HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 22, 2012, 08:57 AM
Joined May 2010
40 Posts
Discussion
Using a twin-cylinder engine in a standard gasser

Hi everyone

I'm a newbie to gassers, but they seem like the logical next step for me (coming from a 450 electric background). I'd really like to try to reduce the vibrations that appear to plague the single-cylinder gas engines.

I notice that you can get 50cc twin-cylinder engines that don't weigh much more than the 26cc Zenoah single-cylinder ones:

http://www.aliexpress.com/product-gs...olesalers.html
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...s_Engine_.html

Has anyone investigated the possibility of mounting one of those in a conventional gasser frame? I'm looking at an RJX Xtreme 90 since that's available locally for a reasonably low price. This would leave the cylinders sticking out on the sides, which would help with cooling (they'd get the rotor downwash). If necessary it'd be easy to add a fast DC fan above each one.

The only major problem I can see is the engine speed. The RJX has a 6.64:1 gear ratio, so to get to 1800RPM head-speed (seems to be commonly recommended) I'll have to run the engine at 12000RPM. The 53cc engine linked above is only meant to go up to 9000RPM, and I can't find out what the 50cc one is rated at. I notice that the CRRCpro engines that RJX normally uses (GF26i) are meant to handle 8000RPM, but presumably they do work fine at much higher speeds since RJX continues to use them.

Now, as I said above, I'm a newbie to gassers. Is all of this just a ridiculous idea? Will the RPM limitations kill it? Or is this worth looking into? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Evan
SLATYE is offline Find More Posts by SLATYE
to remove ads between posts
Old May 28, 2012, 12:13 PM
Complete RC Idiot Savant
The Netherlands
Joined Nov 2009
3,032 Posts
Hmmmm, more likely the ridiculous overkill on power would spoil the party....