HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 05, 2012, 12:51 PM
Joined Aug 2004
135 Posts
Discussion
how much wing damage is too much damage ?? :-)

Just flew my Beast 3d for the first time (I've flown a 40 size trainer for a couple of years, so I'm not a complete noob, and spent some time on the sim first).

Nice take off, did some nice circuits around the park. 3 minutes into my 4 minute first flight I think I pulled up too sharp, not enough throttle, it dived to the ground from about 12 feet up I didn't recover in time and pranged it into the grass. One of the wings has split across it's width about 3/4 of the way, about half inch from the body. Is this repairable with some tape or would it not be strong enough? Time to replace the bottom wing?

Thanks!
khooke is offline Find More Posts by khooke
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 05, 2012, 12:57 PM
Balsa builder and balsa basher
Joined Apr 2012
683 Posts
sorry i might be able to help if you've got a pic ?
RC Trainer plane is offline Find More Posts by RC Trainer plane
Old Jun 05, 2012, 01:21 PM
Joined Aug 2004
135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Trainer plane View Post
sorry i might be able to help if you've got a pic ?
Here you go - see the crack, well more of a rip, goes from one side to about half way across.
Old Jun 05, 2012, 01:28 PM
Joined Apr 2012
683 Posts
i think i might be able to help. get some tooth pics about five and place them into one of the broken pieces of the wing. Then take the glue which you use for the foam that it's made out of and seal the two broken pieces together. Then take some see through packing tape and cover it over (it won't look too bad). try it you never know
Old Jun 05, 2012, 01:37 PM
Joined Aug 2004
135 Posts