HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 06, 2012, 06:19 PM
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Mar 2010
823 Posts
Build Log
Embraer ERJ-145 build

This will be a build log of an ERJ-145. I decided to build one if my Brasilia was mildly successful. I have yet to fly the emb-120 but I was fairly happy with the way it turned out and I learned a lot from building it. After the EMB-120, I knew I would have to build an ERJ-145 as it is the plane I fly for a living.

I am super excited to complete this build and hopefully add an ERJ to my hanger. I am late to start posting this, just have been really busy lately, but I started this project in late February.

Working hard.... or hardly working?
jdlilfan is online now Find More Posts by jdlilfan
Last edited by jdlilfan; Jun 06, 2012 at 06:52 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 06, 2012, 06:31 PM
Joined Mar 2010
823 Posts
I started by adapting a 3 view to the size of a 70mm fan unit. I wanted the aircraft to have plenty of power in case it gained a little more weight than planned (as most builds tend to do). 64mm can sometimes seem anemic and I wanted a bigger model.

After laying out the 3 views and blowing them up on blockposter.com, I set about cutting out the profile of the fuselage onto dollar tree foam. I left the paper on, as paper-less seems to be a bit more brittle and harder to make clean cuts.

I then glued all three poster sections together and then layed across one larger carbon fiber tube and a square dowel the length of the fuselage. I then tacked the dowels down with hot glue so they would stay in place and tight. Then I applied gorilla glue to the dowels and foam joints.