HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 30, 2012, 09:00 AM
K4UAV
Miami, FL
Joined Jul 2003
1,749 Posts
Discussion
Increase multi-copter efficiency with better propellers

Propellers available to us today were designed primarily for airplanes and I believe there may be some efficiency gains to be had with better designs. Propellers were "tuned" for moving aircraft and I don't believe the engineers envisioned that they would spend most of their time spinning in a stalled configuration hovering a multi-rotor aircraft. If you look at propellers designed by Aerovironment or NASA for slow moving aircraft, it appears that they are much wider and of greater pitch near the hub than we commonly see on offerings by Xoar, APC, Master AirScrew, etc. I am not an aerodynamic engineer, but there must be a reason why the professional props look very different than what we use. May anyone offer insight as to how we may improve propeller design for multi-copter use in an effort to increase flight times and/or payload capacity?

Attached is a pic from NASA's Helios, a solar powered, slow moving, long endurance aircraft.
dalbert02 is offline Find More Posts by dalbert02
to remove ads between posts
Old May 30, 2012, 09:11 AM
Herk
Virginia USA
Joined Jun 2007
1,653 Posts
Prof Selig and his students have tested model props in his low speed wind tunnel at UIUC.
http://www.ae.illinois.edu/m-selig/p...Propellers.pdf

Its opening statement sounds a bit like your question.

"While much research has been carried out on propellers for full-scale aircraft,
not much data exists on propellers applicable to the ever growing number of UAVs.
Many of these UAVs use propellers that must operate in the low Reynolds number
range of 50,000 to 100,000 based on the propeller chord at the 75% propeller-blade
station. Tests were performed at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(UIUC) to quantify the propeller efficiency at these conditions. In total, 79 propellers