HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 20, 2012, 08:26 PM
United States, GA, Marietta
Joined May 2012
51 Posts
Discussion
Building my first foamie

I am new to the RC world and want to build my 1st plane. I have a blade cx2 heli. I have heard that the yak 54 & 55 are good starters. I wanted to ask what do I need to build one. I know the retail kits do not really come with much so needed a list of what else to buy. Any advice is greatly appreciated! Also, I am about to buy the Spektrum dx6i or 7i.
cgilr is offline Find More Posts by cgilr
to remove ads between posts
Old May 21, 2012, 04:29 AM
Joined Apr 2010
33 Posts
I would go with something like the EzFly. You can either cut it out yourself of buy this kit.
http://www.fancyfoam.com/index.php?m...ex&cPath=12_14

I just put one together for my dad and it flies great. Here's a list of electronics that go well with that plane. You can get all the below parts from Hobbyking too but i find that headsuprc's low shipping offsets the savings from HK. Just my 2 cents

Motor
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...ushless/Detail

Esc
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-10-Amp/Detail

Servos (2)
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...5g-SG50/Detail

Receiver (If you don't buy the radio that comes with one)
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...hz-DSM2/Detail

Battery
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...mah-35C/Detail
Jtupnsmoke is offline Find More Posts by Jtupnsmoke
Old May 21, 2012, 06:52 AM
Joined May 2012
51 Posts
Thanks Jtupnsmoke. I will check that out.
Old May 21, 2012, 07:53 AM
Lost but making good time
Joined Nov 2008
1,345 Posts
cgilr,

I have to agree with Jt...you won't find a better plane to start with than this one. You will learn the basics of building an EPP plane and it is almost indestructible.

Regards,

Hankg
hankg is offline Find More Posts by hankg
Old May 21, 2012, 08:25 AM
Joined May 2012
51 Posts