SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 09, 2012, 01:24 PM
Registered User
signal7's Avatar
USA, VA, Merrifield
Joined Jun 2008
233 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
This would only allow you to trigger the naza failsafe when still having control of craft. THIS WILL NOT give you a true failsafe incase of signal loss!
Yes, its important to understand that being able to trigger failsafe manually does not mean it will be triggered when signal is lost. The only way to do that is by configuring your receiver for proper failsafe on signal loss.
signal7 is offline Find More Posts by signal7
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 09, 2012, 02:58 PM
Registered User
North Sweden
Joined Jun 2007
596 Posts
Getting my 2 GPS units any day. Are those units bound to a specific Naza unit or can i move the gps around my different Naza setups ?
cyberdog is offline Find More Posts by cyberdog
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 03:08 PM
Registered User
Slovak Republic
Joined May 2004
105 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcollydas View Post
Hitec Aurora 9 also.
The discussion was about DSM2 stuff. There are two FSs - preset FS (bind plug out after LED started to blink) and smart FS (bind plug all the time inside RX during binding) there. Only AR7000+ (RD721, RD921, RD1221,,,)

JR PROPO XG6, XG8, XG11 all have the normal FS like in FM SPCM/APCM era - you set the FS type for each channel using the transmitter to set it during the FS state to the preset or to the hold state.
elektromodely is offline Find More Posts by elektromodely
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 03:53 PM
Registered User
gww528's Avatar
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Mar 2008
840 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by actionplus View Post
A quick question as this IOC is new to me.
How does the quad actually know if I am trying to back up or wanting it to change the direction for the front on the quad.

The IOC setup is in the Naza Manual version 2
gww528 is offline Find More Posts by gww528
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 04:20 PM
Ham Call Sign: KK4KGJ
Buzz Bomb's Avatar
United States, GA, Stone Mountain
Joined May 2006
2,255 Posts
Got my GPS installed. Thanks Atlanta Hobby and USPS for super fast delivery.

It took me about 30 minutes total to get it mounted ,measured, and calibrated.

Just in case anyone is curious about the mast height, I used -11cm(Z) as the distance from the Naza(MC) to the center of the GPS. I mounted my mast using the screws on the right rear arm. This is to the rear right of the F450.

I used -3cm for X and 3cm for Y. This is with the NAZA sitting dead middle of the bottom plate.

But don't take my word for it MEASURE yours.

To be honest the first time I flew it, I wasn't sure it was working. It just sat there about 15 feet up with no stick inputs.

So I got the leaf blower out! Oh yeah it works! I could only get the quad to move about a foot in any 1 direction. That's with my leaf blower running full throttle.

I'm very happy with mine! Great job DJI!
Buzz Bomb is offline Find More Posts by Buzz Bomb
Last edited by Buzz Bomb; Jun 09, 2012 at 09:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 04:33 PM
Hairy Hampster.
Australia, VIC, Barwon Heads
Joined Apr 2012
146 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzz Bomb View Post
Got my GPS installed. Thanks Atlanta Hobby and USPS for super fast delivery.

It took me about 30 minutes total to get it mounted ,measured, and calibrated.

Just in case anyone is curious about the mast height, I used 11cm(Z) as the distance from the Naza(MC) to the center of the GPS. I mounted my mast using the screws on the right rear arm. This is to the rear right of the F450.

I used -3cm for X and 3cm for Y. This is with the NAZA sitting dead middle of the bottom plate.

But don't take my word for it MEASURE yours.

To be honest the first time I flew it, I wasn't sure it was working. It just sat there about 15 feet up with no stick inputs.

So I got the leaf blower out! Oh yeah it works! I could only get the quad to move about a foot in any 1 direction. That's with my leaf blower running full throttle.

I'm very happy with mine! Great job DJI!
Leaf blower and quad going at the same time I`m amazed the EPA wasn`t called
philg31 is offline Find More Posts by philg31
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 05:32 PM
Ham Call Sign: KK4KGJ
Buzz Bomb's Avatar
United States, GA, Stone Mountain
Joined May 2006
2,255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by philg31 View Post
Leaf blower and quad going at the same time I`m amazed the EPA wasn`t called
I'm sure my neighbors think I'm crazy. Look at that guy trying to blow down his helicopter thingy.
Buzz Bomb is offline Find More Posts by Buzz Bomb
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 05:35 PM
Hairy Hampster.
Australia, VIC, Barwon Heads
Joined Apr 2012
146 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzz Bomb View Post
I'm sure my neighbors think I'm crazy. Look at that guy trying to blow down his helicopter thingy.
lol,nice mate,probably true though
philg31 is offline Find More Posts by philg31
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 05:41 PM
Registered User
bcollydas's Avatar
Canada, QC, Laval
Joined Apr 2008
1,211 Posts
Quote:
The discussion was about DSM2 stuff.
So what I thought I'll put my two cents. Is there a problem with that?

cheers
bcollydas is offline Find More Posts by bcollydas
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 05:43 PM
Ham Call Sign: KK4KGJ
Buzz Bomb's Avatar
United States, GA, Stone Mountain
Joined May 2006
2,255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by philg31 View Post
lol,nice mate,probably true though
I just tell them I was testing the GPS algorithms and drift radius of my multi-copter using a dynamic wind source. I then proceed to tell them that this is restricted air space and get off my property.

That sounds about right, but I don't know what any of it means!
Buzz Bomb is offline Find More Posts by Buzz Bomb
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 05:45 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Soquel
Joined May 2011
179 Posts
What kind of gains are people running on the f450.I cant seem to get mine to hole as solid as others seem to be.I did get the IOC to work both home lock and course lock.RTH didnt seem to work for me though.I blame the setup more than the equipment.When I first entered the offsets I entered mm instead of CM (oops only slightly off).
sparkyincali is online now Find More Posts by sparkyincali
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 06:10 PM
Registered User
gww528's Avatar
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Mar 2008
840 Posts
Why are there two failsafe positions. Will it work if just one is set?
gww528 is offline Find More Posts by gww528
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 06:12 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,943 Posts
you can use a mix, endpoints or pitch curve to go to either.... both are the same.... just makes it easier to us a mix to setup failsafe
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 06:15 PM
Registered User
Australia, ACT, Canberra
Joined Apr 2011
104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkyincali View Post
What kind of gains are people running on the f450.I cant seem to get mine to hole as solid as others seem to be.I did get the IOC to work both home lock and course lock.RTH didnt seem to work for me though.I blame the setup more than the equipment.When I first entered the offsets I entered mm instead of CM (oops only slightly off).
Pitch 190, Roll 200, Yaw 140 and Vertical 220. I'm still tweaking a bit....
3S 5800 LiPo
Flying weight 1541g


Video is raw 720 @ 60fps

Tour of CMAC.MP4 (4 min 43 sec)
Yammysho is online now Find More Posts by Yammysho
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2012, 06:56 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,390 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gww528 View Post
Why are there two failsafe positions. Will it work if just one is set?
I'm pretty sure that it is just dead space inbetween the endpoints of the switch.

since you are using a 3position switch now,
instead of a two position switch,
there are two dead spots instead of 1.


So, they should be the same,
in that "a failsafe position is a failsafe position".
If they had different functionalities, then they should be labeled as such.

-Mike
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 04:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 04:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 08:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Hoverfly Technologies 13 Jan 01, 2012 01:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Hoverfly Technologies 0 Oct 04, 2011 05:01 PM