 PM
Registered User
Estonie, Tallinn
Joined Nov 2010
72 Posts
And you were lucky trying it with an uncalibrated compass.
-> a lot of people are doing this but as I said they are in region with 0 difference
Moving around with a multirotor is actually easier than hovering.
You just have to have the reflexes and eye/hand coordination to maintian control.
Perhaps it's that way with Naza too.
Staying in one place requires more precise inputs.
Movement masks those inputs somewhat.
As far as how to switch on calibration...
10 times at more than 1/sec ending in Manual seems to do it.
-> I will try
Also, you might want to read the Gouge (link at first of this thread).
-> Yes I got this document, dispite the magnetic declination I got all setuped correctly before
fredouille is offline Find More Posts by fredouille
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 12:46 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,709 Posts
Declination

"And you were lucky trying it with an uncalibrated compass.
-> a lot of people are doing this but as I said they are in region with 0 difference"

Where I live/fly there is supposed to be 0 degrees declination.
I saw TBE from the first flight and started rotating the GPS Module.
Mine is on the front of the top plate (not on stalk) and subject to some interference from ESC's & battery.
I ended up at 25 degrees CCW to get no TBE or drift.
Gains:
150/150/150/150
100/100
These setups are never exactly the same, so other individual's setups only get you in range, not dead-on.
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: If You Don't See It Here...
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 12:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2007
2 Posts
Gps calibration mode challanges - Resolved!

I tried too get int gps calibration mode using a dx7s and a R710 orange receiver no luck at all. I worked on this almost a week trying every suggestion I could google. Yesterday Iinstalled a spectrum 8000 receiver and it worked the first time. I hope this will help somebody else!

Any idea why the reason is?
hawhoo is offline Find More Posts by hawhoo
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 12:55 PM
Registered User
Estonie, Tallinn
Joined Nov 2010
72 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawhoo View Post
I tried too get int gps calibration mode using a dx7s and a R710 orange receiver no luck at all. I worked on this almost a week trying every suggestion I could google. Yesterday Iinstalled a spectrum 8000 receiver and it worked the first time. I hope this will help somebody else!

Any idea why the reason is?
I think it is a mater of time where you stay on gps mode in the switching and how the radio convert it in reality ...
fredouille is offline Find More Posts by fredouille
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 01:08 PM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Brasil, CE, Fortaleza
Joined Jun 2011
1,100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawhoo View Post
I tried too get int gps calibration mode using a dx7s and a R710 orange receiver no luck at all. I worked on this almost a week trying every suggestion I could google. Yesterday Iinstalled a spectrum 8000 receiver and it worked the first time. I hope this will help somebody else!

Any idea why the reason is?
I use a DX7 with no problem, the point is that you have to reach GPS and then Manual more then 8 times to get into calibration mode. In my DX7 I use a couple of switches, I have my 3 way on GPS,Failsafe,Alti and then I flip aux2 and then on the same switch I have Alti,Failsafe,Manual. Just go into the calibration setup on your computer and dial your trins.

Mauro
mauromassari is offline Find More Posts by mauromassari
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 01:11 PM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,151 Posts
what i did to get into calibration is put the 3way switch from GPS to ATTI to Manual and assign another switch to the Failsafe simulation.

when i was going from GPS to ATTI to Failsafe it would not enter calibration mode, after i made the change it went in immediatly.
bakchos is online now Find More Posts by bakchos
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 01:12 PM
Don't drink and fly
Exploding Fist's Avatar
Joined May 2012
646 Posts
Every time I hear about the "Gouge" I picture someone poking my eyes out
Exploding Fist is offline Find More Posts by Exploding Fist
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 01:18 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,709 Posts
Manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
what i did to get into calibration is put the 3way switch from GPS to ATTI to Manual and assign another switch to the Failsafe simulation.

when i was going from GPS to ATTI to Failsafe it would not enter calibration mode, after i made the change it went in immediatly.
I don't fly much in Manual.
When I do, I plan to do it.
I don't want to accidentally switch to Manual when I'm intending to do something else.
I have GPS/Manual on a mix to my FM switch which is normally inhibited...
T J Gilbert is offline Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: If You Don't See It Here...
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 01:24 PM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,151 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
I don't fly much in Manual.
When I do, I plan to do it.
I don't want to accidentally switch to Manual when I'm intending to do something else.
I have GPS/Manual on a mix to my FM switch which is normally inhibited...
i can redo the mix on my switch really easy to get back to GPS - ATTi - Failsafe, no problem.
bakchos is online now Find More Posts by bakchos
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 04:19 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2008
657 Posts
See im not the only one with this issue.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1683264
markeydoo is offline Find More Posts by markeydoo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 04:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 04:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 08:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Hoverfly Technologies 13 Jan 01, 2012 01:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Hoverfly Technologies 0 Oct 04, 2011 05:01 PM