HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 18, 2012, 12:10 PM
Perpetual 3D Noob
United States, KY, Calvert City
Joined Jun 2010
271 Posts
Discussion
Need help choosing 3D plane for my engine

Hello everyone! This is the first thread I have ever started so be gentle on me. I have an OS 91 FX laying around and need a 3D plane to put it in. I am new to this style flying and this will be my first 3D plane. This engine was in a GP Big Stick 60 and I have flown it extensively (for me) over 100 flights on it before an unfortunate accident took it out. I have been looking at several planes mostly Yaks and Extras, but don't really know which one I should get. I need an ARF as I don't have any place to build currently. I have been looking at these two Seagull ARF's but have no info on them other than what Horizon lists.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...0-size-SEA4075
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...60-arf-SEA4000

I have read a few threads and watched some youtube videos on them and they seem to have good reviews overall. I am leaning towards the Edge on these two but am certainly open to suggestions on other planes. I appreciate all the help!

I also am planning on using Futaba S3010 Servos all around as that is what I have. They are not digital, but a few guys at my club fly them in 3D planes and do excellent.
PlaneCraz3d is offline Find More Posts by PlaneCraz3d
to remove ads between posts
Old May 18, 2012, 01:43 PM
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,519 Posts
None of those planes are good for 3D. They are just way to heavy and will snap on you.
Unless you go with a profile about the only choice you have is to do a 3DHS electric to glow conversion.
Several guys have done that and there is athread on it.
Good luck
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Old May 18, 2012, 01:46 PM
Perpetual 3D Noob
Joined Jun 2010
271 Posts
Ok, thanks. I'm glad you told me that. I'll look into a 3dhs conversion.
Old May 18, 2012, 07:59 PM
Perpetual 3D Noob
Joined Jun 2010