HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 04, 2012, 09:24 AM
Registered User
man1024's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
364 Posts
Help!
What could be a problem?

Just replaced all motors on my quad from no name 1000KV, to NTM 28-26 1200KV (5mm hub). quad flies shaky on stiff 10x4.5 props, however REALLY smooth on cheap flexy 8x4.5 (5mm hub). tried different 10x4.5 or 10x6 HK props, all balanced well, and works well on prior motors. What do you think the problem?
Im using MultiWii board (with 2.0).
man1024 is offline Find More Posts by man1024
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 04, 2012, 10:20 AM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
try balancing your motors... one might have a bell that is WAY off
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2012, 08:34 AM
Registered User
man1024's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
364 Posts
ok. I will try. Thanks.

I tried to FPV with 8'' last evening, with NO GOOD results, it's really hard to controll my quad (I'm carrynig SONY HD handycam camera, with around 380g). I have to tune my quad for 10 inch props. rrrrrrrr.......
man1024 is offline Find More Posts by man1024
Last edited by man1024; Jun 06, 2012 at 08:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2012, 08:56 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,123 Posts
1200kv motors with 10" props is not a great match in my view, too high kv for larger props. 8" is probably the max on those motors. Not really sure why so many people use those motors beyond Juz uses them but he flies very agressively on a fairly light FPV setup with 8" props I believe.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2012, 09:03 AM
Registered User
man1024's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
364 Posts
Juz also used 10'' props and has no problem.
man1024 is offline Find More Posts by man1024
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2012, 09:08 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by man1024 View Post
Juz also used 10'' props and has no problem.
Ok thought he was mainly using 8". Still seems too high a kv to me however.
Could just be a prop or motor balance issue then you are noticing on the larger props.

One thing you cna mayeb try is the following in the Multiwii config.h and then reload your firmware:
#define ITG3200_LPF_42HZ

You can try a higher value first as well and see if it helps get rid of any oscillations.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2012, 09:45 AM
Registered User
man1024's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
364 Posts
Thanks. I'm going to do all these things tonight.

Balance motors
Check/rebalance 10'' props
add anti-vibration pad between motor and frame (I used them with my old motors)

test

if still some issues, will #define ITG3200_LPF_42HZ
man1024 is offline Find More Posts by man1024
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rotor could be a bit of a problem! cliffhanger Slope 15 Jun 03, 2012 01:48 AM
Video What could be the problem with my T-rex? BowerR64 Electric Heli Talk 7 Apr 27, 2008 08:38 PM
Discussion 2 batteries toast...what could be the problem? jeepson33s@yahoo Mini Helis 13 Feb 25, 2008 12:18 PM
What could my Dandy problem be? DsWright Parkflyers 17 Dec 21, 2004 01:42 PM
What could be the problem here - motor cutout after takeoff nose_first Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 10 Aug 28, 2003 02:18 PM