no 3 6.67%
Voters: 45. You may not vote on this poll

Old Nov 03, 2003, 06:38 AM
Joined Nov 2003
177 Posts
Question
Micro Air Vehicle Project

hello all
my name is Matt, and I'm a student at sheffield university (uk). I'm involved in an engineering project to build a micro air vehicle which is defined as a vehicle with a maximum dimension less than 15cm (6"). I'm guessing that the way to go is electric powered, but I must confess that I've never really built anything like this before. My background has been in full scale aviation, and obviously the rules are rather different than at the very low Reynolds numbers you'd find in a micro vehicle. So I thought I'd ask you guys for some advice.

I'm looking for the following;

an existing off the shelf aircraft that's about the right sort of size - if nothing this small exists, then what's the smallest out there?

an idea of where I can get technical data on small rc aircraft. My supervisor wants me to build up a database for my optimisation calculations, and to do that I need things like weight, wing span, wing area, L/D, endurance, and flight speed. Unfortunately I can't seem to find very much data to populate my database at all.

My intention is to build an off the shelf aircraft to gain experience, and then design my own, *hopefully* better aircraft for my project.

Oh and the aircraft has to carry a small payload of around 5-10g. The goal is to get as much range and endurance as possible with the payload. At the moment my calculations seem to suggest a flight speed of around 10m/sec (eventually my supervisor wants this thing to fly outdoors, so it needs to be able to penetrate light winds...).

I know this is a tough one, because my supervisor never lets me off lightly!

Thanks in advance everyone.

Matt
Viper2000 is offline Find More Posts by Viper2000
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 03, 2003, 07:01 AM
Stuck on a rock
Faroe Islands, Sandoy, Sandur
Joined Nov 2000
5,812 Posts