HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 29, 2012, 02:59 AM
United States
Joined May 2012
214 Posts
Discussion
New Pusher for UAV/FPV or Multi-Purpose Plane

Hi all,
I wanted to show off my latest UAV/FPV design that I have been working on for the past several months.When I say my design, it means that I designed everything but the wing which is the wing for the HH Parkzone Radian Pro. I had planned to use a constant chord wing with around 66" (1676mm) until i watched a friend fly his RP. The proverbial light bulb turned on and I was off to the LHS to buy the wing.

The fuse was inspired by the "twin cargo" and "mult-purpose twins" but I didn't want to deal with multiple motors. The planforn is similar to the MQ-9 Predator and the the motor is way back at the tail to get it as far away from the camera as possible. It is built as an I-beam construction with the fuse sides cut from 9mm depron and the central floor plate from 6mm depron. Once bulkheads and gussets were added, it formed a rigid and strong structure. The bottom panel is made from Dollar Tree foam board with the paper removed. I like the slightly spongy texture that absorbs some of the shock when it belly lands.

It can take off from a dolly or it can be hand launched but it can't land back onto the dolly. Not by me at least. The wheels are made from the hubs of old rc wheels and the tires are made from pool noodles sliced to 3/4" (2cm).

Maiden Flight