HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 15, 2012, 01:09 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
Gallery
Dual Frequency Ground Station Build (dual LCDs, dual Fatsharks, dual diversity)

So a couple days ago I started building my dual frequency ground station.

The plan is to have 2 TV screens both on diversity controllers; one for 1.3ghz and one for 5.8ghz. Then have two sets of goggles with one set on 1.3ghz and one set that is switchable.

AND fit it all in the lid of a pelican 1510 case

Inventory list:
Pelican 1510 Case

http://www.amazon.com/Pelican-1510-C.../dp/B0014D2WE4
2x Haier 7" LCD Screens

http://www.amazon.com/Haier-HLT71-7-.../dp/B001E78UQY
2x Eagle Tree Eagle Eyes Diversity Controllers
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/osd/EagleEyes.htm

2x Lawmate 1.2ghz vRx
http://www.dronesvision.com/lawmate-...-cctv-cameras/

2x Foxtech 5.8ghz vRx
http://www.foxtechfpv.com/foxtech-58...-mi-p-178.html

5x Military rocker Switches
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...ducts_id=21771

1x Voltmeter (ebay)
2x 7" sun shades
http://www.ebay.com/itm/200745139798...#ht_3904wt_698

4 Channel Video Switch
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o03_s00_i00


A whole bunch of wires, solder and heatshrink!



The rest of the case will be used to store 2x DX8s and all my lipo batteries
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Last edited by Adidas4275; May 15, 2012 at 01:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 15, 2012, 01:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
373 Posts
Good stuff! OK, silly question - but why two frequencies?
Protocrash is offline Find More Posts by Protocrash
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 01:28 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
yeah thats not a silly question....


I fly multirotors and I want to finally use my 3 axis gimbal with a camera man..... and I want to fly FPV.

So need dual frequencies to transmit 2 separate video signals for the pilot and camera operator.

Also I will have the ability to use either frequency if i am getting interference on one.

I have found 1.3ghz to be best for FPV fight since it can go through trees and hills and I fly on 2.4ghz (i had a UHF system but on a multirotor its overkill)
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 02:32 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
today I hope to wire up a CC BEC set at 9v and wire up the TV screens.

the TV screens have their own LiPo batteries but i dont want to use the power switch....

I would rather the TV screens shut off and on when i toggle the switch on the pannel.

So I will be removing the LiPo batteries out of the TV screen and powering them off the main battery pack via the Castle BEC.

The TVs take 9v input so ill just set the BEC to 9v with the castle link and be done with it.
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 07:25 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
Amazon prime 2 day free shipping FTW

New 4 channel video switch

It takes a 12v input to change the video channel.

I will wire up a set of switched for 2 channels.

This is meant for indash auto installation for backup camera as such.

Perfect for my ground station
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 09:49 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
And the video switch installed

It uses 12v to trigger which video channel

So when 1.3ghz gear is on it is then on 1.3ghz channel

But when 5.8ghz gear is on then it is on 5.8ghz

I have a splitter and I am not sure if I should have the 2nd TV on the switch or just on 5.8ghz

I can always change it later
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 10:21 PM
Registered User
jetbootz's Avatar
Australia, Lord Howe Island
Joined Jan 2010
904 Posts
Hi all.

Im probably going to sound really stupid but I have to ask...

Say I wanted a camera operator and a fpv view for me... I need 2 x vtx' s

So say I used 2 x immersion 600 mw 5.8 tx's and I put one at one end of the spectrum ( I think it's like 5730 ) and the other at the other end ( I think its like 5890) .......

So is this a recipe for disaster and crazy interference ? I assume it is but I thought I'd ask here before buying multiple units for 100 bucks over the retail price of the dudes who have grabbed the whole worlds supply I the classifieds!

If so then as I will be using 2.4 for rc control is 1.3 then next best bet for the second video channel ?

Cheers
jetbootz is online now Find More Posts by jetbootz
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 10:22 PM
Registered User
jetbootz's Avatar
Australia, Lord Howe Island
Joined Jan 2010
904 Posts
@ adidas4275

Nice setup too. Reason I'm asking in your thread is that I'm planning the same thing as you. I suspect I'll be needing 1.3ghz also then ...?
jetbootz is online now Find More Posts by jetbootz
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 11:12 PM
KK4BTL
dustydonnay's Avatar
United States, FL, St Petersburg
Joined Feb 2011
219 Posts
I have pondered this set up also... I had figured best to use two RC systems. With one RC you could give your cameraman pan tilt of that cam. But you might have to sacrifice pan tilt on your pilot cam. I use allot of channels...channel junkie I guess, but seams even with 10 Im wishing I had more sometimes. Where as with two RC's you're not as stressed for channels on the pilot RC system, and the camera man can pan tilt yaw zoom focus and make eggs to order for breakfast....theoretically of course.
dustydonnay is offline Find More Posts by dustydonnay
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 11:35 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,414 Posts
The only good find in this thread is the LCD shade, thank you.
The rest is waste of time and resources, can be done incorporating Rx modules in goggles, using two separate channels in 5.8G band.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 11:37 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetbootz View Post
Hi all.

