HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 14, 2012, 05:13 PM
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Jan 2012
124 Posts
Discussion
S-Bus, Futuba SBE-1, and Spektrum

So I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to rx/tx so naturally I'm having an issue with my setup. I'm setting up an octorotor for AP. I'm using Wookong M which requires all eight motor outputs on the main controller for the octo. In order for my Spektrum Dx8/AR8000 combo to work with this rig I had to incorporate a Futuba SBE-1 between the Spektrum receiver and the DJI Wookong main controller. Wookong-m is compatible with S.bus.

The problem I'm having is knowing how to wire the setup between the Futuba sbe-1 and the spektrum ar8000. I can't get the assistant software for the Wookong controller to recognize the tx.

Does anyone here have any experience with the s-bus system working with spektrum?
Stumptownflier is offline Find More Posts by Stumptownflier
to remove ads between posts
Old May 14, 2012, 05:26 PM
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
753 Posts
I'm not sure why you need the SBE-1 though, using all 8 output channels doesn't stop you using a normal Spektrum receiver for the inputs as far as I know?

Edit: Ah .. .the light dawns, this so so you can use the gimbals on channel T and R I assume?

You should just be following the S-Bus channel assignment diagram in the WKM manual and connect the SBE-1 to the correct channels on the Spektrum receiver.

Then connect the S-Bus output from the SBE-1 to the WKM and make sure you have 'D-Bus' selected as the receiver type in the WKM software.
Telrin is offline Find More Posts by Telrin
Last edited by Telrin; May 14, 2012 at 06:15 PM.
Old May 14, 2012, 08:07 PM
Joined Jan 2012
124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telrin View Post
I'm not sure why you need the SBE-1 though, using all 8 output channels doesn't stop you using a normal Spektrum receiver for the inputs as far as I know?