HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 27, 2012, 09:09 AM
Registered User
JIMA's Avatar
New Boston, Texas, United States
Joined Jan 2003
2,741 Posts
Question
Can a pdf file be imported into a cad file?

Is it possible to import a pdf plan into a cad file where it can be traced and altered?
Specifically Turbocad v12.


Jim
JIMA is offline Find More Posts by JIMA
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 27, 2012, 09:22 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
eflightray's Avatar
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,779 Posts
The - Foamies (Scratchbuilt) forum - uses a lot of .pdf files and Cad, maybe they would know if you don't get the answer here.

There is also the - CAD/CAM forum
eflightray is online now Find More Posts by eflightray
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 11:57 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2012
6 Posts
Try Searching for "free pdf to dxf". I've converted a few successfully.
F22B is offline Find More Posts by F22B
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 01:11 PM
Registered User
Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
7,792 Posts
Jim,
As far as I'm aware, only if you can save it as a bmp file first. I know TC 15 can't recognise a pdf. Once you have your bmp file, select import picture as an object.

Pete
PETERRAKE is offline Find More Posts by PETERRAKE
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 01:51 PM
Scale Builder
United States, AZ, Litchfield Park
Joined Jul 2002
2,603 Posts
You can place a PDF into AutoCAD but, for whatever reason, some basic functions will not work with the format. For example, I am unable to even do something as simple as rotate the image if it is in PDF format. Not sure if it is the same deal with TurboCAD or not. Much simpler to convert the PDF to a JPG and import it for tracing instead.

If the PDF was created from a vector format file then it is possible to convert it back to DXF format so you would not have to trace it at all. I can do this in Illustrator if you want me to give it a shot.
Chad Veich is offline Find More Posts by Chad Veich
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 03:06 PM
Reduce the drama...
rick.benjamin's Avatar
USA, OR, Damascus
Joined Apr 2004
4,044 Posts
No.
Unless you have Professional ($1295) or Platinum ($1495).
I have 18 Deluxe
I've been using "snipping tool" in Windows 7 to screen capture images from PDFs, saving them as raster files, which can be <Insert><picture><from file> in TurboCAD.
rick.benjamin is offline Find More Posts by rick.benjamin
Last edited by rick.benjamin; May 27, 2012 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 03:57 PM
Registered User
JIMA's Avatar
New Boston, Texas, United States
Joined Jan 2003
2,741 Posts
Thanks for all the help. I could print it on paper then scan it as a .bmp file and import it into turbocad.

Is there a way to change the .pdf file to a .bmp file?

Jim
JIMA is offline Find More Posts by JIMA
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 04:10 PM
Reduce the drama...
rick.benjamin's Avatar
USA, OR, Damascus
Joined Apr 2004
4,044 Posts
Yes, see my post about using "Snipping Tool"


If the PDF has vector data, how to extract it?
Using Inkscape (free), open Al Hogal's Twizzler PDF, save as DXF
Using TurboCAD Deluxe, open DXF file
Example saved from my TurboCAD 18 Deluxe as PDF and as TCW zipped.
rick.benjamin is offline Find More Posts by rick.benjamin
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 04:57 PM
Registered User
JIMA's Avatar
New Boston, Texas, United States
Joined Jan 2003
2,741 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick.benjamin View Post
Yes, see my post about using "Snipping Tool"


If the PDF has vector data, how to extract it?
Using Inkscape (free), open Al Hogal's Twizzler PDF, save as DXF
Using TurboCAD Deluxe, open DXF file
Example saved from my TurboCAD 18 Deluxe as PDF and as TCW zipped.
But what if it does not have vector data but is a scan that was saved as a pdf?

Jim
JIMA is offline Find More Posts by JIMA
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 09:10 PM
Reduce the drama...
rick.benjamin's Avatar
USA, OR, Damascus
Joined Apr 2004
4,044 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMA View Post
But what if it does not have vector data but is a scan that was saved as a pdf?

