HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 18, 2012, 03:44 AM
Finland, Espoo
Joined Jan 2012
88 Posts
Discussion
Broken DX7? Super poor range with Spektrum DX7

Hi,

There are maybe someone experienced with Spektrum radios and possibly could advise (like why this could have happened, etc.). And to be sincere I would like to get confidence back with Spektrum in general as I would not like to switch to other brand due to the receivers we already own:

We have one Spektrum DX7 (couple of years old, European crippled down model with European restricted output power as it is purchased from Europe). When we were total newbies in piloting RC aircraft, we thought it was lack of piloting skill why planes sometimes dropped from the sky. Now when we are more experienced and don't crash that often due to insufficient piloting skills, it turns out that it was and is the Spektrum why planes are coming down strangely. It may lose control in a relatively short distance (when floating a 450 class helicopter), 25 meter may be enough distance to make the DX7 to glitch and the copter to come down in pieces - the output power somehow seems comparable to what it is supposed to be in range test mode than what it should be. We have tried different receivers (original Spektrum, original Spektrum with satellites and different types of Oranges from HK and have experimented with placing the satellite far away with extension), but it seems that the receiver is not the problem and neither is diversity the problem. The antenna was recently replaced in the DX7, but seems that it did not fix the problem, the problem still exists. Comparing to other radios like a DX6i and Flysky and some cheap noname 2.4 GHz (which cost a fraction of the price of the Spektrum), none of them have had this severe problems than the Spektrum has (apparently) always had, all the way from when it was brand new.