Im probably going to sound really stupid but I have to ask...

Say I wanted a camera operator and a fpv view for me... I need 2 x vtx' s

So say I used 2 x immersion 600 mw 5.8 tx's and I put one at one end of the spectrum ( I think it's like 5730 ) and the other at the other end ( I think its like 5890) .......

So is this a recipe for disaster and crazy interference ? I assume it is but I thought I'd ask here before buying multiple units for 100 bucks over the retail price of the dudes who have grabbed the whole worlds supply I the classifieds!

If so then as I will be using 2.4 for rc control is 1.3 then next best bet for the second video channel ?

Cheers
there are some people that have had success on opposite ends of the same freqency.... I didnt want to deal with it.... i like have them "just work"


when using 1.3ghz with 2.4ghz (what I am doing) you need to make sure you put a LPF (low pass filter) on the 1.3ghz so it doesn't mess up the 2.4ghz ..... (some double harmonic nonsense)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustydonnay View Post
I have pondered this set up also... I had figured best to use two RC systems. With one RC you could give your cameraman pan tilt of that cam. But you might have to sacrifice pan tilt on your pilot cam. I use allot of channels...channel junkie I guess, but seams even with 10 Im wishing I had more sometimes. Where as with two RC's you're not as stressed for channels on the pilot RC system, and the camera man can pan tilt yaw zoom focus and make eggs to order for breakfast....theoretically of course.
yep... i have dual DX8s

hmm..... i am thinking this ground station needs the name "Dually"


Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
The only good find in this thread is the LCD shade, thank you.
The rest is waste of time and resources, can be done incorporating Rx modules in goggles, using two separate channels in 5.8G band.
while I respect your opinion....... since you have a lot of experience.....

you failed to even think about my situation.

I bought my 5.8ghz gear first..... since "everyone" recommends it.... but in my area it was not all the reliable (not enough for me to pilot with)
So I moved on to 1.3ghz and it is much better. 5.8ghz doesnt even go though trees......

So rather than selling my 5.8ghz gear and take a loss on it and then buy more 1.3ghz gear........... and spend more "resources" (thus wasting resources) I decided to use the 5.8ghz for 2nd person.... either a "passenger" or a "camera operator"


Again i respect your opinion, but calling what I am doing " a waste of time and resources" isnt A) very nice (who are you timecop) or B) even accurate.

You are probably correct that this could be done differently..... but guess what.... I am doing it how I want... and its my time and money to spend.

So please, if you would like to add helpful criticism.... then great.

Otherwise, please refraining from posting in my thread. I am here to have fun and so I and others can learn. Why are you here?
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Last edited by Adidas4275; May 15, 2012 at 11:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 12:42 AM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
Test fit.

Still need to power 2nd TV off the main battery

Drill holes and pass the SMA connectors through.

Neaten up the wires and put liquid electrical tape over all solder joints.
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Last edited by Adidas4275; May 16, 2012 at 12:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:13 AM
------------
jsxx's Avatar
Wielka Brytania, Anglia, Derbyshire
Joined Jan 2011
416 Posts
Why do you need to small screens? Why you didnt put nice big lcreen?
jsxx is offline Find More Posts by jsxx
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:29 AM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsxx View Post
Why do you need to small screens? Why you didnt put nice big lcreen?


couple things.... 1 space.... i wanted 2 screens for both cameras so that spectators can view both


Honestly I could get away with no TV screens as I fly via goggles when flying FPV.

The TVs are a backup to my goggles and for others to watch.


Plus I owned one of them from when i first got into FPV.

If I was flying via the TV screen I agree, a large screen would be nice.
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 12:25 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
ordered some bulk head power plugs for the fatsharks to plug into

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o01_s00_i00


An inline Fuse

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o02_s00_i00

a Water proof LED light so that I can see in the dark.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o02_s00_i01

and some right angle RCA connectors

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o03_s00_i00

To power the TC screens

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o00_s00_i00
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Building FPV ground Station Halford FPV Talk 9 Apr 05, 2012 04:03 PM
Discussion Pelican Case Ground Station Build airwolf32 FPV Talk 30 Mar 30, 2012 08:48 PM
Discussion My first ground station build. tkoguy FPV Talk 0 Mar 29, 2012 11:35 PM
Sold Complete FPV Plane, Ground Station, Autopilot, Dual Camera 27x zoom + more NEW crd Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Mar 09, 2012 09:22 PM
Sold Complete FPV Plane, Ground Station, Autopilot, Dual Camera 27x zoom + more NEW crd FPV Equipment (FS/W) 5 Mar 06, 2012 07:01 PM