Jim
Won't be any vector data for TurboCAD to present, will be a blank screen.

A scan saved as a PDF can be copied as a raster image and copied onto a TurboCAD drawing as suggested in post 6.

Then, it can be traced.

Jim;
None of this is simple. As an unschooled CAD user, it's taken me years
to get to a model plan reproductive level.
Keep asking questions
Rick
rick.benjamin is offline Find More Posts by rick.benjamin
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 08:17 AM
Registered User
JIMA's Avatar
New Boston, Texas, United States
Joined Jan 2003
2,741 Posts
I have windows Vista. Does it have snipping tool?

I tried inkspot. It did not work as the pdf I was trying to insert was a scan of a plan. When saved as a .dxf it lost most of its data and wen trying to open in Turbocad all I got was a blank screen.

Jim
JIMA is offline Find More Posts by JIMA
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 02:56 PM
Reduce the drama...
rick.benjamin's Avatar
USA, OR, Damascus
Joined Apr 2004
4,044 Posts
Jim,
Which Vista do you have?
Snipping tool applies to these editions of Vista:
Home Premium, Business, Ultimate, Enterprise

Assuming you used InkScape to change PDF to DXF.
Blank screen is normal as there wasn't any vector data in the PDF.
Try this:
Open your PDF in InkScape, <save as> a raster-image (JPG, or BMP, or PNG).
(Save raster-image file where you can find it again)
Close Inkscape without saving (as svg)

Open new TurboCAD drawing
Draw a small square or circle at 0"x0". (This was necessary to do before inserting an image in V12)
<Insert><Picture><from file>
Choose your raster-image file (return to blank TurboCAD drawing)
Place mouse pointer near upper left corner of drawing, left click.
Move mouse pointer down to lower right corner of drawing, left click.
Your raster image should be present on your drawing.

Let me know if you get this far
Rick
rick.benjamin is offline Find More Posts by rick.benjamin
Last edited by rick.benjamin; May 28, 2012 at 03:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 03:22 PM
Registered User
JIMA's Avatar
New Boston, Texas, United States
Joined Jan 2003
2,741 Posts
When opening the pdf in inkscape, I get a pop-up that ask several questions including precision of approximating gradient meshes and embed images.

I tried to make the precision very high. The image came out ok in Inkscape. Turbocad likes .bmp files but I could not save as a .bmp file. Only one I could see that you had listed above was .png. I saved it as .png. Then tried to insert in Turbocad as a .png and all I got was a blob.

Any suggestions?

Jim
JIMA is offline Find More Posts by JIMA
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 03:28 PM
Registered User
JIMA's Avatar
New Boston, Texas, United States
Joined Jan 2003
2,741 Posts
Just tried again with low precision and it worked. I was able to import it into Turbocad. Now how do I get it the correct scale/size?


Jim
JIMA is offline Find More Posts by JIMA
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 03:36 PM
Registered User
shawn pierce's Avatar
United States, LA, Houma
Joined Mar 2005
177 Posts
Use the scale tool. ref some points and tell it what to be. like this. find a ruler scale in the drawing you know 1,2,3,4 so on. go command line, type scale. all, then specify base point, pick point of 1. hit enter. reference. pick 1 again then point at 2 hit enter. then type new length would be 1. simple.
shawn pierce is offline Find More Posts by shawn pierce
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion How do I convert CAD files to PDF? OFFA 1 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 6 May 14, 2012 11:30 AM
Help! Needed, laser cutter who can work off PDF files quickly Yellow Baron CAD/CAM 42 Feb 23, 2012 08:48 PM
Discussion Can I scan a picture I drew by hand into a cad program to be manipulated and refined? Speedfreak CAD/CAM 26 Sep 22, 2011 08:36 AM
Question What SIM can import standard solid CAD ?? superdave42 Simulators 7 Oct 13, 2006 07:38 AM
how to turn a drawing on paper into PDF file? Stefan lamers Foamies (Kits) 5 Oct 29, 2004 01:57 AM