HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 03, 2012, 01:53 AM
oldtribefan
United States, GA, Kennesaw
Joined May 2007
596 Posts
Build Log
1/8 Scale Banjo Steering Wheel

How to scratch build a banjo steering wheel for a runabout.

A good friend of mine is building a Dumas Racing Runabout and is less than satified with the steering wheel included in the kit. Since I have some experience with upgrading Dumas wheels, I agreed to help him out by making a replacement wheel. This is a photo of where the project currently stands. It is an 18" diameter banjo wheel in 1/8 scale (2.25" od). The rim is made from brass rod, the spokes from SS pins. You can see that I still need to do some work on one section of the finger crenellations, the fittings that attach the spokes to the rim need to be soldered onto the rim and the center hub (yet to be made) is currently represented by a SS finish washer. I will post construction photos and commentary on the process I used to get to this point, and what I do to finish the wheel.

Oldtribefan
oldtribefan is offline Find More Posts by oldtribefan
Last edited by oldtribefan; Jun 03, 2012 at 03:58 PM. Reason: Add information
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 03, 2012, 01:58 AM
Taking care of the pond.
United States, CA, Sanger
Joined Apr 2004
7,377 Posts
I'm watching this build.
MILLERTIME is online now Find More Posts by MILLERTIME
Old Jun 03, 2012, 02:01 AM
Grumpa Tom
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
24,013 Posts
Wow!
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Old Jun 03, 2012, 11:56 AM
oldtribefan
Joined May 2007
596 Posts