HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 01, 2012, 08:39 AM
0.9g retracts
3" from insanity, 2' from the computer ,Richford, Tioga county, Southern Tier, New York, U.S., North American Continent, Northern hemisphere, Earth, The Sol System, Milkyway Galaxy, The Universe, The Current Dimension, Your Selected Realm of Reality.
Joined Dec 2006
1,946 Posts
Build Log
Yet another Trumpeter 1/144 Seawolf build

And sail, dive, surface, and recovery; I hope.

First, let me introduce my self. My name is Fred, I have been an avid RC hobbyist since I was in 14 in 9th grade and got my first plane (2006); the last 2 or 3 years I have gotten into footy class sailboats (all of mine are wood, classic looking) and 18" micro planes, so I am not a total neophyte to this kind of work and building.

That being said I have never built a submarine before, I have thought about it for many years and 2 days ago picked up the Seawolf kit at my local hobby shop to convert to RC.

I'm going to have to buy a 75mhz system as I only have 2.4ghz radios at the moment (kind of wish I never sold my Hitec laser 4 )

The water tight compartments are garlic bottles that I bought (and put the garlic powder into a new container), the lids have a foam rubber gasket that I added, tested them last night in the sink and they seem to be holding up just fine. I still need to finish working out the seals for the push-rods and drive shaft. I'm thinking basically a tight fitting brass rod inside a tube with a good dose of petroleum jelly. Something pretty similar for the drive shaft, just with a little added bit on the drive shaft to kind of make the cross section have a hump in it that is the same size has the main part of the stuff box, but with an even larger piece of brass over that. I'm sorry that that's not very clear, I will draw something up later that hopefully will show this better.
Yellow Baron is offline Find More Posts by Yellow Baron
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 02, 2012, 08:09 PM