HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 30, 2012, 10:26 AM
DO A BARREL ROLL!
Joined Feb 2012
56 Posts
Question
How to recover from a tip stall?

I've been flying a Hobbyzone Champ for a few months now and I think I've mastered everything I need to know. I plan on buying a warbird soon since I've heard that they're good step-up planes, but I've played a lot of flight simulators (real airplanes, not RC ones) during my free time and I've found that warbirds and similar planes tend to tip stall easily. In my simulators I apply aileron and rudder in the direction opposite of the spin, but half of the time I start spinning the other way instead of recovering. If my model warbird tip stalls, how do I recover from it? Is it any different from recovering a real airplane like the ones in my sims?
AmbienceFlyer is offline Find More Posts by AmbienceFlyer
to remove ads between posts
Old May 30, 2012, 10:47 AM
United States, Mt, Libby
Joined Nov 2007
1,415 Posts
It's probably not the correct way to do it but, I've several planes that if they tip stall they go into the descending spin and if I just leave the controls alone the planes will eventually regain flying speed and recover on their own. That is of course if they have enough altitude.
Herman Munster is offline Find More Posts by Herman Munster
Old May 30, 2012, 11:26 AM
Redacted per NSA "suggestion"
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Feb 2012
5,419 Posts
I've been doing research on this today as I've had 2 devastating crashes that I did believe weren't stalls, but the symptoms do point to stalls.

Turning and loss of altitude followed by immediate loss of elevator control, all other controls seems responsive plane is unable to recover from the stall.

Apply some throttle to increase airspeed.
To stop rolling if ailerons are present, apply opposite aileron to level wings if unresponsive apply opposite rudder to level wings.